40 Young Envoys pledge to promote child-friendliness in Hong Kong Starting with a heated debate about moral and civic education

 

40 Young Envoys pledge to promote child-friendliness in Hong Kong Starting with a heated debate about moral and civic education

56

HONG KONG, 29 May 2011 – The Appointment Ceremony of UNICEF Young Envoys Programme 2011 was held this afternoon at the Central Atrium, Olympic City 2. The 40 Young Envoys, after a several months of intensive training, pledged to advocate child rights and promote child-friendliness in Hong Kong with what they have learnt. After receiving the certificates of appointment from our guests, the 40 youngsters were officially appointed UNICEF Young Envoys, who pledged to care for the world and society, and promote child rights, started their tenure today with a much heated mini-debate, which motion is “Moral and Civic Education should become a compulsory subject for Hong Kong students”, at the ceremony.

During the mini-debate, both sides presented their ideas with strong evidence and arguments. The pro-side suggested that it is essential for young people to develop a sense of belonging to their own country and the new Moral and Civic education curriculum can effectively enhance students’ concern to issues related to China. The con-side argued that the curriculum should also shape students’ constructive critical thinking instead of merely implanting knowledge about the achievements of our country.

Althea Suen, the captain of the pro-team said, “It is a controversial and important topic, which has led to diverse opinions among a lot of teenagers. I think it is a subject we cannot afford to neglect as it directly affects young people today and many generations to come. Children and young people, too, have the rights to express freely on all matters related to them. Our voice should be heard and respected.” By voicing out their own opinions about the issue, the Young envoys have demonstrated the right to participation, 1 of the 4 basic child rights, through this debate.

This year is the 25th anniversary of the Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF. In the past quarter of a century, we have been working tirelessly to advocate children’s rights, and education is an important tool to empower the youth and their peers. “The Young Envoys Programme is more than just a leadership training – It is also our golden opportunity to plant the seeds for our work for the wellbeing of children and women in over 150 developing countries,” said Dr Maggie Koong, Council Member of the Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (HKCU).

At the ceremony, UNICEF Ambassador Mr Eric Suen, Special Guest Mr Michael Wong, HKCU Council Member Dr Maggie Koong, and Assistant Director of Aeon Credit Services (the programme’s main sponsor) Mr Derek Lai ripped off a dark, sad scene of Hong Kong coastline on a big cardboard to reveal a bright future underneath, which is created by the Young Envoys themselves. The ceremony symbolises UNICEF’s determination to make Hong Kong a Child-Friendly City and to unite all efforts in building a better world fit for all youngsters and children.

The 40 Young Envoys will go on a visit to mainland China during summer to experience in person the plight of people in rural China and learn about UNICEF’s work there. UNICEF Young Envoys Programme was first launched in 1996. Over the past 15 years, we havenurtured close to 800 remarkable Young Envoys. Field visits have been made to UNICEF field offices in Indonesia, Ache, the Philippines, Cambodia, Yunnan, Gansu, Qinghai and Shanxi, etc.

40名青年使者承諾推動香港成為「兒童友好城市」 由德育及國民教育科激烈辯論出發

 

40名青年使者承諾推動香港成為「兒童友好城市」 由德育及國民教育科激烈辯論出發

新聞稿 12:00
56
香港,2011年5月29日——「聯合國兒童基金會青年使者計劃2011」委任典禮於今日下午假奧海城2期地下主題中庭舉行。經過連月特訓,40名中學生在各嘉賓手上接過委任狀後,正式獲委任為「聯合國兒童基金會青年使者」,他們承諾將學以致用,關心世界,貢獻社會,倡議兒童權利,努力推動香港成為「兒童友好城市」。典禮中,青年使者更即場就「港府應列德育及國民教育科為必修科」進行激烈辯論,就他們的切身教育問題爭取發言,為他們今後的重任揭開序幕。 

在新一屆青年使者的小型辯論比賽中,正反雙方勢均力敵,分別釋述了雙方就有關議題的獨到看法。正方辯論員指,年青人需建立其對祖國的認同感,新推出的「德育、公民及國民教育」課程能有效提高學生對國家議題的關注。反方則反駁稱,新課程更應訓練學生以正面的批判思維,關心祖國的發展,不應引導學生單方面了解正面的國家成就,忽略其他方面。

正方主辯孫曉嵐說,「這是一個極具爭議性的重要議題,引起很多青少年不同的意見。我認為這個問題直接影響到今天的青少年,甚至在下一代的兒童,是不容忽視的議題。兒童和年青人是有權利,就他們有切身關係的事情,依遁正確的渠道表達意見的;公眾亦應該聆聽和尊重我們的聲音。」而透過辯論發表青年使者對議題的看法,便正正體現了兒童四權之一的「參與權」。

而聯合國兒童基金香港委員會大使孫耀威先生到場為新一屆青年使者打氣之餘,亦分享了他於09年前往江西贛州山區考察的心得:「最緊要是準備好自己的心,去感受、關心及體驗當地的生活和當地人民日常遇到的問題。」他鼓勵使者「出心」去關懷,多思考,多發問,設身處地去感受當地人的生活。而特意到場支持活動的特別嘉賓王敏德先生則分享了為人父母對香港年輕一代的期望,他認為年輕人學會負責任、有使命感、懂得關心別人是最重要的。他亦鼓勵父母應多聆聽子女的聲音,培養子女就與兒童相關的時事問題多作思考及發表意見,提升子女對家庭及社會事務的參與程度。

今年是聯合國兒童基金香港委員會在港成立25周年的大日子,在過去1/4個世紀中,本會一直為維護全球兒童權利的工作作出努力,並透過教育本港的青少年,裝備他們認識及實踐兒童權利。本會推廣及公共關係委員會委員孔美琪博士表示:「青年使者計劃不只是一個領袖訓練,更加是一個可以為UNICEF在全球超過150個國家及地區持續進行的兒童及婦女福利工作播下強壯種子的黃金機會。」

典禮上,本會大使孫耀威先生、特別嘉賓王敏德先生、本會委員孔美琪博士及計劃主要贊助商AEON信貸財務(亞洲)有限公司董事副總經理黎玉光先生並透過撕開由青年使者親手製造、黑漆漆的香港海岸線,展現出隱藏其下的光明未來,寓意新一屆青年使者將與本會攜手,在未來積極推動香港成為更適合兒童生活的「兒童友好城市」。

40名青年使者將於暑假期間到訪中國山區,親身了解當地人的困苦生活和聯合國兒童基金會在當地的工作。聯合國兒童基金會青年使者計劃於1996年開始舉辦。在過去15年,我們已培訓近800名青年使者,探訪地區包括印尼、亞齊省、菲律賓、柬埔寨、雲南、甘肅、青海、山西等地。