10 ways UNICEF saves and improves children’s lives around the world

 

10 ways UNICEF saves and improves children’s lives around the world

UN0149885

© UNICEF/UN0149885/Dejongh

For every child, opportunity

Day in and day out, UNICEF works in some of the world’s toughest places to reach the most vulnerable children and young people. To give them a childhood in which they’re protected, healthy and educated, and the opportunity to fulfil their vast potential.

Here are 10 examples of how we worked with partners for and with children around the world in 2017:

Read: Annual Report 2017

 


1. UNICEF and partners reached 2 million adolescent girls with incentives to choose alternatives to child marriage


 

©UNICEF/UN061996/Vishwanathan

©UNICEF/UN061996/Vishwanathan

 

A group of adolescent girls take a stance against child marriage at a karate a class organized as part of a UNICEF-supported programme in Giridih District, in India’s Jharkhand state. The district has one of the country’s highest rates of child marriage.

UNICEF and the Jago Foundation have launched a pilot programme to make 65 villages in Giridih ‘child marriage free’. The programme trains and empowers adolescents, engages with religious and caste leaders, encourages the formation of village child-protection committees and supports pledges by parents to end child marriage.

 


2. UNICEF and partners supported 8.8 million children to access education in emergencies, including 4.2 million girls


 

©UNICEF/UN0118056/Chagara

©UNICEF/UN0118056/Chagara

 

Amina, 19, dropped out of school in Malawi at age 14, after her mother died. Now she attends a UNICEF-supported literacy class for adolescent girls who are not in school. “I am so happy that I can now read and write,” Amina says. “My life has changed.” Across Malawi, as in many countries, girls are at higher risk of dropping out than boys due to financial constraints, early marriage, pregnancy and other factors. UNICEF is working to keep all children in school and improve girls’ education.

 


3. UNICEF and partners reached more than 12.5 million children with learning materials


 

©UNICEF/UN0158132/Sujan

©UNICEF/UN0158132/Sujan

 

After attacks on Rohingya people in Myanmar’s Rakhine State intensified in August 2017, the influx of refugees into Bangladesh accelerated. By the end of the year, an estimated 720,000 children were living in refugee camps across the border in Bangladesh. These refugee children, as well as their peers in host communities, urgently need access to education. To provide them with learning opportunities, UNICEF and partners have trained teachers and constructed learning centres in refugee settlements and camps.

 


4. UNICEF and partners responded to 337 emergencies in 102 countries


 

©UNICEF/UN048906/Anmar

©UNICEF/UN048906/Anmar

 

Muhammad (right) and his children leave a tent where they purchased winter clothes in Hasansham camp, Iraq. UNICEF’s ‘Warm for Winter’ campaign provided aid to displaced families across the country in 2017. Children received warm clothing and thermal blankets, and pregnant women received packages of baby clothes. In lieu of clothing, thousands of parents like Muhammad also received vouchers to purchase children’s winter items from distributors. These vouchers allow families to buy appropriate winter clothes that meet the individual needs of their children.

 


5. UNICEF and partners supported the delivery of 25 million live births that were accompanied by skilled birth attendants in health facilities


 

©UNICEF/UN061403/Dejongh

©UNICEF/UN061403/Dejongh

 

Mothers sit with their newborn babies at the maternity health centre in Nassian village, north-east Côte d’Ivoire, waiting for the infants to receive basic vaccinations. The centre also provides families with tents treated with insecticide. Sleeping under a mosquito net is a simple measure to protect children and adults from malaria – yet many Ivorian children still don’t have access to them and are at risk of illness or death from this and other easily preventable diseases. With help from UNICEF and the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, the Government of Côte d’Ivoire launched a campaign to distribute millions of mosquito nets across the country in 2017.

 


6. UNICEF and partners delivered improved sanitation to 22 million people


 

©UNICEF/UN0142769/ Didari

©UNICEF/UN0142769/ Didari

 

Mercia checks that her children are washing their hands properly outside their home in Nili District, central Afghanistan. Nili was declared the country’s first open-defecation free district in November 2017. People in its towns and villages had used the ‘community-led total sanitation’ approach to identify open areas that were used as toilets – and to encourage families without toilets to build their own latrines. The approach can lead to entire communities giving up open defecation in a matter of months, resulting in a healthier environment for everyone. In 2017, UNICEF helped hundreds of local Afghan communities become certified as open-defecation-free.

 


7. UNICEF and partners treated more than 4 million children in emergency situations for severe acute malnutrition


 

©UNICEF/UN069819/Souleiman

©UNICEF/UN069819/Souleiman

 

In Ain Issa camp, north-eastern Syria, a UNICEF nutritionist screens children for malnutrition. Most of the internally displaced families in the camp fled unrelenting violence in Ar-Raqqa city. UNICEF and partners scaled up their response to meet basic needs at Ain Issa in 2017 by trucking safe drinking water daily to families in the camp and its surrounding communities, and distributing life-saving nutrition supplies for children.

 


8. UNICEF and partners helped register 141,000 unaccompanied and separated children on the move in 40 countries


 

©UNICEF/UN070439/d’Aki

©UNICEF/UN070439/d’Aki

 

Maryam, 13, waits for an English lesson to begin at a non-formal learning centre in Skaramagas, Greece. UNICEF supported the Greek Government in 2017 to better monitor the situation of refugee and migrant children – including unaccompanied children – and provide them with stronger protection. Funding from the European Commission’s Rights, Equality and Citizenship Programme supported these efforts.

 


9. UNICEF and partners supported the release of more than 10,000 children from armed forces and groups in 15 countries, and the reintegration of more than 12,000 children with their communities


 

©UNICEF/UN064901/Dubourthoumieu

©UNICEF/UN064901/Dubourthoumieu

 

Children released from the militia of a traditional chief eat breakfast in a centre supported by UNICEF in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The centre provides opportunities for learning and skills development, among other services for children’s rehabilitation and reintegration into their communities.

 


10. UNICEF and partners stepped up efforts to better support children and young people with disabilities


©UNICEF Bulgaria

Stanislava, 15, lives in a small group home for children with disabilities in Montana, Bulgaria, after spending years in state institutions for children. Now that she is in a family-type setting, Stanislava attends a mainstream school and is supported by teachers, social workers, psychologists and speech therapists. Since 2000, Bulgaria has dramatically reduced the number of children living in institutions. All large ones for children with disabilities have been closed.


For more than 70 years, funded entirely by voluntary contributions, UNICEF has worked to save and improve the lives of children and young people around the world. The three largest public-sector contributors to UNICEF in 2017 were the United States, the United Kingdom and the European Commission.

* All results reported as of 2017, please see 2017 Annual Report for details.

UNICEF:為每一名兒童帶來希望

 

UNICEF:為每一名兒童帶來希望

UN0149885

© UNICEF/UN0149885/Dejongh

讓每一名兒童,都享有平等的機會

聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)在世界上最艱苦的地區,夜以繼日,連綿不休地展開工作,竭力幫助最有需要的兒童和青年人,給予他們一個受保護和得到教育機會的健康童年,同時亦讓他們享有平等機會以充分發展潛能。

下列為2017年,我們與合作伙伴攜手為全世界每一名兒童謀福祉的10項例證:

查閱 UNICEF 2017年年度報告(只有英文)

 


1. UNICEF及其合作伙伴鼓勵200萬名青春期少女向童婚說不。


 

©UNICEF/UN061996/Vishwanathan

©UNICEF/UN061996/Vishwanathan

 

一群少女在空手道課上,表明自己反對童婚的立場。該課程在印度乍拉肯德邦吉里迪區 (Jharkhand,Giridih)舉辦,並得到UNICEF支持。而吉里迪區便正正是印度全國童婚率最高的地方。 UNICEF 和 Jago 基金合作推出試驗項目,旨在使該區的65條村落成為「無童婚村」。此計劃項目包括訓練和給予青少年權力、與宗教和種姓制度領袖交涉、鼓勵於村內組織保護兒童委員會,並支持村內父母作出承諾,廢止童婚。

 


2. UNICEF及其合作伙伴為880萬名兒童在緊急情況下提供教育,當中包括420萬名女童。


 

©UNICEF/UN0118056/Chagara

©UNICEF/UN0118056/Chagara

 

來自馬拉維的19歳少女阿米娜(Amina),在14歳時因母親去世而輟學。現在,她參加了UNICEF為幫助失學少女而設立的識字班,重新讀書識字。阿米娜說:「我很開心現在學會了讀寫,這徹底改變了我的生命。」馬拉維與許多國家一樣,女童比男童更容易因經濟拮据、早婚、懷孕或其他因素而被迫輟學。UNICEF 正不懈地展開工作,務求讓所有兒童都擁有上學的機會,並改善女童的教育。

 


3. UNICEF及其合作伙伴為超過1250萬名兒童提供學習資源。


 

©UNICEF/UN0158132/Sujan

©UNICEF/UN0158132/Sujan

 

自2017年8月,在緬甸若開邦居住的羅興亞人遭到襲擊後,大批難民湧進孟加拉境內。估計至今年年底,將有共72萬名兒童在孟加拉邊境的難民營生活。這群難民兒童及社區內其他同儕都迫切需要接受教育的機會。為了向他們提供學習機會,UNICEF 及其合作伙伴在難民徙置區和難民營中培訓教師及興建學習中心。


4.  UNICEF及其合作伙伴針對在102個國家發生的337次緊急情況採取了響應措施。


 

©UNICEF/UN048906/Anmar

©UNICEF/UN048906/Anmar

 

穆罕默德(圖右)和他的孩子,在位於伊拉克的哈桑沙姆難民營購買了冬季衣物後離去。在2017年,UNICEF舉辦的「冬季送暖」活動為伊拉克全國的漂泊家庭提供了援助:讓當地兒童收到溫暖的衣物和毛氈;孕婦也收到嬰兒衣物包。而數千名像穆罕默德般的父母則收到優惠劵,讓他們可以從分銷商購入切合不同孩子需要的冬季禦寒衣物。

 


5. 在UNICEF及其合作伙伴的支持下,2500萬名嬰兒能在醫療機構中獲訓練有素的助產士陪護,平安出生。


 

©UNICEF/UN061403/Dejongh

©UNICEF/UN061403/Dejongh

 

在科特迪瓦東北部納西安村的一家婦幼保健中心,母親正等待醫護人員為她們的新生嬰兒接種基本疫苗。中心還為各戶家庭提供經殺蟲劑處理的帳篷。在蚊帳中休息是保護兒童和成人免受瘧疾侵害的一個簡單方法——然而,許多科特迪瓦兒童仍沒法獲得這些物品,繼而感染這些可預防的疾病,甚至引致死亡。在2017年,有賴 UNICEF 和全球對抗愛滋病、肺病及瘧疾基金的幫助,科特迪瓦政府向全國各地分發共數百萬個蚊帳,保障國內兒童健康。

 


6. UNICEF及其合作伙伴為2200萬人改善環境衞生。


 

©UNICEF/UN0142769/ Didari

©UNICEF/UN0142769/ Didari

 

在阿富汗中部尼利地區,梅爾西亞(Mercia)正在屋外檢查孩子洗手的方法是否正確,2017年11月,尼利成為全國首個沒有露天排便現象的地區。城鎮和農村的居民透過「社區主導環境衞生計劃」,規劃用作排泄的區域,並鼓勵沒有廁所的家庭建造自己的廁所。這方法讓全社區的人在短短數月間便摒棄露天排便,為居民帶來一個更健康和清潔的環境。在2017年,UNICEF 幫助當地數百個社區消除露天排便現象。


7. UNICEF及其合作伙伴為400多萬名處於緊急情況下的兒童治療嚴重急性營養不良。


 

©UNICEF/UN069819/Souleiman

©UNICEF/UN069819/Souleiman

 

在敘利亞東北地的艾因伊薩難民營,UNICEF 的營養專家正在篩查兒童營養不良情況。這裏大多數流離失所的家庭都是由於逃離拉卡市的暴力衝突而置身此地。為了滿足伊薩難民營的基本需求,UNICEF 及其合作伙伴於2017年擴大行動,每日運送食水至營內和周邊社區的家庭,並向兒童分發基本的營養供給。


8. UNICEF及其合作伙伴在40個國家幫助為14.1萬名無人陪伴和在遷徒途中失散的兒童進行登記。


 

©UNICEF/UN070439/d’Aki

©UNICEF/UN070439/d’Aki

 

在希臘斯卡拉馬加斯的一所非正規學習中心,13歲的馬里任(Maryam)正等待上英語課。UNICEF 在2017年向希臘政府提供支援,幫助照顧包括無人陪伴的兒童在內的難民和移民兒童,並為他們提供更好的保護。上述工作資金來自歐盟委員會的權利、平等和公民項目。


9. UNICEF及其合作伙伴促使15個國家的武裝部隊組織釋放超過1萬名兒童,更幫助1.2 萬名兒童重新融入社會。


 

©UNICEF/UN064901/Dubourthoumieu

©UNICEF/UN064901/Dubourthoumieu

 

一批獲傳統酋長兵組織釋放的兒童正在剛果民主共和國一所由UNICEF支持的兒童中心享用早餐。該中心為兒童提供學習和技能發展機會,同時幫助兒童康復,使他們重新融入社會。

 


10. UNICEF及其合作伙伴持續加強對殘疾兒童和青年的支援。


 

©UNICEF Bulgaria

15歲的史坦尼斯拉娃(Stanislava)住在保加利亞蒙塔納的一個殘疾兒童之家。此前,她在國立兒童機構中度過許多歲月。現在,她生活在家庭式的成長環境,就讀一所主流學校,並得到老師、社工、心理學家和語言治療師的支持。自2000年以來,保加利亞大幅減少國立兒童機構中的兒童人數,所有大型殘疾兒童機構都已經被關閉。


*所有以上有關2017年的工作成果,請參閱2017年年度報告