Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF Announces New Office Bearers of the Council

 

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF Announces New Office Bearers of the Council

43

HONG KONG, 28 September 2011 — Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (HKCU) is pleased to announce new office bearers of the Council for the period of 2011 – 2012. Judy Chen continues to serve as Chairman of HKCU; Leonie Ki and Johnny Ng were appointed Vice Chairmen of the Council; Joseph Yu was appointed Treasurer; and Julian Chow was elected again as the Secretary.

Judy has been leading the Council and staff members to break new ground for HKCU since her appointment as Chairman in October 2010. Under her leadership, HKCU has successfully aroused public attention on children’s rights and the immense need to help deprived children in the world through a series of 25th Anniversary programmes. Judy joined the Council of HKCU in 2004 and has been instrumental in contributing to the development of HKCU through her active involvement in the Regular Fundraising and Advocacy & Public Relations Committees.

“I am honored to take up the chairmanship of the Council again. My heartfelt thanks to each and every fellow member in the Council and dedicated staff member of HKCU for their wholehearted efforts to make the impossible possible in 2011. Besides, I must take this opportunity to specially thank two recently retired Council Members, Vivien Chan and Jean Wong for their dedicated long service and tireless support to HKCU over the years with HKCU. I look forward to their continued support to UNICEF.” said Judy Chen, Chairman of the Council of HKCU.

“This year, we are thrilled to have new members joining the Council to broaden our expertise in serving children in need. The road ahead for children is still challenging.  Thus, we need this additional force to further the betterment of world’s children, especially to reach the unreachable, most vulnerable, and neediest ones.” Judy continued. “We endeavor to put our full efforts to make a big and positive difference to children in need.”

The Council also welcomed 4 new members including Au King-chi, Margaret Coates, May Chiu, and Dr Maurice Leung who bring a full breath of expertise in corporate, social, health and legal sectors to support UNICEF worldwide programmes. On the other hand, Vivien Chan and Jean Wong announced their retirement after serving the Council for 25 and 20 years respectively.

 

A full list of members of the Council as follows:
Chairman Ms Judy Chen
Vice-Chairman
Ms Leonie Ki,SBS,JP

Mr Johnny Ng

Treasurer Mr Joseph Yu,MH
Secretary Mr Julian Chow
Council Members Ms Au King-chi
Mr Davie Auyeung
Ms May Chiu
Ms Margaret Coates
Mr John Crawford,JP
Mr Bon Ho
Dr  Maggie Koong
Mr Leon Lai,BBS,MH
Dr Maurice Leung
Mr Louis Loong
Mr Gilbert Mo
Mrs Corina Wong
Mr Kevin Yeung
Mr Dicky Peter Yip,MBE,BBS,JP

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會宣佈委任新一屆委員

 

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會宣佈委任新一屆委員

新聞稿 12:00
43
香港,2011年9月28日——聯合國兒童基金香港委員會宣佈新一屆委員名單。陳晴女士繼續連任聯合國兒童基金香港委員會主席,而紀文鳯女士及吳世振先生則同時獲委任為本會副主席。于善基先生將出任司庫一職,而周啟和先生就會繼續連任委員會秘書。

陳晴女士自2010年10月獲選為本會主席後,便致力帶領一眾本會委員及職員,為聯合國兒童基金香港委員會寫下新的里程碑。特別是一連串的本會創會25周年誌慶活動中,在陳晴女士的帶領下,成功喚起本港不少社會人士對世界兒童狀況及兒童權利的關注。陳晴女士於2004年加入聯合國兒童基金香港委員會,並積極投入恆常籌募委員會和宣傳及公共關係委員會工作。

「我很榮幸能繼續連任聯合國兒童基金香港委員會主席。我衷心感謝各位勞苦功高的委員及職員,在過往一年同心協力,創造出一個又一個的奇蹟。我亦希望藉此機會,感謝兩位剛剛缷任的委員陳韻雲女士及王仁曼女士多年來對聯合國兒童基金香港委員會的無私奉獻,並期望往後的日子,兩位繼續支持聯合國兒童基金會的工作。」聯合國兒童基金香港委員會主席陳晴女士說。

「今年,我們懷著無比興奮的心情,迎接來自不同專業界別的新委員的加入,因為我們知道兒童面前的道路仍然是荊棘滿途的,隨着本會注入更多的新力量,我們將能夠繼續改善世界各地兒童的生活,並為更多兒童帶來生命的曙光。」陳晴女士續指,「而愈是脆弱、愈難接觸到,愈需要幫助的孩子們,我們就更加要向他們伸出援手。我們將竭盡所能,為有需要的兒童開拓光明前路。」

今屆委員會熱烈歡迎4位新委員加入,包括:區璟智女士、高婷詩女士、趙言湄女士及梁平醫生。他們今後將運用各自在商界、社福界、醫療界及法律界中的專業知識,全力支持聯合國兒童基金會的全球工作。另外,分別服務了委員會25及20年的陳韻雲女士及王仁曼女士,就同於今年卸下委員職務。

 

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會委員名單:

主席 陳晴女士
副主席
紀文鳯,SBS,太平紳士

吳世振先生

司庫 于善基先生,MH
秘書 周啟和先生
委員 區璟智女士
歐陽贊邦先生
趙言湄女士
高婷詩女士
高來褔,太平紳士
何家驅先生
孔美琪博士
黎明先生,BBS,MH
梁平醫生
龍漢標先生
毛錫強律師
黃高美雲女士
楊嘉威先生
葉迪奇,MBE,BBS,太平紳士