Change for Good raised HK$13.2 million in 2016 to support children in need worldwide

 

Change for Good raised HK$13.2 million in 2016 to support children in need worldwide

1

(Cheque Presentation): Cathay Pacific Chief Executive Officer Mr Rupert Hogg (centre) and Director Customer Mr Simon Large (second from the right) present the 2016 Change for Good donation to UNICEF HK Fundraising Committee Mr David Fong and Chief Executive Ms Jane Lau.

Hong Kong, 7 November 2017 – The Cathay Pacific Group and the Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) today announced that a total of HK$13.2 million was raised from the Change for Good inflight fundraising programme in 2016. Since its launch in Hong Kong, Change for Good has successfully converted spare coins and notes from passengers into life-saving supplies and services to improve the lives of vulnerable children worldwide.

Cathay Pacific has earmarked HK$3.12 million of the total donation in 2016 to support UNICEF’s Schools for Asia programme in China and India. The thematic programme builds on four education pillars – early childhood development, quality learning, equity and education in emergencies. More than HK$10 million will be dedicated to UNICEF’s regular programmes for enhancing the strategic outcomes of health, education, child protection, nutrition, social inclusion, water and sanitation, and HIV/AIDS.

Cathay Pacific Chief Executive Officer Mr Rupert Hogg said, “Since its launch, HK$176 million has been raised through Change for Good, which has been used to improve the lives of a vast number of children around the world. We have been delighted to partner with UNICEF HK and I would like to take this opportunity to thank our passengers for their generosity and our staff, who have supported the programme throughout.”

Mr David Fong, Chairman of UNICEF HK’s Fundraising Committee, said, “We greatly appreciate Cathay Pacific’s long-term support, with their strong commitment to social responsibility and making education available to all. Change for Good represents hope and lasting transformation for children, and it is a significant contributor to UNICEF’s life-saving programmes. I know we can make a real difference for marginalized children, and I sincerely hope that more people can support us through Change for Good.”

Since December 2016, 35 Cathay Pacific staff members, through UNICEF HK’s arrangements, have taken field trips to China, India and Myanmar. In Chongqing, China, some of them visited kindergartens and saw firsthand the differences between schools with and without UNICEF intervention. Through interacting with teachers and students, they learned about how quality education in kindergartens helps children to become more socially confident and equips them with a solid foundation for lifelong learning.

Another group of Cathay Pacific staff members spent five days in Pune, India. UNICEF’s Schools for Asia initiative in India supports a million children across the country through improved information management and monitoring systems of its government programme concerning early childhood education and training support for teachers nationwide.

In Myanmar, Cathay Pacific staff members visited Kayin State, one of the regions most affected by decades of conflict in the country, to learn about the life-threatening issue of landmines and how Myanmar benefits from UNICEF’s regular programmes. The group visited a UNICEF-supported landmine victim assistance centre that provides psychosocial assistance to victims of landmines. They also visited a primary school where mine risk education is conducted, with UNICEF’s support through educational materials and teacher training, to raise children’s awareness of landmine safety, thus reducing the risk of landmine casualties in the long run.

The majority of donations in 2016 were raised in Hong Kong dollars, US dollars, renminbi, New Taiwan dollars and Euros. So far, more than 100 currencies have been collected, reflecting the truly international nature of Change for Good.

Besides helping children worldwide, an average of one month’s proceeds from Change for Good in 2016 will be donated to the Cathay Pacific Wheelchair Bank – an initiative set up in 1996 to improve the mobility of Hongkongers suffering from severe neuromuscular diseases.

IMG_4688

©UNICEF HK/2016

Cathay Pacific staff members visit a child-friendly kindergarten in Chongqing, China in December 2016.

IMG_5956

©UNICEF HK/2017

Cathay Pacific staff members visit India in February 2017 to learn about how UNICEF’s Schools for Asia initiative in India supports early childhood education and training support for teachers.

IMG_6457

© UNICEF HK/2017

In June 2017, Cathay Pacific staff members visit a UNICEF-supported landmine victim assistance centre in Kayin State, Myanmar that provides psychosocial assistance to victims of landmines.

-END-

About Change for Good

Cathay Pacific and UNICEF HK have been running the Change for Good inflight fundraising programme since 1991. Travellers on Cathay Pacific flights are encouraged to donate any spare change they have – in any currency – to UNICEF when returning from their journeys. The money collected is used to fund UNICEF’s programmes helping deprived women and children in more than 190 countries and territories around the world.

For media enquiries, please contact:

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF

Jamie Wong, Communication Specialist                                        Tel : 2836 2967                                         Email: [email protected]

「零錢布施」2016年 籌得1,320萬港元 支援全球弱勢兒童工作

 

「零錢布施」2016年 籌得1,320萬港元 支援全球弱勢兒童工作

1

(支票頒贈儀式)國泰航空公司行政總裁何杲先生(中)與顧客董事羅世民(右二)將2016年「零錢布施」善款支票交予UNICEF HK籌募委員會主席方文雄先生和總幹事劉玉燕女士。

香港,2017年11月7日─國泰航空集團及聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)今天公布,2016年的「零錢布施」機上籌款計劃共籌得近港幣1,320萬元。「零錢布施」於香港成立以來,已成功把機上乘客的零錢捐款轉化為緊急救援物資及服務,改善全球弱勢兒童的生活。

國泰航空將把2016年善款中的港幣312萬元投放於聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)在中國及印度推行的「亞洲學童計劃」,計劃以幼兒發展、平等教育、優質教育和災難中的教育為四大核心範疇。其餘超過港幣1,000萬元善款亦將投入UNICEF的恆常救援項目中,為兒童提供健康、教育、兒童保護、營養、社會共融、食水及衞生和對抗愛滋的支援。

國泰航空公司行政總裁何杲先生表示:「我們很高興與 UNICEF HK合作。自成立已來「零錢布施」已籌得超過港幣1.76億元,支援全球數以百萬計兒童的生活。我希望藉此機會多謝乘客的慷慨,亦很感謝員工一直以來的支持。」

UNICEF HK籌募委員會主席方文雄先生道:「我們感謝國泰航空一直以來的支持並十分欣賞國泰積極履行社會企業責任及致力促進全民教育的熱誠。「零錢布施」不單為兒童帶來希望,它更為UNICEF拯救生命的援助項目注入不少資金。我深信集結大家的力量定必為弱勢兒童帶來正面的改變,所以在此呼籲更多的善長支持『零錢布施』。」

自2016年12月至今,「零錢布施」已安排35名國泰航空員工前往中國、印度及緬甸進行實地考察。其中一組國泰員工到訪了位於中國重慶的兒童友好幼兒園,親身見證UNICEF的支援如何為當地幼兒教育帶來改變。他們更透過與當地師生互動,了解到良好的幼兒教育能幫助幼兒培養自信及打好終生學習的基礎。另一組國泰員工則在印度進行了5天的考察,了解UNICEF在印度的「亞洲學童計劃」如何提升當地官方教育課程的資訊管理及監測系統,以支援全國百萬名兒童的早期幼兒教育及教師訓練。

另一組國泰員工亦深入緬甸一個曾經歷數十年內戰的克倫邦,了解威脅着緬甸平民性命的地雷問題及當地如何受惠於UNICEF的恆常救援項目。當中,他們到訪了由UNICEF協助成立的地雷遇難者支援中心,了解中心為地雷生還者提供基本的社交和心理援助。此外,他們亦參觀了一所正在推行地雷危機教育的小學,了解UNICEF透過提供教材及培訓,長遠借助教育提高學童的風險意識,將地雷的傷亡威脅盡量降低。

2016年的捐款多以港幣、美元、人民幣、新台幣及歐元為主。到目前為上,「零錢布施」已收集超過100款來自不同國家的貨幣,反映計劃具國際性。

此外,「零錢布施」會從2016年籌得的善款中,撥出相當於約1個月的善款予1996年成立的「國泰愛心兒童輪椅庫」,為本港患有嚴重神經肌肉疾病的兒童提供合適輪椅。

IMG_4688

©UNICEF HK/2016

國泰航空員工於2016年12月到訪位於中國重慶的兒童友好幼兒園。

IMG_5956

©UNICEF HK/2017

國泰航空員工於2017年2月到訪印度,了解UNICEF在印度的「亞洲學童計劃」如何支援當地兒童的早期幼兒教育及教師訓練。

IMG_6457

© UNICEF HK/2017

國泰航空員工於2017年6月深入緬甸的克倫邦,到訪了由UNICEF協助成立的地雷遇難者支援中心,了解中心為地雷生還者提供基本的社交和心理援助。

-完-

關於「零錢布施」機上籌款計劃

國泰航空及UNICEF HK於1991年開始合辦「零錢布施」機上籌款計劃,在國泰航機上呼籲乘客捐出剩餘的外幣零錢,以幫助全球超過190個國家和地區的婦女及兒童。

傳媒詢,請聯絡:

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會

高級傳訊主任黃穎祺(Jamie Wong)                                        電話:2836 2967                                        電郵:[email protected]