In Chad, girls’ dreams robbed by marriage

 

In Chad, girls’ dreams robbed by marriage

By Badre Bahaji
By 2050, Africa is expected to surpass South Asia as the region with the highest number of child brides. Based on projections in a new UNICEF report on child marriage in Africa, the number of child brides across the continent could more than double to 310 million by 2050.
For one 15-year-old in Chad, the hope of an education and career was all but lost when her family married her off at age 12. Now the Government, with the support of UNICEF and other partners, has launched a campaign to end child marriage.
N’DJAMENA, Chad/ HONG KONG, 20 November 2015 – Like many girls her age, Amina Abdelrahman, 15, has big plans for her future. “My dream is to become a doctor, in order to help sick people,” she says with sparkling eyes.
1120_Marriage_1

© UNICEF Chad/2015/Gonzalez
Amina Abdelrahman, 15, with her two sons, Moustapha, 3, and Haroun, 1. Amina left school and was married at age 12.
But her future may not be as bright as her dreams. Her life took a serious turn at age 12, when she left school and got married. This young girl is already mother of two children. Her two sons, Moustapha, 3, and Haroun, 1, are living with her in a single-room house made of clay.
Amina doesn’t live in a small village or an isolated region, but in a busy neighbourhood in the capital of Chad, N’Djamena. In her tiny house, the smell of bakhoor (incense) and the colourful decorations create a cozy atmosphere, despite the simplicity of the room.
“I went to primary school for two years only, and I had to leave it because I was the only girl in my family and the elder of my siblings,” she says. “I had to help my mother, cooking and doing the housework. Just after I dropped out of school, my mother married me.”
Amina could see that an education would give her the ability to make her own decisions and the right to make her own choices. But these dreams were far beyond what her mother sees as a girl’s role in life: To get married, have children and look after her husband.
“When they told me I was getting married, I could not say anything,” she explains. “Even if I had have said something, my mother would not have accepted it. So I just let them marry me, just like our mothers did before us.”
Deprived of opportunity
At 15, many girls might just think about how to make the best of their life. Every year, however, 15 million girls are married as children, deprived of the opportunity to fulfill their dreams and ambitions.
1120_Marriage_2

© UNICEF Chad/2015/Gonzalez

“My dream is to become a doctor, in order to help sick people,” Amina says.

A new commitment
With the support of UNICEF and other UN agencies, a national campaign to end child marriage was launched in 2015 under the leadership of the President and the First Lady of the Republic of Chad, and in the framework of the African Union campaign to end child marriage.
“It is unacceptable that, nowadays, we continue to encourage child marriage. In all of our regions, we still continue to carry out this practicing, including female genital mutilation,” said Chadian President Idriss Deby Itno at the launch of the campaign.
“To end this practice, we must all commit ourselves – parents, families, community and religious leaders, decission makers, civil society,” he added. “We must be united with conviction against this fight.”
The national campaign against child marriage was driven at all level by extensive communication and social mobilization efforts. In March this year, the President signed a bill prohibiting the marriage of children under 18, and the bill was adopted by parliament in June.
Nonetheless, there is still a long way to go towards effective enforcement of the law, and substantial resources will be needed to implement programmes to support positive change and promote girls’ education, one of the most important tools for eliminating child marriage – and for turning their ambitions into reality.
Donate now to support UNICEF’s programmes worldwide

乍得女童被婚姻劫持的夢想

 

乍得女童被婚姻劫持的夢想

巴德爾‧巴哈吉報導
一個15歲的女童,本應享有接受教育的權利,並追求事業夢想,但當這位女童的家人,將12歲的這位女童嫁出去,這些夢想便會統統破滅。在聯合國兒童基金會和其他合作伙伴的支持下,乍得政府已啟動消除童婚的運動。
乍得恩賈梅納/香港,2015年11月20日—和很多同齡的女童一樣,15歲的阿米娜∙阿布德爾拉赫曼對未來本來有很遠大的計劃。「我的夢想是成為一名醫生,去幫助那些生病的人。」她說的時候,眼睛裏閃爍着光芒。
1120_Marriage_1

© UNICEF Chad/2015/Gonzalez
15歲的阿米娜∙阿布德爾拉赫曼和她的兩個兒子,3歲的穆斯塔法和1歲的哈龍阿米娜12歲就輟學嫁人了。
但她的未來或者未能如想像般美好。 12歲時,她輟學並且結婚,生活發生了巨變。如今這個年輕女童已是兩個孩子的母親。 3歲的穆斯塔法和1歲的哈龍,便是她的兩個孩子,他們與她如今一起生活在一間土屋裏。
阿米娜並不是生活在小村莊裡或與世隔絕的地方,而是住在乍得首都恩賈梅納的一個熱鬧的社區。她的小屋雖然簡陋,但瀰漫的芳香氣息(焚香)和擺放的各式裝飾品,令人倍感舒適。
「我只上過兩年小學,然後便必須離開學校了,因為我是家裡唯一的女童,而且還是家中最大的兒女。」她說道。「我必須幫助母親,煮飯做家務。輟學後,我就嫁人了。」
阿米娜知道教育能賦予她自己做決定的能力和自我抉擇的權利。但這些夢想太過遙遠,因為她的母親認為女童應該結婚生子,照顧丈夫。
「當他們告訴我,我要結婚了的時候,我也無話可說。」她解釋道,「即使我說什麼,母親也不會接受。因此我只有任他們將我嫁出去,就如母親以前一樣。」
被剝奪的機會
許多女童在15歲時可能都在規劃美好的未來。但每年卻有1500萬名女童,在未成年時結婚,被剝奪了實現夢想和理想的機會。
 「以前和母親還有弟弟住在一起時,弟弟們都去上學。」阿米娜說道,「以往我會妒忌他們,希望自己可以重返校園,和弟弟們一樣。我很想有一份工作,建造屬於自己的房子,好好照顧我的孩子。」童婚在乍得很普遍,幾乎10個女童中就有7個在18歲之前結婚。許多父母都認為婚姻是女童的最佳歸宿。尤其在那些特別窮困的地區,父母可能因為經濟原因將女兒嫁人。

但未成年便結婚的女童,比其他的女童更有可能輟學,另外,由於女童的身體還未發育成熟,還未準備好生育,生小孩有機會令她們的生命受威脅。

「已婚的年輕女童將失去機會,學習關於她們身體、情感及教育的技能,她們原本需要這些技能,引領她們邁向豐盛的人生。」聯合國兒童基金會駐乍得代表菲利普.巴拉傑.比格特說道,「童婚不僅危害兒童的未來,而且危害他們的家庭,威脅社會乃至世界的和平發展與繁榮。」

1120_Marriage_2

© UNICEF Chad/2015/Gonzalez

阿米娜說:「我的夢想是成為一名醫生,這樣可以幫助生病的人。」

新的承諾
2015年,在聯合國兒童基金會和聯合國其他機構的支持下,乍得共和國的總統及總統夫人領導全國展開消除童婚運動,響應非洲聯盟廢除童婚運動。
「現在,繼續鼓勵童婚這種行為是完全不能接受的。在這裏,我們仍然繼續這風俗,還包括女性割禮等陋習。」乍得總統伊德里斯.代比.伊特諾在啟動消除童婚運動時說道。
「為廢除這種陋習,我們必須承諾——父母、家庭、社區、宗教領袖、國家領導人以及整個社會,」他補充道,「必須齊心協力共同戰鬥。」
社會各層面的廣泛溝通和社會的動員行動,推動全國消除童婚運動的開展。今年3月,當地總統簽署了一項法案,禁止18歲以下的童婚,議會於6月通過該法案。
儘管如此,要有效執法,還有很長的路要走,並需要大量的資源來實施相關項目,令情況繼續改善下去,並提高女童的受教育水平——這是消除童婚、及令女童們的夢想成為現實的最重要的工具之一。
捐款支持UNICEF的全球工作項目