Children in Afghanistan struggle to access education and healthcare

 

Children in Afghanistan struggle to access education and healthcare

On 29 October 2015 in Afghanistan, Gul Chahra, 30, washes clothes outside as her daughter Khalesa, 3, sits beside her Kashaktan village, Farkhar district, northern Takhar Province.  Many families have been forced to live outdoors.  As freezing temperatures set in, families must rebuild as fast as possible.

A 7.5 magnitude earthquake struck Afghanistan and Pakistan on 26 October 2015, leaving a trail of destruction and death.  As more information is collected from remote areas, the death toll is rising.  As of 28 October 2015, the death toll stands at over 250, with close to 1,900 persons injured.  Nearly half of them are children.  Over 16,000 homes and 230 schools have been damaged.  Aid delivery and social services are hampered by damages to road infrastructure.

© UNICEF/UNI199945/Ashna – Three-year-old Khalesa and her mother in northern Afghanistan.

KABUL, Afghanistan/HONG KONG, 18 April 2016 – Children in Afghanistan increasingly struggle to access healthcare and education, the UN said in the report released today, ‘Education and Healthcare at Risk – Key trends and incidents affecting children’s access to healthcare and education in Afghanistan.’

Jointly produced by the United Nations Assistance Mission in Afghanistan (UNAMA) and UNICEF, the report documents how conflict-related violence, threats and intimidation by all parties to the conflict harmed health and education personnel, reduced the availability of healthcare, and limited children’s access to essential health and education services. The report covers the three-year period, 1 January 2013 to 31 December 2015.

“The report’s findings are deeply troubling. It is simply unacceptable for teachers, doctors and nurses to be subjected to violence or threats, and for schools and medical facilities to be misused or attacked,” said Nicholas Haysom, the UN Secretary-General’s Special Representative for Afghanistan, “All parties must take measures to protect education and health services in Afghanistan.”

In 2015 UNAMA and UNICEF documented 125 incidents affecting access to healthcare, compared to 59 in 2014, including 20 health workers killed, 43 injured and 66 abducted. 132 conflict-related incidents affecting access to education and education-related personnel were also documented, including 11 education personnel killed, 15 injured and 49 abducted. This was a sharp increase over 2014 figures.

Of the 257 incidents documented in 2015, the majority comprised of threats and intimidation, an increase of 182 per cent compared to 2014. Acts of threats and intimidation included: death threats; assaults of health and education personnel; forced closures of schools; letters prohibiting school attendance, particularly against girls; extortion and other harmful acts. UNAMA and UNICEF also documented incidents of improvised explosive devices detonated near schools and clinics, killing and injuring healthcare and education personnel.

“In 2015 children increasingly struggled to access health and education services in Afghanistan due to insecurity and conflict-related violence, further exacerbated by high levels of chronic poverty throughout the country,” said Akhil Iyer, UNICEF Representative in Afghanistan.

Conflict-related violence resulted in the partial or complete closure of more than 369 schools in 2015, affecting more than 139,000 students and 600 teachers.

The report highlights the particular vulnerabilities faced by girls, noting attacks, threats and explicit prohibitions imposed to restrict girls’ education.

“Conflict-related violence not only puts Afghan children at risk of harm, but also limits their fundamental rights to education and healthcare,” said Danielle Bell, UNAMA Human Rights Director. “Efforts must be redoubled to enable children – particularly girls – free and safe access to medical services and education.”

The report addresses a number of recommendations to all parties to the conflict so as to enable children’s unimpeded access to education and healthcare.

阿富汗兒童渴望得到教育與醫療服務

 

阿富汗兒童渴望得到教育與醫療服務

On 29 October 2015 in Afghanistan, Gul Chahra, 30, washes clothes outside as her daughter Khalesa, 3, sits beside her Kashaktan village, Farkhar district, northern Takhar Province.  Many families have been forced to live outdoors.  As freezing temperatures set in, families must rebuild as fast as possible.

A 7.5 magnitude earthquake struck Afghanistan and Pakistan on 26 October 2015, leaving a trail of destruction and death.  As more information is collected from remote areas, the death toll is rising.  As of 28 October 2015, the death toll stands at over 250, with close to 1,900 persons injured.  Nearly half of them are children.  Over 16,000 homes and 230 schools have been damaged.  Aid delivery and social services are hampered by damages to road infrastructure.

© UNICEF/UNI199945/Ashna – 住在阿富汗北部的3歲Khalesa和她的母親。

阿富汗喀布爾/香港,2016418據聯合國今日發表的《教育與醫療服務面臨風險——影響阿富汗兒童獲得醫療服務及教育的主要趨勢與因素》報告(只提供英文版本)指出,阿富汗兒童對醫療服務及教育需求日趨增加。

報告由聯合國阿富汗援助團(UNAMA)及聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)聯合發佈,研究衝突中交戰各方帶來的暴力、威脅與脅迫如何對醫療及教育造成負面影響,以致減少醫療服務觸及範圍及限制兒童獲得相關社會福利。報告就2013年1月1日至2015年12月31日期間的情況進行研究。

聯合國秘書長阿富汗事務特別代表海索姆(Nicholas Haysom)表示:「研究結果讓我們十分不安——教師及醫護人員難以接受自己容易遭受暴力或威脅影響,以及學校和醫療設施被誤用或受襲擊。交戰各方需要採取行動,保護阿富汗的教育及醫療設施。」

在2015年,UNAMA及UNICEF共有125項影響醫療服務的個案紀錄,包括20宗醫護人員被殺、43宗受傷個案及66宗被綁架個案,而2014年則有59宗紀錄。另有132宗影響教育工作者的紀錄,包括11宗教育工作者被殺、15宗受傷及49宗被綁架個案。與2014年數字相比,2015年有明顯增幅。

在2015年的257宗個案紀錄中,大部分包含恐嚇與威脅,比2014年的多182%。恐嚇與威脅行為包括:恐嚇會被殺死當事人、襲擊醫療及教育人員、強制關閉學校、要求學生停止上課,尤其是女生,以及其他威脅手段。據UNAMA及UNICEF紀錄,炸彈亦曾於學校及診所附近被引爆,造成醫療及教育人員傷亡。

UNICEF駐阿富汗代表艾耶(Akhil Iyer)指:「在2015年,由於時局不穩及衝突帶來的暴力,阿富汗國內嚴重貧窮情況更加惡化,阿富汗兒童對醫療服務及教育的需求日益上升。」

由於衝突頻仍,2015年逾369間學校被逼全面或部分關閉,影響逾13.9萬學生及600名教師。報告亦提及女童在風險中更顯脆弱,她們遭到襲擊、威脅,亦被禁接受教育。

聯合國阿富汗援助團人權事務負責人貝爾(Danielle Bell)表示:「衝突導致的暴力不僅使阿富汗兒童面對受到傷害的威脅,更限制兒童接受醫療服務及教育的基本權利。各國需加倍努力,使兒童,特別是女童能夠自由而安全地獲得醫療服務與教育權利。」

報告針對衝突中交戰各方提出多項建議,希望可以確保當地兒童在得到教育及醫療服務時不會受到阻礙。