UNICEF Charity Run successfully raised HK$11 million in its 11 year to support global effort towards ‘AIDS to ZERO’

 

UNICEF Charity Run successfully raised HK$11 million in its 11 year to support global effort towards ‘AIDS to ZERO’

20170319_run1

© UNICEF HK/2017

HONG KONG, 19 March 2017 — The 11th UNICEF Charity Run has successfully raised over HK$11 million from over 14,000 runners for a Zero-AIDS generation. The event replaced the one scheduled for November 2016, which was cancelled due to adverse weather.

The event took place today at Hong Kong Disneyland Resort and involved individual runners, business leaders, corporate teams and families, as well as UNICEF Regional Ambassador (East Asia and Pacific) Ms Miriam Yeung.

Mr Henry Tang Ying-yen, Honorary Adviser of Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK), who was joined by Dr Ko Wing-man, HKSAR Secretary for Food and Health, at the kick-off ceremony of the Leadership Challenge, said, “I am pleased to join the UNICEF Charity Run in my capacity as Honorary Advisor to UNICEF HK. This is a meaningful initiative to help many children in the developing countries to stay HIV-free, and I call for your continued support to this good cause.”

Ms Judy Chen, Chairman of UNICEF HK expressed her gratitude to all runners, sponsors and supporters to make this replacement event a good turn-out. She shared some achievements of the ongoing global campaign. “Since 2000, thanks to the global effort of the prevention of mother-to-child transmission, 1.6 million new pediatric infections have been prevented. There is also a 70 per cent reduction in AIDS-related deaths among children aged 0 to 4. These results prove to us that an AIDS-free world is achievable.

She added, “Every day, over 400 children are infected with HIV through their mothers’ pregnancy, child-birth or breastfeeding. More had yet to be done and the UNICEF Charity Run will be continued to mobilize resources to support UNICEF’s global goal of a Zero-AIDS generation.” She also announced that the next UNICEF Charity Run will be organized in November this year and called for active participation from all runners and sponsors.

UNICEF Regional Ambassador (East Asia and Pacific) Ms Miriam Yeung joined the 10km race. “I am pleased to be part of this cause and run for UNICEF’s work for every child,” said Ms Yeung.

The Charity Run also welcomed 29 corporations for joining Half Marathon Corporate Relay, and 34 business leaders at the 3km Leadership Challenge.

A wide array of races has also attracted our city’s elite runners, including Thomas Kiprotich, Stefano Passarello, Tang Man-wa, Chow Chi-ngan, Kong Lai-ming, Lui Wai-man, Michelle Lowry, triathlon athlete Wong Hui-wai and youth runners Chung Man-tung and Lo Ying-chiu. All of them gaver their best this morning, especially in the Half Marathon race and 10km Run, which are accredited by the Association of International Marathons and Distance Races (AIMS), and Hong Kong Amateur Association (HKEAA).

At the end of the day, Thomas Kiprotich won the Men’s Half Marathon Overall Championship (01:12:58), while Megumi Matsui won the Women’s Half Marathon Overall Championship (01:27:55). Men’s and Women’s 10km Overall Championship were Shuen Chun Kit (00:33:50) and Sophia Lai (00:40:06) respectively. Logitech Asia Pacific Ltd was awarded the Corporate Relay Championship, while Pogson Keith, Managing Partner, Financial Services, Asia Pacific of Ernst & Young won the Men’s 3km Leadership Challenge and Sabrina Fung Wing Yee, Group Managing Director of Li Fung Retailing Limited won the Women’s 3km Leadership Challenge.

This year, the event was supported by CCB International (Holdings) Limited, Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group Limited, Hong Kong Disneyland Resort, adidas Hong Kong Limited, Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, Sunlink Holdings (H.K.) Ltd., S.F. Express (Hong Kong) Limited, Sun Life Hong Kong Limited, Asia Miles Limited and New World Development Company Limited.

Since its launch in 2006, UNICEF Charity Run has gained the support of 110,000 runners and raised over HK$100 million to support UNICEF’s ‘Unite for children, Unite against AIDS’ global campaign.

Hong Kong public can also visit unicef.org.hk/aidstozero to learn more about UNICEF’s work with its ‘AIDS to ZERO’ campaign.

– END –

Event photos can be downloaded here.

Official results of all races will be posted by 28 March 2017 on UNICEF Charity RUN website: http://run.unicef.org.hk/en.

——————————
For more information please contact:

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF

Jamie Wong, Communication Specialist
Tel / Mobile: 2836 2967 / 6149 3378

第11屆聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑籌得1,100萬 支持全球抗愛滋運動 邁向「AIDS to ZERO」

 

第11屆聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑籌得1,100萬 支持全球抗愛滋運動 邁向「AIDS to ZERO」

20170319_run1

© UNICEF HK/2017

香港,2017319—第11屆聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑在超過14,000名健兒支持下,成功為全球抗愛滋行動籌得1,100萬善款,以實現「零愛滋世代」。是次活動為重賽,以代替去年11月因惡劣天氣而取消的賽事。

活動今日於香港迪士尼樂園度假區舉行,並獲得一眾跑手、商界領袖、企業隊伍及家庭跑手,以至UNICEF地區(東亞及太平洋)大使楊千嬅小姐參賽支持。

今日大會邀得聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)榮譽顧問唐英年先生香港特別行政區物及衞生局局長高永文醫生擔任主禮嘉賓,為領袖挑戰賽揭幕。唐英年表示:「我非常高興能夠以榮譽顧問身分參與聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑。這個活動讓眾多發展中國家的兒童免受愛滋病毒感染,非常有意義,希望大家會繼續支持,共襄善舉。」

UNICEF HK主席陳晴女士則衷心感謝所有跑手、支持者及贊助商的支持,令今次重賽可順利舉行,並分享UNICEF全球抗愛滋運動的成果:「自2000年起,UNICEF及伙伴已成功保護近160萬名兒童免受愛滋病病毒感染,而0至4歲兒童因愛滋病及相關疾病死亡個案數字亦大幅下降70%。這一切都告訴我們『零愛滋』是可以實現的。」

陳女士又指,「每日有超過400名兒童感染愛滋病病毒,大部分是在不知情的情況下,於媽媽懷孕、分娩或哺乳期間,透過母體感染病毒。我們需要做更多去對抗愛滋,而聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑將會繼續動員多方力量,支持UNICEF全球工作,實現『零愛滋世代』」。另外,她即場宣布下一屆慈善跑將於今年十一月舉行,並呼籲跑手和贊助商們繼續踴躍支持。

參加了10公里賽事的UNICEF地區(東亞及太平洋)大使楊千嬅小姐表示:「非常高興能夠參與慈善跑,與聯合國兒童基金會攜手為兒童。」

今年大會亦喜見29隊企業代表參與半馬拉松企業接力賽,以及34名商界領袖參與3公里領袖挑戰賽,競逐冠軍殊榮。

賽事吸引城中一眾精英跑手參與,包括湯馬士基保堤(Thomas Kiprotich)、Stefano Passarello、鄧敏華、周子雁、江麗明、呂慧敏及Michelle Lowry、三項鐵人運動員黃煦蔚、學界跑手鍾敏彤和羅映潮等。各人今早均於獲「國際馬拉松及道路賽協會」及「香港業餘田徑總會」認可的半馬拉松賽及10公里賽事中拼盡全力,以圖跑出較佳成績及排名。

經過連場精彩賽事,湯馬士基保堤(Thomas Kiprotich)以1小時12分58秒再蟬聯半馬拉松男子全場總冠軍;松井惠美則以1小時27分55秒的成績勇奪半馬拉松女子全場總冠軍。另外,男、女子10公里全場總冠軍分別為孫鎮傑(33分50秒)及黎智樂(40分06秒)。羅技亞太有限公司贏得半馬拉松企業接力賽冠軍,安永會計師事務所的Keith Pogson則贏得3公里領袖挑戰賽男子組冠軍;利豐(零售)有限公司的馮詠儀則奪得3公里領袖挑戰賽女子組冠軍。

今年活動榮獲建銀國際(控股)有限公司、周大福珠寶集團有限公司、香港迪士尼樂園度假區、愛廸達香港有限公司、香港交易及結算所有限公司、順聯控股(香港)有限公司、順豐速運(香港)有限公司、香港永明金融有限公司、亞洲萬里通有限公司及新世界集團有限公司支持。

自2006年首次舉辦以來,聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑共吸引逾10萬名跑手參與,籌得逾港幣1 億元善款,支持UNICEF全球抗愛滋運動。

歡迎市民瀏覽網站 unicef.org.hk/aidstozero,了解及支持UNICEF全球抗愛滋運動 。

 

– 完 –

活動相片按此下載

 

官方賽果將2017328日(星期二)或之前於官方網站公佈http://run.unicef.org.hk/

——————————
傳媒如有垂詢,請聯絡:

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會

高級傳訊主任黃穎祺(Jamie Wong)
電話:2836 2967 / 6149 3378