China Children’s Week

CHINA_2011_Yan Lu

© UNICEF/China/2011/Yan Lu

UNICEF HK launched the China Children’s Week (CCW) in 1993 to raise funds to improve children’s welfare and health care in China. Since 1993, we have raised over HK$121 million, which are used to greatly improve the living conditions of women and children in need, and contribute to the eradication of polio, and maternal and neonatal tetanus.

From 1993 to 1995, we organized fundraising campaigns for polio eradication in China and raised more than HK$27 million for the purchase of polio vaccines to immunize infants in China and help eradicate polio. China had been declared polio-free in 2000. In 1996, we raised funds for the elimination of neonatal Tetanus in China. The result was encouraging with more than HK$6 million raised and with China having eliminated maternal and neonatal tetanus in 2012.

Afterwards, UNICEF HK dedicated the donations of CCW to help deprived children in China. Since 1997, UNICEF has been working with partners to launch the ‘Social Development Programme for Poor Areas in China’ (SPPA), followed by two other micro-credit programmes named ‘Local Planning and Action for Children’ (LPAC) in 2008 and ‘Local Actions for Rural Children'(LARC) in 2011. Since 2013, funds raised by CCW have supported the CCT Project in subsidizing deprived rural families and encouraging them to receive vital maternal and newborn health services.

中國兒童周

CHINA_2011_Yan Lu

© UNICEF/China/2011/Yan Lu

UNICEF HK於1993年開始舉辦「中國兒童周」,為改善中國兒童的福利及醫療保健籌款。自1993年以來,我們累積籌得逾港幣1.21億元,杜絕小兒麻痺症、根除孕產婦和新生兒破傷風等,大大改善內地婦女及兒童的生活。

由1993年至1995年,我們籌得港幣2,700萬元以購買並為中國嬰幼兒接種疫苗,協助杜絕小兒痲痺症;中國於2000年正式獲確認根除小兒麻痺症;1996年,我們則為中國消除嬰兒破傷風項目籌得超過港幣600萬元,支持中國於2012年根除孕產婦和新生兒破傷風。

其後,UNICEF HK集中將「中國兒童周」的善款投入支援內地貧困地區的兒童。自1997年,UNICEF與合作伙伴推行了「中國貧困地區社會發展計劃」,其後陸續在2008年和2011年分別支援「貧困地區兒童規劃與發展計劃」和「貧困地區兒童發展計劃」。自2013起,「中國兒童周」所籌得的款項均投入於中國偏遠地區推行的「中國貧困兒童資助項目」,鼓勵農村貧困家庭接受生死攸關的母嬰健康服務。