Important statement: The United Nations Children’s Fund has no relationship whatsoever with the World Children’s Fund

 

Important statement: The United Nations Children’s Fund has no relationship whatsoever with the World Children’s Fund

logo_chi

In connection with Ming Pao Daily’s report today, 16 May 2011, on page A2

entitled世界兒童基金會捐款去成疑,

(World Children’s Fund – Use of Donation in Doubt)

The United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF or “we”) hereby clarifies that

UNICEF is the only UN organisation working specifically for children, and

has absolutely no relationship whatsoever with the World Children’s Fund (WCF)

though the names are easily mistaken by the public.

United Nations Children’s Fund ≠ World Children’s Fund

To avoid confusion, we urge the public to take special note that UNICEF’s full name is “United Nations Children’s Fund” and in Chinese is “聯合國兒童基金會, and the official logos are as follows:

Chinese
logo_chi
English
logo_eng

Please also be aware of the followings concerning possible worries about UNICEF:

1. Since 1990’s, we have for numerous times, used various media and methods to clarify that The United Nations Children’s Fund does not have any relationship whatsoever with the World Children’s Fund.

2. In 1998, we wrote an official letter to the Social Welfare Department, requesting an investigation into WCF’s fundraising direct mails. In the same year, our legal representative sent a warning letter to WCF demanding a change in their name, logo and printed matters for they were extremely similar to those of the Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF, easily misleading and causing confusion among the public. We have also been paying close attention to the issue since then.

3. Established in 1946, UNICEF is the world’s leading UN organisation working specifically for children. UNICEF is now working in over 150 developing countries, areas and territories to provide emergency relief and run long-term development programmes such as health, education and child protection. UNICEF was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1965 for its efforts and contributions to children worldwide.

4. The Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF was founded in 1986. As one of the 36 national committees for UNICEF, which organises fundraising and advocacy activities to provide financial support for UNICEF’s programmes worldwide to help children and women in need.

5. Please pay a visit to our official website (http://www.unicef.org.hk) to learn more about UNICEF’s work globally for the wellbeing of children. We urge the public to be extra cautious while donating and pay special attention to important details of the organisation, such as its full name and domain name. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any enquiry.

For further enquiry about this statement, please feel free to contact our staff at 2833 6139.

The Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF

16 May 2011

重要聲明:「聯合國兒童基金會」與「世界兒童基金會」絕無關係

 

重要聲明:「聯合國兒童基金會」與「世界兒童基金會」絕無關係

新聞稿 12:00
logo_chi

就《明報》今日(16/05/2011)在A2要聞一篇題為

《世界兒童基金會捐款去向成疑》的報道,

本會(聯合國兒童基金會)特此重申,

本會名稱雖與「世界兒童基金會」的名稱容易為外界所混淆,

但本會乃聯合國組織旗下唯一致力維護兒童權益的組織,

誠然與對方絕無任何關係。

「聯合國兒童基金會」 ≠ 「世界兒童基金會」

為免混亂,公眾人士請認清楚本會的中、英文全名(中文:聯合國兒童基金會;英文:United Nations Children’s Fund及會徽(如下圖)。

中文
logo_chi
英文
logo_eng

本會並提出以下幾點,以釋除公眾對有關報道的疑問及對本會的疑慮:

1. 本會自90年代以來,曾多次運用不同媒體及途徑提醒公眾及傳媒,本會(聯合國兒童基金會)與「世界兒童基金會」(下稱「世界」)並無任何關係。

2. 本會在1998年鑑於「世界」 之名稱、機構徽章及印刷郵件與本會的極為相似,容易誤導市民,令公眾人士出現混淆情況,遂由律師代表本會向「世界」發出警告信,要求該會作出跟進。同年, 本會亦曾去信社會福利署,請求署方就「世界」的籌款郵件活動進行調查及跟進。此外,本會一直密切留意事態發展。

3. 聯合國兒童基金會成立於1946年,是聯合國組織旗下唯一致力維護兒童權益的組織。聯合國兒童基金會在全球150個發展中國家或地區內,推行醫療保健、教育、保護兒童、預防愛滋病等範疇的長期服務項目,以及提供緊急救援工作。在1965年,聯合國兒童基金會曾獲頒發諾貝爾和平獎,以肯定和表揚本會在為兒童謀福利作出的貢獻。

4. 聯合國兒童基金香港委員會至今在港已成立了25年,是全球36個聯合國兒童基金會的地區委員會之一,主要負責舉辦籌款及倡議教育工作,協助聯合國兒童基金會在全球各地推行的褔利工作,幫助有需要的兒童及婦女。

5. 瀏覽本會網址(http://www.unicef.org.hk),可了解更多本會在全球各地推行的工作和兒童福利項目。本會提醒公眾,捐款時要加倍留意捐款機構的名稱、域名等重要資料,如有疑問,應立即向本會作出查詢。

公眾或傳媒如對此聲明有任何疑問,請致電2833 6139與本會職員聯絡。

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會啟

2011516