20 November “Universal Children’s Day” “Believe In Zero, Make A Video” Competition Award Presentation Ceremony Renowned filmmakers encouraged youths to create superheroes for children through videos

 

20 November “Universal Children’s Day” “Believe In Zero, Make A Video” Competition Award Presentation Ceremony Renowned filmmakers encouraged youths to create superheroes for children through videos

22

HONG KONG, 18 November 2012 —In celebration of Universal Children’s Day on 20 November, Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) organised the“Believe In Zero, Make A Video” Competition to mobilise young people to create videos about children’s right to survival. The two winning videos focus on local child survival challenges. Zero Violence, the champion of Open Category reveals the common yet hidden problem in many Hong Kong families– domestic violence, while the one of Secondary School Category, The Angel, highlights the inequality of local policy towards children’s protection. Mr Poon Hang-sang, the winner of Best Cinematography in the Hong Kong Film Awards (HKFA) and Ms Heiward Mak Hei Yan, a famous young director who won the Best Screenplay in the HKFA attended to support the event by sharing their views on child-related issues with around 400 audiences.

Universal Children’s Day on 20 November marks the day on which the Assembly adopted the Declaration of the Rights of the Child in 1959, and the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) in 1989. To commemorate this important day of the development of children’s rights, this year, UNICEF HK co-organised the brand-new “Believe In Zero, Make A Video” Competition with Academy of Film, Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU). It received overwhelming response, nearly 60 videos were submitted by secondary students and young people under the age of 24 within just two months.

Today, the award presentation ceremony was held to announce winning videos. For Open Category, Champion goes to Zero Violencefilmed by Wu Tsz-kin, Man Tin-lung, Sung Sin-wai and Chan Wai-yi, which features a student who is fond of watching Superman finally became “superman” himself by stopping a case of domestic violence. The winners conclude by encouraging everyone to be children’s “superman”. Discover.Love, featuring father and his son infected with HIV, won First Runner Up; while The End of the World?, which contrasts children’s suffering every day with the end of the world, was awarded Second Runner Up.

For Secondary School Category, the champion goes to the inspiring video The Angel. Featuring a vigorous youth who becomes a superhero, awardee Ivan Li Wai-ching studying in HKUGA College shows the inequality of local child protection policy. Awarded the first runner up, Duplicated Mission filmed by students from Ma On Shan Tsung Tsin Secondary School conveys the important message of the continuous support towards children, while the second runner up, Hunger in Life filmed by students from Ko Lui School, calls for public attention on children suffering from hunger.

Besides, the “Online Most Popular Video Award” goes to the most-viewed video from the “one view, one vote” public activity. The award of Open Category belongs to The End of the World? , which is also the second runner up of the Category; while The Justice of the Evilfilmed by students studying in Kit Sam Lam Bing Yim Secondary School was given the award of Secondary School Category. These two videos have been widely shared at the internet with over 3,700 views recorded each, helping UNICEF to bring more people’s attention to child survival issues.

The winning videos show not only youth’s creativity, but also their participation to realise children’s rights. During the award presentation ceremony, Ms Leonie Ki, Vice Chairman of UNICEF HK said, “Considering to the advanced technology and the rise of online media, the influence of advocating for children’s rights through a good video might be as strong as organising a large scale promotion event. We hope through the ‘Believe In Zero, Make A Video’ Competition, we could engage more youths and people to care about children’s rights on their own initiative.”

The Competition was supported by local well-known filmmakers. Mr Poon Hang Sang, Lecturer of the Academy of Film, HKBU, outstanding local cinematographer and the three-time winner of Best Cinematography in the HKFA and the Golden Horse Awards in Taiwan, was the advisor and final judge of the Competition. Also, local young film director Ms Heiward Mak Hei Yan, who won the Best Screenplay in the HKFA, attended the ceremony to show her encouragement to winners as the special award presenter.

Mr Poon said, “Videos from secondary school are more astonishing, although the skills applied may not be comparable to the ones from Open Category. Some of the ideas are very innovative.” He added, “The topics of the entries from Open Category are comparatively conservative. It may be attributable to their livelihood pressure such as buying a flat, pressurised work, life that constraint their creativity–this reflects a social problem nowadays in certain degree.”
To give the public a more holistic picture of challenges that children worldwide are facing, UNICEF HK screened Not My Life, a child trafficking documentary supported by UNICEF. Written, directed and produced by Oscar-nominated director Robert Bilheimer, the documentary genuinely portrays the cruelty of human trafficking and reveals the inhumane and slavery situation victims are facing, through the live footages and interviews of child traffickers and the victims. After the screening, guests, participants and audiences stamped a “Believe in Zero” mark on themselves to support ZERO SUFFERING for children, promising to save children’s lives with UNICEF!

To view the awarded videos, please visit: http://www.unicef.org.hk/makeavideo

Please click here to download the photos in the press release

– END –

11月20 日「國際兒童日」 聯合國兒童基金會「零,可以成真」短片比賽頒獎典禮 金像獎得主共勉本港青年 攜手用短片複製拯救兒童生命的超人

 

11月20 日「國際兒童日」 聯合國兒童基金會「零,可以成真」短片比賽頒獎典禮 金像獎得主共勉本港青年 攜手用短片複製拯救兒童生命的超人

新聞稿 12:00
22

香港,2012年11月18日──為慶祝11月20日「國際兒童日」,聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)舉辦了第一屆「零,可以成真」短片比賽,號召本港青年人拍攝有關兒童生存議題的短片。公開組冠軍作品《Neighbourman 零暴力》及中學組冠軍作品《The Angel》同以本地兒童所面對的生存威脅作主題,前者揭示本港社會隱蔽而普及的家庭暴力問題,後者則諷刺本港保護兒童政策的不公平。活動更獲得金像獎最佳攝影潘恆生先生及金像獎最佳編劇、本地年輕導演麥曦茵小姐兩位鼎力支持,並與在場近400位觀眾,分享他們對兒童生存問題的看法。

11月20日「國際兒童日」的成立,是為了紀念1959年在這一日通過《兒童權利宣言》,及至1989年,聯合國大會再於同一天,聯合國大會再通過《兒童權利公約》。今年,為了慶祝這個「兒童權利」的大日子,UNICEF HK遂邀請香港浸會大學電影學院,攜手合辦「零,可以成真」短片比賽。活動反應熱烈,短短兩個多月內已收得近60份中學生及24歲或以下青年提交的參賽作品。

主辦單位今日舉行頒獎典禮,公佈各組的最終得獎名單。公開組,由胡子健、文天龍、宋善慧及陳煒誼拍攝的《Neighbourman 零暴力》榮獲冠軍。片中男主角是熱愛超人電影系的學生,在小孩受暴力對待的緊急關頭,伸出援手,為小孩解困,帶出人人都可以化身拯救兒童的「超人」的訊息。而記錄父親與感染愛滋病病毒兒子的感人故事的《發現‧愛》、以時刻活在水深火熱之中的兒童對照世界末日的《末日》則分別獲得亞軍及季軍。

中學組方面,冠軍得獎作品是由港大同學會書院李偉程拍攝的《The Angel》,以熱血青年靠自己變身正義英雄,諷刺香港兒童政策的不公平,發人深省;亞軍及季軍短片為馬鞍山崇真中學拍攝的《複製使命》和高雷中學拍攝的《「饑」會人生》,前者帶出延續幫助兒童精神的重要訊息,後者則呼籲公眾人士關注饑餓兒童。

除了冠、亞、季軍外,比賽亦設「網上人氣大獎」,公眾人士每1次瀏覽相當1票。公開組由《末日?》奪得此獎項,成為雙料得主;中學組則由潔心林炳炎中學同學拍攝的《魔鬼的正義》奪得。兩片均打動了不少公眾人士,在互聯網廣傳開去,累積瀏覽次數分別高達逾3,700次,短片成功讓更多人關注兒童生存問題。

參賽作品不但顯示出青年的創意,更帶出他們對兒童權利的關注。UNICEF HK副主席紀文鳳女士在頒獎典禮致辭時表示:「現今的通訊網絡十分發達,說不定用一段好影片倡議兒童權利的威力,不比舉辦一次大型宣傳活動的效果少。希望今次我們舉辦的『零,可以成真』短片比賽,亦可以帶動更多年輕人同市民主動關心兒童權利。」

是次活動更獲得本港著名電影製作人支持。除了有本港金牌攝影指導、曾三度榮獲香港電影金像獎及台灣金馬獎最佳攝影的現任浸大電影學院講師潘恆生先生擔任比賽顧問及最後評審,更獲得曾獲金像獎最佳編劇的本地年輕導演麥曦茵擔任特別頒獎嘉賓,以勉勵各得獎者。

潘恆生先生指出:「是次比賽中,中學組的參賽作品相對公開組的,感覺更加清新可喜,雖然技巧上較為幼嫩,但當中有些作品的概念、構思,是很有潛質再作發展的。」他坦言:「公開組的作品題材相對守舊,反映了一個切切實實的社會問題,較年長的青年開始踏足社會,面對到工作、買樓、生活等種種壓力,不知不覺窒礙了他們創意發展。」

麥曦茵導演則與年輕人分享了拍片傳遞訊息的竅門:「畫面、影象不單可以交代言語表達到的達訊息,更可給觀眾有更闊的想像空間,帶出更深遠的意義。」
同場,大會更放映了一齣UNICEF有份參與製作的兒童販賣真實紀錄電影《非我人生》(Not My Life),讓公眾更了解世界各地兒童所面對的生存威脅。影片由奧斯卡金像獎提名人Robert Bilheimer執導、編劇及監製,透過各地兒童販賣活動下的施暴者及受害者真實剖白,將拐賣兒童的實況毫不掩飾地呈現觀眾眼前。放映會結束後,嘉賓、參賽者以及觀眾紛紛以「零,可以成真」蓋印立誓,承諾今後將支持UNICEF實現「兒童零受苦」的目標,攜手拯救世界兒童!

如欲觀賞得獎片段,請瀏覽:http://www.unicef.org.hk/makeavideo 

按此下載新聞稿照片

– 完 –