SCAD Hong Kong Students Create Sculptures to Celebrate 25 years of Change for Good

 

SCAD Hong Kong Students Create Sculptures to Celebrate 25 years of Change for Good

Photo_1

© UNICEF HK/2016

Hong Kong, 16 December 2016 ── To celebrate the 25th anniversary of Cathay Pacific Airways Limited and Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK)’s Change for Good inflight fundraising programme, UNICEF HK has collaborated with the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) to engage students in a commemorative design challenge.

Change for Good is a long standing partnership between Cathay Pacific and UNICEF HK to improve the lives of children in more than 150 developing countries and territories.  Since launching in 1991, more than HK$165 million has been raised through Change for Good programme. Through SCAD’s Collaborative Learning Center (CLC), students participated in a 3-day Design Challenge to develop creative and innovative design concepts using coins collected from the programme.

Under the direction of the SCAD faculty, student from various degree majors such as Advertising, Fashion Marketing and Management, and Animation have worked together to combine their talents and creativity. Using art as a medium, they have been able to convey Change for Good’s positive contribution to global communities. The two winning teams were commissioned by UNICEF HK to develop two thematic art pieces. ‘Drip Drop’, created by second year students Branwen Bindra and Nikhil Nagarkar, was inspired by UNICEF’s work on Water, Sanitation and Hygiene. This showcase piece is now displayed in the Headland Hotel’s lobby, a key entrance leading to Cathay Pacific City. The other winning design, ‘The Bloom,’ created by second year students Paola Chen and Helena Cheng, was beautifully auctioned at UNICEF HK’s 30th Anniversary Gala Dinner held earlier last month.

Ms Jane Lau, Chief Executive of UNICEF HK, is pleased to have partnered with SCAD on this project in presenting ‘Drip Drop’ to Cathay Pacific. She says, “Students are encouraged to use art to thematically illustrate the needs of children worldwide. The artwork not only commemorates UNICEF HK’s 25 years of partnership with Cathay Pacific through the Change for Good inflight fundraising programme, but also reflects the programme’s key message of: small change makes a big difference.”

Nikhil Nagarkar, winning designer, explains about working on ‘Drip Drop’, “We were greatly inspired by the Change for Good programme and the hope they spread to communities around the world.” Branwen Bindra added, “‘Drip Drop’ shows a drop of water falling into a pool, signifying and reflecting how a lone drop can have a huge impact. Light was also a major consideration in the design – we polished the coins to create a reflective, glossy appearance like the surface of water.

Sponsored Projects Manager of CLC Cheryl Ho said, “The SCAD CLC project was a great opportunity for our students to put their innovative and versatile thinking into practice, and gain hands-on experience working on and presenting their design concepts to major organizations. The immense production process spanning a 3 month period was an invaluable experience.”

©UNICEF HK/2016
UNICEF HK 30th Anniversary Gala Dinner, SCAD Students’, Change for Good sculpture, ‘The Bloom’ auction piece.

©UNICEF HK/2016
SCAD Students’, Change for Good 25th Anniversary sculpture ‘Drip Drop’ art installation.

 

Photos can be downloaded here.

薩凡納藝術設計大學學生創作雕塑 慶祝「零錢布施」25周年

 

薩凡納藝術設計大學學生創作雕塑 慶祝「零錢布施」25周年

Photo_1

© UNICEF HK/2016

香港,2016年12月16日 – 今年為慶祝國泰航空及聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)「零錢布施」機上籌款計劃的銀禧誌慶,UNICEF HK與薩凡納藝術設計大學(SCAD)攜手邀請學生創作藝術品,以資紀念。

「零錢布施」是國泰航空與UNICEF HK合辦的長期項目,旨在推動改善全球逾150個發展中國家兒童的生活。自1991年推出以來,「零錢布施」合共籌得超過港幣1.65億元。是次雕塑創作由SCAD的實踐學習中心(Collaborative Learning Center,CLC)邀請學生參與一連三天的設計挑戰,利用「零錢布施」所收集的硬幣及他們創新的意念,設計藝術品。

在SCAD學院教師的指導下,來自各個學系,包括廣告、時裝行銷與管理及動態媒體設計的學生合作發揮創意,並以藝術作為媒介,表達「零錢布施」對全球社會作出的貢獻。當中兩隊勝出團隊獲UNICEF HK委託,創作兩件主題藝術作品。 第一件作品「Drip Drop」由二年級學生Branwen Bindra和Nikhil Nagarkar所創作,靈感來自聯合國兒童基金會的「食水、環境及個人衞生(WASH)」工作。這件展品現於通往國泰城主要入口的逸泰居酒店大堂展出。另一件作品「The Bloom」由二年級學生Paola Chen和Helena Cheng創作,並於上月初舉行的UNICEF HK 30周年慈善晚宴上拍賣。

UNICEF HK總幹事劉玉燕女士表示榮幸能與SCAD合作,共同為國泰航空創作「Drip Drop」這件作品。她說:「我們積極鼓勵學生透過藝術,表達世界各地兒童的需要。這件藝術品不但可用作紀念UNICEF HK及國泰航空『零錢布施』機上籌款計劃的25周年,亦反映了該計劃的主要信息:一分一毫的捐款都可改寫兒童的一生。」

得獎設計師Nikhil Nagarkar講解「Drip Drop」的創作靈感來源:「『零錢布施』把希望散播到世界每一個角落,讓我們深受啟發。」作品的另一位設計師Branwen Bindra補充說:「『Drip Drop』展示的是一點水滴正在掉落水池中,象徵着單是一滴水也可以產生深遠的影響。此外,光線亦是這項設計的一個重要元素。故此,我們把硬幣擦亮,形成反光的表面,就像光滑的水面一樣。」

SCAD實踐學習中心贊助項目經理Cheryl Ho表示:「SCAD的 CLC項目為學生提供良好的機會,讓他們把積極創新的想法付諸實行,並從中獲得實踐經驗,向大型機構展示他們的設計概念。這項歷時三個月的創作項目對他們來說,是一個寶貴的經驗。」

©UNICEF HK/2016
SCAD學生為「零錢布施」25周年紀念創作的雕塑作品「The Bloom」。作品於UNICEF HK 30周年慈善晚宴上拍賣。

©UNICEF HK/2016
SCAD學生為「零錢布施」25周年紀念創作的雕塑作品「Drip Drop」。

按此下載相片

——————————
傳媒如有垂詢,請聯絡:
聯合國兒童基金香港委員會

助理傳訊經理何珮詩(Lucinda Ho)
電話:2836 2927 / 9125 7582