Internationally renowned cellist Mr Trey Lee was appointed as UNICEF HK Ambassador, promoting child rights through classical music to special school students Get Trey’s latest limited edition album by sharing on UNICEF HK social media platforms!

 

Internationally renowned cellist Mr Trey Lee was appointed as UNICEF HK Ambassador, promoting child rights through classical music to special school students Get Trey’s latest limited edition album by sharing on UNICEF HK social media platforms!

24
HONG KONG, 18 September 2012 —Hailed as a ‘Miracle’, internationally renowned cellist Mr Trey Lee was appointed as Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) Ambassador today. Mr Lee immediately started his mission as a child rights advocate through the visit to a local special school. He performed two selected cello pieces during the visit to illustrate that every child, even those with disabilities, should be entitled to the right to participate in and enjoy artistic, music and cultural activities. Mr Lee will continue his mission of advocating for and realising children’s rights with UNICEF HK and strive to make Hong Kong a more child-friendly city.

Since 1954, UNICEF has been appointing Goodwill Ambassadors around the world, while UNICEF HK appointed Mr Leon Lai as the first UNICEF HK Ambassador in 1994. In the past two decades, UNICEF HK has been supported by local and international famous influencers to help promote children’s rights and improve the lives of children and women around the world with their talent and strong commitment. Renowned artist Mr Leon Lai and world champion cyclist Mr Wong Kam-po are among these key figures in Hong Kong.

Today, Ms Judy Chen, Chairman of UNICEF HK, Ms Leonie Ki, Vice Chairman and Chairman of Advocacy and Public Relations Committee of UNICEF HK and Mr Trey Lee visited Hong Kong Red Cross Princess Alexandra School in Kwun Tong and held a music education workshop. In the presence of all the teachers, primary and secondary students of the school, Mr Lee has received the certificate of appointment and become UNICEF HK Ambassador. He then immediately started his first mission for children by playing Bourrée of Bach, the first cello song he learnt, and Children’s March by Prokofiev, which shows the vitality and determination of children.

“Music is like a mirror of life. There are always ups and downs and comes new things in pieces as well as life, making it so interesting. I wish these two songs can be a language that can communicate effectively with everyone, no matter who they are and where they are from, and inspire more people to realise the importance of child rights,” said Mr Lee, who is passionate for both music and life. He also encouraged the students and teachers of the school by emphasising that all children, even those with disability, deserve the right to participate and enjoy in cultural, music and artistic activities, according to the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child.

Besides, Mr Lee jointly performed the song I Believe, composed and lyricised by UNICEF Young Envoys to express the belief in Zero Child Suffering. He said, “I truly support and appreciate the music creation by students. I am glad to see the promising Young Envoys enjoy their rights to art and culture, and treat music as a medium to advocate for children’s rights.” Mr Lee also pledged to spread the message of protecting children from different parts of the world with UNICEF during his worldwide performances, and will share the state of children he witnessed with UNICEF and people in Hong Kong.

Ms Judy Chen said, “The excellent achievement of Mr Lee in classical music industry is well known. We believe his remarkable musical talent combined with his popularity will help UNICEF arouse the attention of music lovers to the problems that inhibit young child survival around the world.” Ms Leonie Ki said she believed Mr Lee will further promote the rights of children to participate in cultural, music and artistic activities, including those in developing countries, i.e. the ones who are deprived, disabled, neglected, as UNICEF HK Ambassador. Ms Ki supplemented that Mr Lee might later be arranged to visit developing countries with UNICEF HK, to exchange views with deprived women and children, and encourage them to reach their full potential.

To show his passion and commitment on promoting child right to art and culture, Mr Lee announced to give away his latest cello album Schumann, Mendelssohn & Chopin / Trey Lee, Cello (CD+DVD) to supporters of UNICEF HK. The limited album recorded Mr Lee’s performance of 15 cello masterpieces by Schumann, Mendelssohn and Chopin. From now to 14 October, interested parties can visit the Facebook page or Tencent Weibo of UNICEF HK, and share a message in the blank – “Music makes me feel ____.” Mr Lee will select the best answer and give away the album, plus a Chinese pen calligraphy message “Music for change. Speak out through music, speak up for children.” handwritten by Mr Lee’s seven years old niece, Chinese calligraphy winner Erita Chen.

Acclaimed by the international critics as “Miracle” and “a Master of subtle transition”, Mr Trey Lee is a Hong Kong-born cellist. He was brought up in a family of musicians, and has been collaborating with esteemed conductors and composers such as Lorin Maazel and Bright Sheng, and orchestras worldwide including the Philharmonia Orchestra of London, Munich Chamber Orchestra, and the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra. He has performed in major venues such as Carnegie Hall, Amsterdam’s Royal Concertgebouw Hall and the Krelim. He has also been invited to a concert organised by United Nations Secretary General Ban-Ki Moon at the United Nations General Assembly Hall in New York.

– END –

國際大提琴巨星李垂誼獲委任為聯合國兒童基金香港委員會大使 以古典音樂勉勵特殊學校師生及倡議兒童權利 最新個人大提琴專輯UNICEF HK社交網站送贈公眾

 

國際大提琴巨星李垂誼獲委任為聯合國兒童基金香港委員會大使 以古典音樂勉勵特殊學校師生及倡議兒童權利 最新個人大提琴專輯UNICEF HK社交網站送贈公眾

新聞稿 12:00
24
香港,2012年9月18日──被樂評譽為「奇蹟」的國際著名大提琴家李垂誼先生今日獲正式委任為聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)大使,並即日履行倡議兒童權利的使命,親訪本地一家特殊學校,為該校一眾中、小學師生獻奏兩首經典樂曲,以音樂勉勵大家,任何兒童,包括身體有缺陷的,都應該享有參與文化、音樂、藝術的權利。李垂誼先生將從此履行積極推廣兒童權利的職責,與UNICEF HK攜手宣揚保護兒童的訊息,為締造香港成為一個更適合兒童居住的理想城市而努力。

聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)的親善大使委任制度始於1954年,而UNICEF HK則在1994年委任了黎明先生為本會首位UNICEF HK大使。UNICEF HK一直受到社會各界知名人士的熱心支持,歷年來獲委任的UNICEF HK大使位位都充滿善心,且在本港以至國際間都深具影響力,例如歌影視紅星黎明先生、體壇名將黃金寶先生等等。

 

今日,UNICEF HK主席陳晴女士、副主席兼推廣及公共關係委員會主席紀文鳳女士,以及國際著名大提琴家李垂誼先生一同親訪位於觀塘的香港紅十字會雅麗珊郡主學校出席音樂 教育活動坊。在該校一眾中、小學師生的見證下,李垂誼先生從陳晴女士及紀文鳳女士手中接過委任狀後,正式成為UNICEF HK大使,並隨即履行倡議兒童權利的任務,為全校師生獻上兩首精心挑選、適合兒童的樂曲,分別為巴哈的《Bourree》和普羅歌菲夫的《兒童進行曲》。前者是李垂誼先生第一首學習的大提琴樂曲,後者則充分表現出兒童活力與志氣。

對音樂及生命充滿熱誠的李垂誼先生坦言,「音樂就像反映生命的一面鏡,在高低起伏的樂章中能找到像生命般多采多姿的新奇事物。希望我演奏的兩首樂曲能夠成為一種不分國界、膚色和種族的語言,與觀眾溝通,感動世界上更多的人關注兒童權利。」同時,藉以勉勵香港紅十字會雅麗珊郡主學校的師生,根據聯合國《兒童權利公約》,任何兒童,包括身體有缺陷的,都應該享有參與文化、音樂、藝術的權利。

此外,李垂誼先生在典禮上又與UNICEF HK一班年輕人合奏合唱UNICEF青年使者會主題曲《I Believe》。此曲由年紀輕輕的UNICEF青年使者作曲填詞,主題曲中流露出青年使者對「兒童零受苦」的期盼。李垂誼先生直言,「我十分支持學生創作和發展音樂,享受他們投入藝術活動的權利,同時喜見青年使者都一樣,擁有用音樂打動大眾關注兒童權利的志向。」最後,他還表示希望藉着他經常到世界各地演奏的機會,協助UNICEF宣揚保護兒童的訊息,並把有關各地兒童生活狀況的所見所聞與UNICEF分享並帶回香港,攜手改善兒童生活狀況。

陳晴女士指,「李垂誼先生在古典音樂界的傑出成就大家有目共睹,相信他今後將能夠運用其國際影響力,感染全球的音樂愛好者,帶領大家更加關心世界兒童的狀況,支持UNICEF在全球各地拯救兒童生命的工作。」紀女士則表示,相信李垂誼先生能以大使身份,協助UNICEF進一步推動各地兒童,包括:發展中國家的貧困兒童、殘疾兒童、被遺棄的兒童等,享有平等參與文化、音樂和藝術的權利,強化所有兒童的參與權及發展權。日後,李垂誼先生更將安排隨UNICEF HK探訪發展中國家,直接與當地的婦女及兒童交流,啟發和鼓勵他們發展潛能。

活動上,UNICEF HK大使李垂誼先生更送贈了其最新發行的個人大提琴專輯《舒曼-孟德爾頌-蕭邦(CD + Bonus DVD)》予UNICEF HK,當中合共輯錄了15首由李垂誼先生演奏的舒曼、孟德爾頌及蕭邦的樂曲,限量發行,非常珍貴。市民大眾只要由即日至10月14日期間,登入UNICEF HK官方Facebook專頁或騰訊微博,留言分享「音樂令我感到__」,獲李垂誼先生選出最佳答案的1位UNICEF HK支持者,將可獲贈李垂誼先生親筆簽名的專輯連同其7歲姨甥女、曾贏得多項中文硬筆書法冠軍的陳艾黎親手所寫的「音樂可以感動人心,音符可為孩子發聲」硬筆書法,極具紀念價值。

在國際樂壇廣被稱許為「奇蹟」,以及「處理不同情緒間微妙變化的大師」的李垂誼先生,生於香港,出身自音樂世家,並曾與多位全球首屈一指的指揮家、作曲家和樂團,包括傳奇指揮家馬捷爾、作曲家盛宗亮、英國愛樂管弦樂團、慕尼黑室內樂團及香港中樂團等合作,亦於美國卡內基音樂廳、荷蘭阿娒斯特丹皇家音樂廳、莫斯科克里姆林宮等多個世界著名音樂廳演出。近年,李垂誼先生更獲聯合國秘書長潘基文邀請在紐約聯合國總部大樓演出。

– 完 –