UNICEF HK supports the voluntary code of on the marketing of formula milk and food products for infant & young children

 

UNICEF HK supports the voluntary code of on the marketing of formula milk and food products for infant & young children

UNICEFHK_logo_bluewords_screen_300px

HONG KONG, 20 March 2017 — The Legislative Council Panel on Health Services today discussed the Hong Kong Code of Marketing of Formula Milk and Related Products, and Food Products for Infants & Young Children (HK Code). This voluntary code is to protect breastfeeding and support the optimal feeding of infants and young children aged below 36 months.

The Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) submitted its opinion to the health panel to express appreciation to the Government’s effort in drafting the HK Code, which is adapted from the International Code of Marketing of Breastmilk Substitutes advocated by UNICEF and World Health Organization.

Jane Lau, Chief Executive of UNICEF HK said, “Every child deserves a healthy start in life; hence every mother deserves to have access and exposure to impartial information to make the best choice on how her baby is fed. We hope there will be more support to the HK Code for the well-being of every child in Hong Kong, and for the public health of our society.”

UNICEF HK promotes, protects and supports breastfeeding in Hong Kong. We promote ‘Say Yes to Breastfeeding’ and supports Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative Hong Kong Association to help mothers initiate and sustain breastfeeding.

– END –

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會支持政府訂立嬰幼兒配方奶及食品的銷售守則

 

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會支持政府訂立嬰幼兒配方奶及食品的銷售守則

UNICEFHK_logo_bluewords_screen_300px

香港,2017320—立法會衞生事務委員會今天就《香港配方奶及相關產品和嬰幼兒食品的銷售守則》(《香港守則》)進行討論。此守則為保護母乳餵哺及支持36個月以下嬰幼兒的最佳餵養方式。

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)向衞生事務委員會遞交意見書,表示歡迎政府當局參照聯合國兒童基金會及世界衞生組織提倡的《國際母乳代用品銷售守則》,草擬出《香港守則》。

UNICEF HK總幹事劉玉燕女士指:「正如每一名兒童都應該有健康的好開始,每一位媽媽也應有機會獲取客觀的資訊,以作出作最佳嬰幼兒餵養選擇。我們希望各方可以支持《香港守則》,保障香港兒童的福祉以及改善社會的公共衞生情況。」

UNICEF HK一直致力在港推廣、保護及支持母乳餵哺,包括推動「Say Yes to Breastfeeding 母乳育嬰齊和應」運動及支持愛嬰醫院香港協會,幫助更多媽媽開始並持續母乳餵養。

– 完 –

——————————
傳媒如有垂詢,請聯絡:

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會

高級傳訊主任黃穎祺(Jamie Wong)
電話:2836 2967 / 6149 3378