Children affected by floods in Laos need urgent support

 

Children affected by floods in Laos need urgent support

Children stand outside their home in Adone village. Ta Oi district, Saravane province, Lao PDR.

© UNICEF/UNI182710/Noorani

UNICEF and partners working to save lives and meet urgent needs of most vulnerable children

Vientiane, Lao PDR, 25 July 2018 – UNICEF is working with the Government of Lao PDR and development partners to provide essential support and services to around 6,331 people, including children, affected by the floods in Attapeu province (Southern Laos).

“We are deeply saddened by the news in Attapeu. It is imperative that we meet urgent humanitarian needs and ensure the safety of children and families who have been displaced by the floods,” said Octavian Bivol, UNICEF Representative in Lao PDR. “Based on a primary assessment conducted by the Government, there are more than 1,300 families that urgently need tents for emergency shelter and other non-food Items such as family kits and personal hygiene kits.”

Under the leadership of the Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs, the National Disaster Prevention and Control Committee, and in coordination with other UN agencies, UNICEF is releasing immediate support for about 1,500 households through the provision of water, sanitation and hygiene supplies which will reach the affected communities within the next 24-48 hours.

UNICEF is working closely with local authorities and other partners to determine the most urgent needs and is deploying a team to support immediate relief efforts over the next few hours and the coming days.

受水災影響的老撾兒童需要緊急的援助

 

受水災影響的老撾兒童需要緊急的援助

Children stand outside their home in Adone village. Ta Oi district, Saravane province, Lao PDR.

© UNICEF/UNI182710/Noorani

聯合國兒童基金會及其合作伙伴致力幫助最有需要的兒童和拯救他們的生

萬象,老撾人民民主共和國/香港,2018725– 聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)正與老撾政府和其他發展伙伴合作,為大約6,331人提供必要的支援和服務,當中包括在阿速坡省(位於老撾南部)受影響的兒童。

「我們對於阿速坡省的消息感到十分難過。解決緊急的人道需求和保護那些因水災而流離失所的兒童和他們的家人是刻不容緩的事。」UNICEF駐老撾代表比復爾(Octavian Bivol)表示,「根據一項政府作出的評估,當地有超過1,300個家庭迫切需要帳篷作為緊急庇護處,還有其他非糧食物品,如家庭百寶盒和個人衞生裝備。

在勞動和社會事務部的領導下,UNICEF與國家災害預防及控制局和其他聯合國機構合作,現為1,500個家庭發放即時的援助。在未來24-48小時,供水和衛生設備均會送達受影響的群眾。

UNICEF正與地方當局及其他合作伙伴緊密合作以確認現時最迫切的需要,並將於這數小時和未來數天調派團隊到當地協助即時的救援行動。