Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF celebrates its 25th Anniversary Over HK$1.6 billion raised for the betterment of millions of children worldwide

 

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF celebrates its 25th Anniversary Over HK$1.6 billion raised for the betterment of millions of children worldwide

54

Hong Kong (9 June 2011) – Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (HKCU) celebrates its 25th anniversary tonight at a cocktail reception at the Chancellor room, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. The Honourable Donald Tsang, Chief Executive of HKSAR attended this remarkable event.

For the past 25 years, HKCU established a firm foundation in Hong Kong to advocate for the 4 rights of children: survival, protection, development and participation and to strive for a better world for all children. HKCU has raised over HK$1.6 billion for funding children’s welfare programmes in over 150 developing countries and territories. Also, more than HK$450 million has been mobilised for supporting humanitarian operations to save children in emergency situations. What’s more, the number of donors has reached 310,000 and we have also nurtured close to 1,300 child rights advocates over the years.

Ms Judy Chen, Chairman of HKCU, said in the welcoming speech, ‘The words, “we believe”, represent the key drive that pushes us forward to advance the cause for children. We believe every child everywhere has the rights to survival, development, protection and participation. We also believe we can make things happen for the well-being of children around the world. Because ‘We Believe’, UNICEF has been the world’s leader for children and the key driving force for the realisation of children’s rights since its establishment in 1946.

Frankly, our achievements today would not be made possible without the continuing support of the HKSAR Government, corporate partners, donors and volunteers. During the cocktail reception, HKCU presented souvenirs to its 10 most supportive corporate partners and 18 most dedicated volunteers who have been serving HKCU for over 10 years to acknowledge their long-term support (please see Table 1 for details of the 10 most supportive UNICEF’s corporate partners in Hong Kong).

Cathay Pacific Airways, the most outstanding corporate partner, has co-organised “Change for Good”, the airline’s inflight fundraising programme, with HKCU for 20 years. To date, over HK$110 million has been raised to support UNICEF’s programmes such as maternal and child health services, education and sanitation projects in more than 150 developing countries around the world. Mr John Slosar, Chief Executive of Cathay Pacific Airways said after receiving the souvenir presented by the Honourable Leung Chun-ying, the former Council Member of HKCU, ‘We at Cathay Pacific are very proud of “Change for Good” and we’ll continue to work closely with UNICEF – a loyal and very trusted partner – to bring help and support to those who really need it.’

The Honourable Donald Tsang, Chief Executive of HKSAR together with Judy Chen, Chairman of HKCU, Mr Johnny Ng and Mr Joseph Yu, Vice-Chairmen of HKCU, officiated the ceremony by placing their hands on a crystal ball, symbolising HKCU’s determination to continue its effort in delivering love and care to every child by promoting the welfare of children all over the world and advocating for children’s rights in Hong Kong hand in hand with all local partners and citizens.

8 beneficiary children of UNICEF from mainland China also attended the ceremony: 2 of them are the beneficiaries of UNICEF Qinghai earthquake emergency relief last year and the others are benefited through UNICEF’s Local Action for Rural Children Program (LARC) in different regions of China. Besides sharing the happiness of the 25th Anniversary of HKCU, they also presented their drawings to Ms Gigi Leung, Mr Louis Koo and Mr Eric Suen, Ambassadors of HKCU to thank their concern and support and also that of Hong Kong people. Their presence surely added much joy to the ceremony.

“The road ahead for children is certainly challenging with grave global difficulties, including natural disasters, armed conflicts, the worst effects of climate change and economic difficulties. HKCU will hold firmly on our belief, continue to support all UNICEF offices worldwide to develop plan of action to mitigate the risks and overcome the issues, thus, build a better world for children. said Ms Judy Chen.

Look back to Hong Kong, this year, HKCU has newly launched Child Rights Advocacy Project by allocating HK$1,500,000 to 3 outstanding non-government organisations including Against Child Abuse, End Child Sexual Abuse Foundation and Youth Outreach to assist them in realising child rights locally. They will implement 3 different projects to provide assistance and support for marginalised and unreachable children in Hong Kong.

With all the support from the HKSAR Government, partners, donors, volunteers and supporters, UNICEF will continue to strive for the best for the children and unite all efforts to protect the rights of every child.

(Table 1) UNICEF’s 10 outstanding corporate partners in Hong Kong:

1. Cathay Pacific Airways Limited
2. The Hong Kong Jockey Club
3. The Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporate Limited
4. Sunrider International
5. MTR Corporation Limited
6. Chow Tai Fook Jewellery
7. Soka Gakkai International of Hong Kong
8. ING
9. TSL Jewellery (HK) Co. Ltd.
10. Victoria Educational Organisation

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會慶祝創會25周年 迄今籌款港幣逾16億元 成功改變無數兒童生命

 

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會慶祝創會25周年 迄今籌款港幣逾16億元 成功改變無數兒童生命

新聞稿 10:00
54
香港,2011年6月9日——聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(HKCU)今晚假香港會議展覽中心4樓君爵廳舉行創會25周年慶祝酒會。HKCU非常榮幸邀請到香港特別行政區行政長官曾蔭權先生親身蒞臨主禮。
在過去25年,HKCU在本港打穩基礎,竭力宣揚兒童的生存、受保護、發展及參與4大權利,為兒童創造美好的將來。多年來,HKCU一共為全球超過150個國家及地區的兒童及婦女籌得逾港幣16億善款,成功改變無數兒童的生命;而在各地的災難中,則籌得逾 港幣4.5億元支持緊急人道主義救援行動;至今一直默默支持我們的捐款者已累積達到逾31萬人,而我們悉心培育的有為兒童權利倡導者亦有達1,300位。
HKCU主席陳晴女士致歡迎辭時表示:「『我們相信』這4個字是一直以來驅使我們為全球兒童服務的原動力。我們相信每個地方、每個兒童,與生俱來都應該享有生存、發展、保護及參與4項兒童權利,我們亦都相信,只要我們攜手合作一定可以為全球兒童的生活帶來改變,給他們創建一個美好的未來。正因為『我們相信』,自1946年UNICEF(聯合國兒童基金會)成立以來,我們一直擔當着全球兒童福利工作的領導,在各地推動和實踐兒童權利。」
能夠取得今日的成績,實有賴香港政府、商業伙伴、捐款者、義工一直以來對我們的支持。據此,在祝酒會上HKCU亦向10家最支持UNICEF的企業伙伴及18位擔任HKCU義工超過10年的長期義工,頒發感謝紀念品以答謝他們長久以來對我們的擁戴(10家最支持UNICEF的本地企業伙伴名單詳情見附表)。
而名列10大最支持企業伙伴之首、與HKCU合作舉辦「零錢布施」機上籌募計劃足足20年的國泰航空,至今已為UNICEF籌得超過港幣1億1,000萬元,以支持UNICEF在全球150多個發展中國家的婦幼健康服務、教育及衞生等福利項目。國泰航空公司行政總裁史樂山先生由前HKCU委員會成員梁振英先生手中接過紀念品後表示:「我們合作多年,建立彼此互信的夥伴關係,計劃成效顯著且十分成功。『零錢布施』讓國泰引以為榮,我們會繼續與聯合國兒童基金香港委員會緊密合作,幫助有需要的兒童。」

在HKCU成立25周年的慶祝酒會上,行政長官曾蔭權先生在本會主席陳晴女士及兩位副主席吳世振及于善基先生等人陪同下,為HKCU主持簡單而盛大的慶祝儀式。一眾主禮嘉賓一邊手按水晶球,一邊投下愛心,象徵HKCU將繼續努力,與本地所有伙伴及市民攜手為全球兒童謀福祉,讓愛心傳遍世界各地每一名兒童。

此外,8位來自中國大陸的UNICEF受惠兒童亦特意來港出席今晚的酒會,當中包括2位UNICEF幫助過的青海玉樹地震受災兒童,以及另外6位來自UNICEF在內地不同地區開展貧困地區兒童發展行動項目(LARC)受惠的兒童。他們遠道而來,分享HKCU的銀禧喜悅之餘,亦親自將他們所繪畫的圖畫,送給HKCU大使梁詠琪小姐、大使古天樂先生及大使孫耀威先生,藉此多謝他們以及所有港人過往予他們的關愛與支持,使酒會增添不少光彩。

主席陳晴女士在酒會上亦提到:「我們看到兒童的前路充滿着自然災害、武裝衝突、氣候變化,以至經濟困難等的全球性挑戰,本會將堅守信念,繼續支持聯合國兒童基金會遍佈各地的辦事處去擬定行動計劃以降低風險及衝破困難,為全球兒童創造更美好的環境。」

據此,今年本會推出全新項目「兒童權利倡議計劃」,撥出港幣150萬支持防止虐待兒童會、護苗基金及協青社3家本地非牟利機構,開展3個不同項目,為活在邊緣、易被忽略的香港兒童提供援助及支持。

HKCU今後將在政府、商業伙伴、捐款者、義工及廣大市民的支持下,繼續竭力為本港以至全世界的兒童爭取福祉,團結一心,保護每一位兒童的權利。

(附表)10大最支持UNICEF的企業伙伴:

1. 國泰航空公司
2. 香港賽馬會
3. 香港上海匯豐銀行
4. 仙妮蕾德國際機構
5. 香港路有限公司
6. 周大福珠寶金行有限公司
7. 香港國際創價學會
8. 安泰人壽保險有限公司
9. TSL謝瑞麟
10. 維多利亞教育機構