Feature story: Baby Kowsar in Somalia

 

Feature story: Baby Kowsar in Somalia

Global News 00:14
Kowsar_1 Fadumo and her family originally lived in Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia. Under the threat of brutal armed force and incessant conflicts, they lived in daily fear of attack. Uneasiness still lurks in Fadumo’s mind every time she sees her big scar in the cease of her elbow. She recalls, ‘I was caught in the cross fire in Mogadishu and hit by a sporadic bullet, I was too scared to stay.’In order to keep her eight children safe, Fadumo resorted to leave her home and made a long and harsh trek to the refugee camp in Galkayo, the centre of Somalia, despite that she was pregnant with Kowsar.
Time flies, baby Kowsar is now 17 months old. Yet due to the lack of food, Kowsar looks smaller than she should be. Coupled with a poor habitat, Kowsar has an excessive cough and diarrhoea. UNICEF offers Fadumo a couple of Oral Rehydration Sachets for relief of dehydration caused by diarrhoea, and sets up mobile child and mother care teams in camp to provide medicines and vaccinations to Kowsar and other 1.2 million children up and down the country. Kowsar_2

Conflict continues to maim and kill, thus refugee camps are no longer temporary residences, but becoming more and more permanent, to Fadumo and many families. Fadumo doesn’t know when she and her children will leave the camp. ‘I hope my children will study and lead a better life in the future,’ says Fadumo.

‘This life is a tough life,’ she says, ‘I think UNICEF will help my child’.

特寫故事:索馬里小女嬰Kowsar

 

特寫故事:索馬里小女嬰Kowsar

國際消息 00:14
Kowsar_1 Fadumo一家本紮根於索馬里首都摩加迪沙,當地武裝分子猖獗,暴力衝突頻繁。Fadumo每次看見自己手肘內那道永不磨滅的傷痕,仍猶有餘悸。她憶述:「當時我正遇上雙方駁火,不幸被流彈擊中受傷,我害怕得要命。」爲了讓孩子能在安全的環境下成長,即時當時正懷著女兒Kowsar,Fadumo亦不惜帶著8名子女,放棄自己的家園,越過重重障礙,逃到位於索馬里中部的城鎮—加爾卡路。
轉眼間,Fadumo的女兒Kowsar已經17個月大,但由於沒有足夠糧食,Kowsar長得遠比同齡兒童細小。加上生活環境惡劣,Kowsar時常咳嗽和腹瀉。幸好有聯合國兒童基金 (UNICEF)派發口服防脫水鹽,才得以紓緩腹瀉時的脫水情況。UNICEF亦在營中開設流動母嬰健康醫療小組,為Kowsar以至索馬里全國120萬名兒童提供醫療藥物及接種疫苗。 Kowsar_2

外間形勢持續險峻,不少難民已把難民營看作長期的住所,而非臨時收容所。Fadumo也不知何年何月才能跟兒女離開這個難民營。她感嘆:「我別無他想,只希望孩子們有機會學習,日後能過更好的生活。」

「孩子們現在活得太苦了」,Fadumo說,「但我深信UNICEF會扶助孩子們」。