Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF Announces New Office Bearers of the Council


Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF Announces New Office Bearers of the Council


HONG KONG, 28 September 2011 — Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (HKCU) is pleased to announce new office bearers of the Council for the period of 2011 – 2012. Judy Chen continues to serve as Chairman of HKCU; Leonie Ki and Johnny Ng were appointed Vice Chairmen of the Council; Joseph Yu was appointed Treasurer; and Julian Chow was elected again as the Secretary.

Judy has been leading the Council and staff members to break new ground for HKCU since her appointment as Chairman in October 2010. Under her leadership, HKCU has successfully aroused public attention on children’s rights and the immense need to help deprived children in the world through a series of 25th Anniversary programmes. Judy joined the Council of HKCU in 2004 and has been instrumental in contributing to the development of HKCU through her active involvement in the Regular Fundraising and Advocacy & Public Relations Committees.

“I am honored to take up the chairmanship of the Council again. My heartfelt thanks to each and every fellow member in the Council and dedicated staff member of HKCU for their wholehearted efforts to make the impossible possible in 2011. Besides, I must take this opportunity to specially thank two recently retired Council Members, Vivien Chan and Jean Wong for their dedicated long service and tireless support to HKCU over the years with HKCU. I look forward to their continued support to UNICEF.” said Judy Chen, Chairman of the Council of HKCU.

“This year, we are thrilled to have new members joining the Council to broaden our expertise in serving children in need. The road ahead for children is still challenging.  Thus, we need this additional force to further the betterment of world’s children, especially to reach the unreachable, most vulnerable, and neediest ones.” Judy continued. “We endeavor to put our full efforts to make a big and positive difference to children in need.”

The Council also welcomed 4 new members including Au King-chi, Margaret Coates, May Chiu, and Dr Maurice Leung who bring a full breath of expertise in corporate, social, health and legal sectors to support UNICEF worldwide programmes. On the other hand, Vivien Chan and Jean Wong announced their retirement after serving the Council for 25 and 20 years respectively.


A full list of members of the Council as follows:
Chairman Ms Judy Chen
Ms Leonie Ki,SBS,JP

Mr Johnny Ng

Treasurer Mr Joseph Yu,MH
Secretary Mr Julian Chow
Council Members Ms Au King-chi
Mr Davie Auyeung
Ms May Chiu
Ms Margaret Coates
Mr John Crawford,JP
Mr Bon Ho
Dr  Maggie Koong
Mr Leon Lai,BBS,MH
Dr Maurice Leung
Mr Louis Loong
Mr Gilbert Mo
Mrs Corina Wong
Mr Kevin Yeung
Mr Dicky Peter Yip,MBE,BBS,JP