Famine declared in South Sudan. UNICEF HK urges Hong Kong public to donate and save over a million children now.

 

Famine declared in South Sudan. UNICEF HK urges Hong Kong public to donate and save over a million children now.

20170217 IPCMalnutritionJuba 206_1000

Hong Kong, 22 February 2017 ── War and a collapsing economy have led to an unprecedented food shortage in South Sudan. Over 1.1 million children are acutely malnourished now. Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF(UNICEF HK) launched an emergency appeal today to call for support to prevent children from dying of hunger. 100 per cent of the donation goes directly to support children and save their lives.

“Children flee their home at a moment’s notice due to the brutal violence. Without food, many are found unconscious. Time is running out and we have to save them now. I hope Hong Kong people can donate immediately so we can deliver more supplies to treat these desperate children round-the-clock,” said Jane Lau, UNICEF HK Chief Executive.

Last month alone, UNICEF and partners treated more than 11,500 acutely malnourished children. UNICEF aims to treat 207,000 children for severe acute malnutrition in 2017. Working with over 40 partners and in close collaboration with World Food Programme (WFP), UNICEF is supporting 620 outpatient therapeutic programme sites and about 50 inpatient therapeutic sites across the country to provide children with urgently needed treatment. Through a rapid response mechanism, we also continue to reach communities in the most remote locations. These rapid response missions treat thousands of children for malnutrition as well as provide them with immunization services, safe water and sanitation which also prevents recurring malnutrition.

To help children and families affected by the famine, please donate online at unicef.org.hk/donate now.

Other donation methods:

Direct Bank-in
HSBC: 567-354014-001
Bank of China: 012-875-0-021868-3
Wing Lung Bank : 020-601-003-7634-8
Bank of East Asia: 015-260-81-01210-0

Hotline: 2833 6139

(In the unusual event that donations for the South Sudan appeal exceed the needs, we will direct the gift to disaster or emergency relief actions elsewhere.)

南蘇丹陷入饑荒 UNICEF HK呼籲市民捐款 拯救逾百萬名受影響兒童

 

南蘇丹陷入饑荒 UNICEF HK呼籲市民捐款 拯救逾百萬名受影響兒童

© UNICEF

香港,2017年2月22日──南蘇丹因戰亂及經濟面臨崩壞,正發生前所未見的糧食危機,逾110萬名兒童急性營養不良。今日,聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)發出緊急呼籲,希望各界為兒童提供援助,免他們死於飢餓。項目籌得的捐款將全數投入前綫工作,為兒童提供援助及拯救他們的生命。

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會總幹事劉玉燕指:「暴力衝突迫使兒童匆忙逃離家園。我們發現很多兒童因缺乏糧食,太過飢餓而陷入昏迷。他們急不及待,必須得到即時援助。我希望香港市民能立即捐款,支持我們繼續馬不停蹄地送上更多救援物資,醫治這些在絕望中的兒童。」

單在上月,聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)及伙伴已為逾11,500名急性營養不良的兒童提供治療。今年,UNICEF計劃為207,000名兒童提供相關治療。UNICEF正聯同世界糧食計劃署及逾40間伙伴機構支持620所門診營養治療中心及約50所住院營養治療中心,並為兒童提供緊急治療。另外,我們通過緊急救援機制為偏遠地區的社群提供援助,包括為數以千計的兒童治療營養不良、提供疫苗注射、安全食水及衞生支援,預防他們再度患上營養不良。

立即網上捐款,為面臨饑荒的兒童及家庭提供援助:unicef.org.hk/donate

其他捐款方法

直接存入UNICEF HK戶口:
匯豐銀行:567-354014-001

中國銀行:012-875-0-021868-3

永隆銀行:020-601-003-7634-8

東亞銀行:015-260-81-01210-0

捐款熱綫:2833 6139
(若籌得之善款多於饑荒緊急救援工作所需,餘款將撥調UNICEF其他緊急救援項目)

——————————

傳媒如有垂詢,請聯絡:

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會

高級傳訊主任黃穎祺(Jamie Wong)
電話:2836 2967 / 6149 3378