Today, 9 out of 10 children in Asia are enrolled in primary school. Yet, education indicators still point to certain shortfalls. Deficiencies in student retention, poor quality of education and high drop-out rates are sources of concern. Persistent weaknesses in basic education have slowed progression to higher levels of education, with rates still being low at the secondary level.

© UNICEF/UNI102855/Souvannavong

Gives vulnerable children a chance to learn

Since its launch in 2012, UNICEF’s Schools for Asia initiative builds on four pillars of early learning, equity, quality learning, and education in emergencies, with a particular focus on disadvantaged and marginalized children who are less likely to receive quality education because of their gender, ethnicity, disability, geographic location or poverty.
The goal of UNICEF’s Schools for Asia initiative is not only providing children with access to education, but also keeping them in school in the long run. This is accomplished through:
1. Sound teaching and learning materials
2. Safe and clean learning facilities
3. Well-designed and integrated curricula that include life skills education on health, nutrition, hygiene and sanitation
4. Trained teachers who provide empowering education and create an environment in which girls and boys are treated equally

Our Asian classrooms

The Schools for Asia initiative currently operates in 11 countries with the aim to reach out to the most vulnerable children.

SfA map_eng

Education, a life-changing agent to children

Education has incredible power. It transforms the life of a child and society as a whole, making people and nations healthier and wealthier, empowering women and bringing social change, hope, equity and employment. Since 2012, UNICEF’s Schools for Asia Initiative has helped more than 48 million marginalized children across the region to stay in school. Yet, a lot of children are still deprived of education opportunities. We need your support to provide education for every child.
If you want to know more about UNICEF’s Schools for Asia initiative, please contact us at (852) 2836 2906, email us at fundraising@unicef.org.hk or visit our global website http://www.schoolsforasia.org.

每10名亞洲兒童中,有9名入讀小學。然而,留校率及教育質素低劣、輟學率高企等情況仍然令人憂慮。基礎教育的學習進展緩慢,會阻礙學童接受較高等教育,同時令中學入學率處於低水平。

© UNICEF/UNI102855/Souvannavong

為弱勢兒童帶來學習機會

2012年,UNICEF推出「亞洲學童計劃」,以幼兒發展、平等教育、優質教育和災難中的教育為四大核心範疇,為被邊緣化及忽略的兒童提供優質教育,保障他們免受性別、種族、殘疾、居住地方偏遠和貧窮等因素而失去上學機會。
「亞洲學童計劃」不僅讓兒童重返校園,更讓他們能持續接受教育。計劃的關鍵在於提供:
1. 適當的教學工具及學習物資
2. 安全和清潔的學習環境
3. 適切的綜合課程,以支援與健康、營養、衞生相關的生活技能訓練
4. 受過訓練且懂得因材施教的教師,以締造理想的教學環境,讓男女學童享有平等待遇

我們的「亞洲課室」

UNICEF正在11個國家推行「亞洲學童計劃」,致力為弱勢兒童提供支援。

SfA map_chi

教育改變兒童命運

教育蘊含一股不可思議的力量,既可改變兒童的命運,更可長遠改善整個社區的生活質素。教育能打破跨代貧窮的惡性循環,讓人們及國家變得更富裕,同時賦予婦女權力,為社會帶來轉變、希望、平等和就業機會。UNICEF「亞洲學童計劃」自 2012年推出以來,已協助超過4,800萬名被邊緣化的兒童繼續學業。然而,仍有無數兒童殷切盼望接受教育。因此,我們需要您的支持,給每一名兒童學習機會。
如你希望了解更多有關「亞洲學童計劃」的資訊,請致電(852)2836 2906、或電郵至fundraising@unicef.org.hk與本會職員聯絡,或瀏覽我們的全球網址(暫時只提供英文版)http://www.schoolsforasia.org