UNICEF is deeply concerned about the fraudulent use of our name and logo by unethical individuals who deliberately abuse the trust of UNICEF supporters worldwide. Following are details on how fraud is perpetrated – and how to help protect both UNICEF and yourself from its potentially serious consequences.

Fraudulent offers

We have received reports that imposters may now be using UNICEF’s name – and our hard-earned credibility – to solicit members of the public via websites, e-mails and phone calls.

These abuses have been brought to the attention of UNICEF’s legal department. We are alerting the public as well, in an effort to ensure that innocent victims are not lured into providing their personal contact details.

Please be advised that websites, e-mails and phone calls offering jobs or prizes on behalf of UNICEF are fabricated and fraudulent. Only UNICEF and its 36 national committees are authorized to send communications or appeals to the public in UNICEF’s name.

Beware of ‘phishing’

With heightened media attention regarding the theft of personal data, many consumers – as well as supporters of humanitarian organisations like UNICEF – are concerned about the privacy and integrity of their personal data.

That’s why it is important to be aware of fraudulent Internet correspondence, also known as ‘phishing’.

Phishing is a type of fraud in which e-mail messages, instant messages and websites are used to deceive individuals into providing confidential, personal information. The term relates to the idea that people will ‘take the bait’ and disclose personal information, which can be used for credit card fraud and other serious violations of privacy.

Phishing e-mails generally appear to be sent from legitimate organisations, asking users to either reply or link to a web page to update their personal information. They sometimes contain an organisational logo and even a physical address, but the web address, or URL, does not match that of the legitimate organisation.

Don’t get ‘hooked’

Among the data typically requested by phishers are the user’s name and address; Social Security number; account numbers and passwords; and bank account and credit card information — sometimes even the account holder’s mother’s maiden name or other private information used for security purposes.

Here are some measures you can take to avoid getting ‘hooked’ by a phishing scheme:

  • Be alert to any unexpected e-mail, instant message, voicemail or fax that claims to be from a bank, credit card company, online service or charitable organisation with which you have an account or membership
  • If you do receive such a message, call  the appropriate customer or donor service number (but not any number provided in the message) and verify whether it is legitimate
  • Do not respond to any e-mail, phone or fax instructions that prompt you to divulge your personal information
  • Do not click on any links in a suspicious e-mail; clicking on such a link may cause the download of key-logging or ‘spyware’ programmes onto your computer
  • Regularly log on to your online banking, credit card or other accounts and reconcile your statement balances to ensure that all transactions are legitimate
  • Use up-to-date anti-virus software – including spam filters and even ‘anti-phishing’ programmes, which are available to help screen out potential phishers on websites and e-mails.

To ensure absolute safety and help prevent further circulation of such scam mails, please contact us immediately at 2833 6139 or email to info@unicef.org.hk to verify and report on suspicious or fraudulent emails.

Examples of fraud

聯合國兒童基金會非常關注某些不道德的人,利用聯合國兒童基金會的名義及世界各地支持者對我們的信任,進行欺詐的行為。以下是一些常見騙局的細節,以及如何保護您自己和聯合國兒童基金會不致於遭受嚴重損失。

欺詐手法

詐騙者可能使用聯合國兒童基金會的名字,以及我們來之不易的公信力,透過網絡、電子郵件、以及電話,欺騙公眾。

聯合國兒童基金會法律部門相當關注這些濫用情況。我們再次呼籲公眾提高警惕,以確保自己的個人資訊不被騙取。

請務必注意,通過網站、郵件以及電話的形式,以聯合國兒童基金會的名義提供工作或者獎勵,通常是詐騙者自行編造的。只有聯合國兒童基金會及其36個國家委員會有權以聯合國兒童基金會的名義發出通訊或呼籲。

當心仿冒詐騙攻擊(俗稱「網路釣魚」)

隨著大眾提升盜用個人資訊的關注,許多消費者——包括許多人道組織(如聯合國兒童基金會)的支持者,都非常擔心他們的私隱及個人資料的保障。這就是我們呼籲大家對仿冒詐騙攻擊(俗稱「網路釣魚」)提高警惕的重要原因。

「網路釣魚」是一種通過電子郵件、網上聊天或網站等方式,騙取個人認證或保密資料的詐騙手段。這個說法源自受騙者「上釣」並洩露他們的個人資料,而這些資料一旦落在欺詐者手上,可能會被用作信用卡盜用、身份盜用和其他更嚴重的欺詐行為。

「網路釣魚」郵件看上去都像從正規組織發出的,告訴收件者回覆或者透過連結到訪另外一個網頁,並提供他們的個人資料。它們有時包含一些組織的商標,甚至提供一個可瀏覽的網址,但這些網址並非該正規組織的官方網站。

不要「上釣」

「網路釣魚者」普遍要求提供的資訊,包括使用者的姓名、地址、身份證號碼、帳號登入名稱及密碼、銀行帳號以及信用卡資訊——有時,甚至包括持卡者母親的姓名或其他為帳號安全所提供的私人資料。

以下是一些免被「釣魚者」欺騙「上釣」的方法:

  • 注意宣稱來自您註冊過、或其會員的銀行、信用卡公司、網上服務或慈善機構發來的陌生郵件、即時聊天、電話留言或傳真。
  • 如果您收到類似郵件,立即致電相關消費者或捐款熱線(但不要致電郵件裡提供的電話號碼),然後確認收到的郵件是否合法。
  • 不要回覆任何要求您提供個人資料的電子郵件、電話或傳真。
  • 不要點擊任何可疑電郵裡面提供的連結;點擊可能令駭客軟體能自動下載並安裝到您的電腦上。
  • 經常登錄您的網上銀行、信用卡或其他帳戶,查看帳戶情況和餘額,確認所有交易都是正常。
  • 使用最新版本的防毒軟件——包括防火牆以及「反釣魚」軟體。這都有助於隔離網站和郵件中的潛在「釣魚」行為。

如發現任何虛假網站或電郵,或對任何聲稱由本會發出的郵件/電郵有懷疑,請致電2833 6139或電郵至[email protected]通知本會職員或作出查證,以確安全。

 

可疑郵件樣本