The first-ever appointment of an athlete, Mr Wong Kam-po, as HKCU Ambassador Leading local youth to advocate for children’s rights

 

The first-ever appointment of an athlete, Mr Wong Kam-po, as HKCU Ambassador Leading local youth to advocate for children’s rights

SONY DSC
HONG KONG, 17 July 2011 – Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (HKCU) has officially appointed the Hong Kong’s best cyclist, Mr Wong Kam-po as the HKCU Ambassador today, which was the first-ever appointment of an athlete over the past 25 years. Mr Wong Kam-po will support HKCU to advocate for issues and struggles faced by the world’s children to governments, businesses and the public, as well as to promote the global initiatives of UNICEF with an aim to develop Hong Kong to be a “Child-friendly City”.

Since 1954, UNICEF has been appointing Goodwill Ambassadors around the world. For more than half a century, UNICEF’s goodwill ambassadors have helped to protect the rights and improve the lives of children and women around the world. UNICEF’s work has been widely enriched by their connection, influence and utmost support. HKCU thus appointed Mr Leon Lai as the first HKCU Ambassador in 1994.

Mr Wong Kam-po was appointed the HKCU Ambassador today after receiving a certificate of appointment from Ms Judy Chen, Chairman of HKCU, in the presence of Ms Leonie Ki, Chairman of the Advocacy and Public Relations Committee of HKCU and Ms Irene Chan, Chief Executive of HKCU.  Being the first Ambassador from the sports arena, Mr. Wong Kam-po marks a new chapter of HKCU.

“Every UNICEF Ambassador needs to take on an uphill task”, said Ms Judy Chen, Chairman of HKCU in her welcoming speech.”Mr Wong Kam-po joined the Hong Kong cycling team at his teenage and won numerous world sports awards. His stories of hardship are not only on everyone’s lips in Hong Kong but also Chinese all over the world. His all-out efforts have gained the entire recognition from us.  We hope ‘Ah Po’ can further promote the missions of UNICEF to the public by his unique appeal.”

Ms Leonie Ki, Chairman of the Advocacy and Public Relations Committee of HKCU said in the appointment ceremony, “Mr Wong Kam-po is not only our pride, but also the role model for teenagers and the general public of Hong Kong.” She expressed words of encouragement to UNICEF Young Envoys, “Just like the racing career of “Ah Po”, the road ahead for children is certainly full of challenges and difficulties. However, we must not lose our faith. Let’s learn from “Ah Po”, taking the bull by the horns and striding towards our goals!”

“Team work is the spirit of sport, during which we must never give up and adhere to goals with determination. We all have to go through this in the games and sport is the easiest way to attain happiness”. The newly appointed ambassador said with a smile, “Sport is the best training for teenagers, I hope I can encourage more young people to take part in sport and I will fully impart my knowledge and experience to them, to let them truly realise that simplicity is happiness.

About 20 UNICEF Young Envoys 2011 will head for the Yulong County in Yunnan Province tomorrow for a 6-day field visit. Yunnan Province is home to many ethnic minorities, UNICEF Young Envoys will pay a home visit to the ethnic groups in order to gain a better understanding of UNICEF’s parenting education project there, to learn how UNICEF help strengthen parent-child relationship and provide an appropriate growing environment for children among the ethnic minorities.

HKCU Ambassador, Mr Wong Kam-po often goes to Yunnan Province for his training, he took the opportunity to share with the Young Envoys his thoughts to get along with the ethnic minorities. “It’s actually very simple to get along with the ethnic minorities. Although you may not communicate well with languages, they will treat you as one of them as long as we treat them with sincerity.”

At the end of the ceremony, about 20 Young Envoys presented a card of appreciation to Mr Wong Kam-po to welcome him abroad to HKCU and wish him every success in the coming Olympic Games. The picture in the card showed that “Ah Po” will join hands with HKCU, leading the Young Envoys to promote Hong Kong as a “Child-friendly City”.

Mr Wong Kam-po, BBS, MH, born on the 3 March 1973, joined the Hong Kong cycling team in 1990. He won 3 gold medals in Asian Games (Road Race), 3 gold and 2 bronze medals in 4 National Games of the People’s Republic of China. He also won “Hong Kong Sports stars Award” for 8 times and was the “Ten Outstanding Young Persons Awardee” in 2007. In March of 2007, he was the World Championships of the 1st Scratch Race. Gaining a lot of achievements for the sports circle in Hong Kong, Mr Wong Kam-po is greatly admired by Hong Kong people and has taken a leadership position among Chinese riders over the past years and earned the fame of “God of cycling racing in Asia”.

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會打開25年傳統 委任首位體壇名將大使黃金寶 率領全港青少年倡議兒童權利

 

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會打開25年傳統 委任首位體壇名將大使黃金寶 率領全港青少年倡議兒童權利

新聞稿 12:00
SONY DSC
香港,2011年7月17日——聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(HKCU)今日正式委任香港首席單車手黃金寶先生為聯合國兒童基金香港委員會大使,是本會創會25年來首次委任體壇名將為大 使。黃金寶先生將從此履行為HKCU向本港政府、商界及公眾倡議兒童權利,協助本會宣傳聯合國兒童基金會的國際性項目等的職責,並與HKCU攜手為締造香港成為一個更適合兒童居住的理想城市而努力。

聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)的親善大使委任制度始於1954。在過去的大半個世紀,UNICEF一直得到一班在本地以至國際間有份量、具影響力、且有善心的社會知名人士支持,擔任各地的義務親善大使,協助UNICEF在世界各地保護兒童權利的工作,及改善發展中國家婦女及兒童的生活。而HKCU就在1994年,委任了黎明先生為本會首位聯合國兒童基金香港委員會大使。

今日,黃金寶先生在HKCU推廣及公共關係委員會主席紀文鳳女士及總幹事陳文端女士的見證下,在主席陳晴女士手上接過委任狀,亦正式獲委任為聯合國兒童基金香港委員會大使,更是HKCU至今創會25年來,唯一一位來自體壇的大使,為本會大使委任歷史翻開了新的一頁。

「作為聯合國兒童基金會的大使,可以說是任重而道遠的。」HKCU主席陳晴女士致歡迎辭時表示:「黃金寶先生由年少加入港隊,以至在國際體壇取得驕人成績,他的奮鬥事跡,我們每一個港人甚至是華人,都非常熟悉,他的努力是我們大家都認同的。希望隨着阿寶的加入,靠助他的獨有的感染力,可以將聯合國兒童基金會的理念進一步推廣給更多市民大眾認識。」

HKCU推廣及公共關係委員會主席紀文鳳女士在委任禮上亦指出:「黃金寶先生不單止是比黃金還要珍貴的寶貝,而且是香港青少年及香港人的典範。」她並勉勵一眾青年使者說:「你們在倡議兒童權利的路途上,肯定與阿寶哥哥的單車生涯一樣,充滿荊棘與挑戰,緊記大家千萬不可以輕易氣餒,要學習阿寶哥哥不畏艱辛,向着目標進發!」

「運動的精神講求團隊合作,不放棄,認定目標,向着標杆直跑,這是運動必經的歷程,也是我們獲取快樂最簡單的方法。」新委任的HKCU大使黃金寶先生笑言,「運動是鍛鍊年輕人最好的良方,我希望鼓勵更多青少年參與運動,將我在運動中得到的歷練全部傳授予年輕人,藉此使他們也可從運動中領略到簡單就是快樂的道理。」

另外,約20名聯合國兒童基金會青年使者2011將於明天,起程前往雲南省麗江市玉龍縣,展開一連6天的考察之旅。雲南是眾多少數民族聚居的地方,青年使者將親訪當地的小數民族家庭,了解UNICEF如何透過推行家庭教育項目,提升少數民族的親子關係,為兒童提供更適合的成長環境。

經常到雲南集訓的HKCU大使黃金寶,在典禮上向一眾即將踏上考察征途的青年使者餞行,並分享了一些與雲南家庭相處的錦囊。「與雲南小數民族家庭接觸,絕對毋需複雜,即使大家言語未必溝通得來,只要以誠相對,他們就會視你如一家人。」

約20位青年使者在委任典禮上就親手向黃金寶送上一張簽滿名字的心意卡,歡迎阿寶加入HKCU及為阿寶迎戰奧運打氣,而卡上的圖畫更象徵阿寶將帶領一眾青年使者並與聯合國兒童基金會攜手,努力推動香港成為「兒童友好城市」。

 

黃金寶先生, BBS, MH,生於1973年3月13日。1990年加入港隊受訓,開展其單車運動員生涯。至今已3度奪得亞運會公路單車項目金牌、在4屆全運會收穫3金2銅的成續、8度獲選為「香港傑出運動員」,期後更在2007年3月在西班牙舉行的世界場地單車錦標賽男子捕捉賽中勇奪冠軍,獲頒彩虹戰衣,成為首名獲得世界單車賽冠軍的華人,同年並獲選為香港十大傑出青年。多年來,他不但為香港體壇創造不少佳績,更在華人單車手中穩佔領先位置,深受港人愛戴,被譽為「亞洲車神」及「單車王子」。