Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF Announces New Chairman of the Council and Chief Executive

 

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF Announces New Chairman of the Council and Chief Executive

67

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF Announces

New Chairman of the Council and Chief Executive

Hong Kong, 11 February 2010 — Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (HKCU) is pleased to announce the election of Louis Loong as Chairman of the Council and the appointment of Irene Chan as Chief Executive.

Louis LoongLouis joined the Council of HKCU in 1991 and has been the key driver of the Special Fundraising Committee of HKCU.   Over the years, he has been leading the team in various fundraising programmes in Hong Kong.

“I am honoured to have been elected to the office of the Chairman of the Council and will dedicate all my efforts towards the betterment of the world’s children. I will work with my fellow Members of the Council and our staff to overcome all the challenges and work towards building a world fit for children”, said Louis Loong, Chairman of the Council of HKCU.

Irene ChanIrene moved to Beijing from Hong Kong in 2006 and came back to Hong Kong recently to take up the position. She was the Head of Human Resources of Beijing Olympic Broadcasting Company.

Irene has rich experience in strategic planning, public affairs, government relations, community relations, publicity, marketing and human resources. She was the Vice President of Public Affairs for Hong Kong Disneyland Resort and Regional Director of Corporate Communications for The Walt Disney Company in Asia Pacific from 2001 to 2006.   Prior to her tenure in Disney, she held various key positions at Shell Hong Kong Ltd for 13 years.

“The Council is delighted to welcome Irene to the UNICEF family. We are thrilled with her professional knowhow and commitment in contributing to the children of the world. With Irene’s breadth of experience, we look forward to doing more for the children who are still denied the rights to survival, development, protection, and participation,” said Louis Loong.

Irene is an active member in the community. She served on a number of committees including the Environmental Campaign Committee (ECC) and General Donations & Special Events Committee of the Community Chest of Hong Kong in the past. She is an active voluntary worker at school and local charities.

Irene graduated from the University of Essex and received her MBA (Master of Business Administration) in Human Resources and Industrial Relations with Distinction from City University Business School in London and her M. Phil (Master of Philosophy) degree in International Relations from the University of Cambridge. She is married with 2 children.

About UNICEF

UNICEF is on the ground in 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.  The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments.

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會宣佈委任新主席及總幹事

 

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會宣佈委任新主席及總幹事

新聞稿 12:00
67

香港 (2010年2月11日) – 聯合國兒童基金香港委員會宣佈龍漢標先生成為本會今屆主席並委任陳文端女士為總幹事。

Louis Loong漢標先生於1991年加入聯合國兒童基金香港委員會並積極投入及帶領特別籌募委員會工作,多年來為本會籌款活動而努力。

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會主席龍漢標先生表示:「我好榮幸當選委員會主席,我會繼續努力為世界兒童盡一分力,並與各委員及職員全力以赴,克服挑戰並努力建 設一個適合兒童的世界。」

Irene Chan陳文端女士於2006年從香港移居北京,曾出任北京奧林匹克轉播有限公司人力資源部總監,現回港擔任聯合國兒童基金香港委員會總幹事一職。

陳女士在策略計劃,公共事務,政府及社區關係,公共推廣,市場營銷及人力資源方面有豐富之經驗。2001至2006年期間為華特迪士尼公司(亞太地區)擔 任亞太區企業傳訊總監及香港迪士尼樂園度假區公共事務副總裁。在迪士尼任期之前,她曾於香港蜆殼有限公司擔任重要職務13年。

「委員會很高興能邀請到陳文端女士加入聯合國兒童基金會大家庭。我們希望透過其專業知識、豐富的經驗及對服務兒童之熱誠,去幫助更多仍然被剝奪生存,發展,保護和參與權利之兒童,為促進世界兒童福祉而努力。」龍漢標先生說。

陳文端女士亦致力社區服務,過去曾為環境保護運動委員會(項目及宣傳工作小組)及公益金(一般捐款及特別籌款項目委員會)服務,同時亦是一位活躍於學校及慈善機構之義工。

陳文端女士畢業於英國艾賽克斯大學並以優異成績於倫敦城市大學工商學院獲得人力資源及勞資關係工商管理碩士,除後她於劍橋大學取得哲學碩士學位。 陳文端女士已婚,現育有兩名小孩。

關於聯合國兒童基金會

聯合國兒童基金會在全球超過150個國家致力幫助兒童由幼兒期開始,健康成長。聯合國兒童基金會不但是世界上向發展中國家供疫苗的最大供應者,還支援兒童各方面的需要發展,包括保健和營養、良好的食水和衞生、兩性平等的高質素基礎教育,以及保護兒童免受暴力、剝削及愛滋病的傷害。聯合國兒童基金會所用的經費,一分一毫均來自個人、企業、基金團體和政府的捐款。