Children on the move from Africa do not first aim to go to Europe, new UNICEF study shows

 

Children on the move from Africa do not first aim to go to Europe, new UNICEF study shows

Webp.net-resizeimage (1)

© UNICEF/Romenzi

Congolese refugee Tsunon, 12, plays on the rooftop of her family’s home as her sister Christelle, 15, sits nearby in Janzour, Libya.

Vast majority leave home alone without their parents’ knowledge and flee because of trouble at home

GENEVA, HONG KONG, 25 July 2017 – Children on the move into Europe from Africa take the decision to leave home on their own and do not initially intend to go to Europe. For the majority the systematic trauma and abuse they witnessed or suffered in Libya caused them to flee to Europe and take the terrifying Central Mediterranean sea route, according to a new study commissioned by UNICEF and carried out by REACH.

As many as 75 per cent of the refugee and migrant children interviewed in Italy as part of the study, took the decision to embark on the journey alone. The journey itself can take a staggering two years or more for children. One of the key reasons children give for leaving home was violence at home but also deprivation and conflict. Child marriage was also reported as the main reason for leaving by 1 in 5 of all girls interviewed. Children’s journeys to Europe were often fragmented and their destination changed along the way.

“What is striking about this study is it shows for the first time that there are overwhelmingly far more reasons that push children to leave their homes, than has been previously understood, and fewer pull factors that lure them to Europe,” said Afshan Khan UNICEF Regional Director for Europe and Central Asia.

The aim of the study, a partnership between UNICEF and REACH, is to provide decision makers, partners and governments with evidence on what drives children to flee their countries and homes. The interviews were conducted in the two main gateways into Europe – Italy and Greece – with a total 850 children, between the ages of 15 and 17 years old.

Refugee and migrant children in Italy unanimously reported their time in Libya as the most traumatising part of their journey on land. Almost half of them (47 per cent) reported to have been kidnapped for ransom in Libya, and one in four children (23 per cent) reported to have been arbitrarily arrested and held in prison without charges. The majority come from various countries in sub-Saharan Africa but some are from as far afield as Bangladesh.

“For those who did aim to come to the continent, the allure of Europe was the chance of furthering their education, respect for their rights and getting ahead in life. However once they reach Europe the reality is sadly quite different and their expectations are shattered,” said UNICEF’s Afshan Khan.

In Greece the survey showed that one in three parents or caretakers said that seeking education for their children was the main reason they left their countries for Europe. However the survey of refugee and migrant children revealed that lengthy procedures and confusion about their rights have led to many children dropping out of the Italian and Greek reception systems, losing out on education and exposing them to high risks of abuse and exploitation.Of the 12,239 children who arrived in Italy in the first six months of this year, 93 per cent travelled alone.

Of the 12,239 children who arrived in Italy in the first six months of this year, 93 per cent travelled alone.

聯合國兒童基金會報告顯示 非洲移徙兒童非自願前往歐洲

 

聯合國兒童基金會報告顯示 非洲移徙兒童非自願前往歐洲

Webp.net-resizeimage (1)

© UNICEF/Romenzi

12歲的剛果難民Tsunon,正與她的15歲姐姐Christelle在屋頂上玩耍。

大多數人都是因為家中有困難在沒有父母教授知識的情況下獨自逃離

日內瓦/香港,2017年7月25日- 聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)最新報告顯示,從非洲遷入歐洲的兒童當初決定自己離開家園,但並不打算去歐洲。可是由於他們在利比亞曾目睹或遭受的創傷和虐待迫使他們冒險經過地中海海路,逃往歐洲。

報告指出,75%的受訪意大利難民和移民兒童決定獨自開始旅程。旅途本身對於兒童來說可能需要兩年以上的時間。家庭暴力是導致兒童離開家園的關鍵原因之一,剝削和衝突也是其中原因。5名受訪女童中,有1名離開的主要原因是童婚。兒童在歐洲的旅程中分散,他們的命運亦會隨着沿途改變。

UNICEF 歐洲和中亞地區總監Afshan Khan表示:「報告最令人震驚的是兒童離開家園的原因遠遠超過以前了解的原因,而且吸引他們到歐洲的因素亦減少。」

報告研究的目的是透過UNICEF與REACH的合作,為決策者、合作伙伴和政府提供兒童逃離家園原因。訪問主要於歐洲的意大利和希臘進行,訪問對象為850名15至17歲的兒童。

意大利的難民和移民兒童一致報告了他們在利比亞的時間是他們在陸地旅程中受最多創傷的時間。接近一半兒童(47%)在利比亞遭劫持,4名中有1名兒童(23%)被拘留並被關在監獄內。他們大多數來自撒哈拉以南的非洲國家,有些甚至來自孟加拉國。

Afshan Khan表示,「對於那些希望來歐洲的人來說,歐洲給予他們進一步教育,尊重他們的權利和領先生活的機會。不過,到達歐洲後,他們便發現歐洲的現實情況與他們的期望有很大的落差。」

調查顯示,希臘3名父母或看護人士中有1名認為為子女尋求教育是造成遷徙至歐洲國家的主要原因。然而,難民和移民兒童的調查顯示,漫長的程序和對他們權利的混淆導致許多兒童放棄遷徙至意大利和希臘,使他們失去教育,也面臨虐待和被剝削的風險。

今年首半年抵達意大利的12,239名兒童中,有93%是獨自遷徙的。