Disparity in access to drinking water reaches up to 70 per cent in urban UNICEF calls for more investment to help children left behind by prosperity

 

Disparity in access to drinking water reaches up to 70 per cent in urban UNICEF calls for more investment to help children left behind by prosperity

State of the World's Children 2012 cover. English.

NEW YORK/ HONG KONG, 28 February 2012 – Urbanisation leaves hundreds of millions of children in cities and towns excluded from vital services, UNICEF warns in The State of the World’s Children 2012: Children in an Urban World, its flagship publication. UNICEF thus calls for more investment in urban areas to help children left behind by prosperity. The Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) also hopes that children in Hong Kong and China can be the centre of the government’s policies, helping the most marginalised children access to improved social services.

The report says, there are over 3.5 billion urban population worldwide in 2010 and of which it is estimated more than 1 billion are children. Children born in cities already account for 60 per cent of the increase in urban population and in a few years, the majority of children will grow up in towns or cities rather than in rural areas.

Cities offer many children the advantages of urban schools, clinics and playgrounds. Yet the same cities the world over are also the settings for some of the greatest disparities in children’s health, education and opportunities. Infrastructure and services are not keeping up with urban growth in many regions and children’s basic needs are not being met. In Madagascar, the difference between access to improved water among the poorest quintile of urban households and that for wealthiest quintile reaches 70 per cent.

Furthermore, children in low-income urban communities also face more urban challenges. They suffer the effects of air pollution, including respiratory infections, asthma and lead poisoning due to poor living environment. Studies in the United States show that chronic exposure to high levels of air toxins occurs disproportionately in poor urban communities settled by people of minority races. Every year polluted indoor air is responsible for almost 2 million deaths, almost half due to pneumonia, among children under 5.

“When we think of poverty, the image that traditionally comes to mind is that of a child in a rural village,” said UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake. “But today, an increasing number of children living in slums and shantytowns are among the most disadvantaged and vulnerable in the world, deprived of the most basic services and denied the right to thrive.”

Urban challenges in China – Migrant Children

Right now half of the world’s urban population is in Asia, and with an annual growth of 60 million, it is estimated that urban population will reach 6.3 billion people by 2050, of which 54 per cent population comes from Asia.

China, having an urban population of around 630 million, which represents 47 per cent of the total population, also reflects a rapidly changing world. Almost a tenth of China’s child population, 27.3 million, are migrant children, who or whose families migrate to city with a hope to escape from poverty.

Migrant children face challenges of what the local children seem to know from birth, for example, the meaning of a yellow traffic light. Road accidents are the second largest cause of injury death among children in China and many of the affected are migrant children. A special life skills programme was designed and funded by UNICEF China to help migrant children adapt urban life.

Making cities fit for children

The deprivations endured by children in poor urban communities are often obscured by broad statistical averages that lump together all city dwellers – rich and poor alike. When averages such as these are used in making urban policy and allocating resources, the needs of the poorest can be overlooked.

In this sense, a focus on equity is crucial – one in which priority is given to the most disadvantaged children wherever they live. The report also calls for greater recognition of community-based efforts to tackle urban poverty.

Widening disparity between the rich and the poor and deteriorating air quality still remain the alarming problems in Hong Kong. As 2012 Chief Executive Election has come to a head, UNCEF HK is calling for all candidates to put children at the heart of urban planning and to extend and improve services for all in their election platforms.

“We must invest more in balanced urban development, focusing greater attention on providing services to the children in greatest need,” Ms Irene Chan, Chief Executive of UNICEF HK said, “by doing this, we are promoting child friendly city, giving the chance to children to reach their full potential, and also the society of having a more well-educated healthy urban population.”

At the global level, UNICEF and the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) have worked together for 15 years on the Child-Friendly Cities Initiative building partnerships to put children at the centre of the urban agenda and to provide services and create protected areas so children can have the safer and healthier childhoods they deserve.

Please click here to read the full report
Please click here to download the photos in the press release

貧困與富裕家庭兒童取得改善水資源的比率差近7成 聯合國兒童基金會呼籲投放更多資源 幫助被邊緣化的城市兒童

 

貧困與富裕家庭兒童取得改善水資源的比率差近7成 聯合國兒童基金會呼籲投放更多資源 幫助被邊緣化的城市兒童

新聞稿 12:00
State of the World's Children 2012 cover. English.
紐約/香港,2012年2月28日——聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)今日發佈旗艦報告——《2012年世界兒童狀況報告:城市化進程中的兒童》,提醒急速城市發展下,數以億計居住在城市的兒童仍未能獲取基本生活所需。UNICEF呼籲各界投放更多資源,幫助被邊緣化的城市兒童。聯合國兒童基金香港委員會亦促請本港及中國政府在施行政策時多關注城市兒童狀況,讓現時被忽略一群也能獲得良好的社會服務,分享城市發展的成果。

報告指出,在2010年全球有達35億城市人口,當中包括10億名兒童。在城市出生的兒童足佔城市人口增長的60%,未來數年,預計將會有更多兒童會在城市地區出生及成長。

城市為兒童提供學校、醫療及康樂設施,但分配並不平均,部分城市兒童即使住在這些設施附近,亦未能獲取更好的醫療保障、教育及發展機會。而且,城市發展的步伐亦未能跟上城市人口增長的速度,不少城市裡的社會基建及服務仍然落後,導致兒童無法獲取基本生活所需。以非洲馬達加斯加為例,城市最貧窮與最富裕地區在獲取改善食水資源比率的差距高達70%。

在城市中,居住在貧困社區的兒童所承受的城市問題也就更大。有研究顯示,在美國,少數民族聚居的貧民區中,空氣污染尤其嚴重,兒童較易患上呼吸道感染、哮喘、鉛中毒等疾病。據統計,室內空氣污染平均每年在全球奪去200萬條性命,當中超過一半5歲或以下死亡的兒童個案是因肺炎而起。

「說到貧窮,很多人第一時間聯想到在窮鄉僻壤生活的兒童,」UNICEF執行主任安東尼.雷克表示:「但在今天,城市中的貧民窟及棚屋區也是全球不少最貧困、最脆弱兒童的容身之所,他們同樣缺乏生活必須的設施及服務,他們的生存及成長的權利也同樣受到漠視。」

中國流動兒童——城市化下的挑戰

全球城市人口每年增長達6,000萬,當中一半在亞洲地區,預計至2050年,全球城市人口將高達63億,亞洲的比例將升至54%。中國現時的城市人口有近6.3億,佔總人口的47%,當中包括2,730萬名流動兒童,每10名兒童中,就有1名為流動兒童。 這些流動兒童及其家庭抱著脫貧的希望,搬到城市居住,但生活未必可以得到改善。

不少流動兒童都未能適應城市的生活,例如不明白黃色交通燈號的意思。而道路交通意外在中國就是第二大兒童傷亡元兇,每年均奪去不少流動兒童的性命。UNICEF駐中國辦事處遂設計了一套生活技能課程,幫助更多流動兒童適應城市生活。

共建兒童友好城市

一般着眼平均數的統計,並未能反映社會真正的分配情況,以這些數據作為城市政策及分配資源的參考指標,容易忽略最貧困社群的真正需要。因此,以「均衡為本」制訂的政策方針至為重要,並可給予弱勢兒童優先的關注,此外,UNICEF亦在報告中提出各地政府宜採取「社區為本」的策略,以更好地解決城市貧窮問題。

2012年行政長官選舉如箭在弦,聯合國兒童基金香港委員會呼籲各個特首候選人在檢視政綱之際,必需將兒童置在城市規劃的核心,改善貧富差距、空氣污染等問題。「我們必需投放更多資源確保均衡的城市發展,幫助最有需要的兒童。」總幹事陳文端女士表示:「這樣不僅可以推動香港成為兒童友好城市,也給兒童發展潛能的機會,優化城市人口、擴大社會教育層面的良策。」

在國際層面上, UNICEF亦將繼續開展與聯合國人類住區規劃署共同推動達15年的「兒童友好城市」項目,與各國政府合作推廣以兒童為核心的城市規劃,給兒童適切的服務,讓他們在受保護的環境下度過更安穩、更健康的童年。

按此閱讀報告全文(只提供英文版本)
按此下載新聞稿照片