Japan’s nuclear crisis sparks panic buying of milk powder in Hong Kong Developing a “Breastfeeding Friendly City” as a long term solution

 

Japan’s nuclear crisis sparks panic buying of milk powder in Hong Kong Developing a “Breastfeeding Friendly City” as a long term solution

61
Hong Kong, 26 March 2011 – Following the Mainland’s melamine-tainted milk powder incidents, the triple disaster in Japan has again triggered a deep concern for food safety in Hong Kong, resulting in the public’s panic bulk buying of Japanese milk powder out of the fear of a possible radioactive contamination. As milk is the unique source of baby food, unreliable breastmilk substitutes will thence pose adverse impacts on babies’ health and growth, threatening their rights to survival and development. Baby food safety and supply is a topic we cannot afford to neglect.
In fact, many mothers in Hong Kong are well aware of the benefits of breastmilk, but the lack of a favourable environment in the community has laid obstacles in mothers’ path to sustained breastfeeding. This leads to a heavy reliance on formula milk in Hong Kong and puts parents and babies in a series of baby food crises. Dr Patricia Ip, Chairman of UNICEF Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative Hong Kong Association, pointed out, “To solve the root of the problem, every sector in society, including the Government, health, business, parents and every citizen have a role to play in reducing Hong Kong’s heavy reliance on formula milk. It is time we opt for breastmilk, the safest and most reliable, to nurture our future generations.”

Breastfeeding mothers often experience staring, inappropriate comments, and sometimes even being urged to stop. The prejudice against breastfeeding has further hindered Hong Kong from building a breastfeeding friendly environment. “Although big shopping malls are setting up baby care rooms for mothers to breastfeed, there is still a long way to go. In fact, if there were more promotion by the Government to enhance the public’s knowledge and acceptance of breastfeeding, mothers would no longer need to hide in a room to breastfeed,” commented Ms Millie Wong, Chairlady of the Hong Kong Breastfeeding Mothers’ Association. Ms Maggie Yu, Chairman of La Leche League-Hong Kong also emphasised that a good medical policy is an important cornerstone of success in breastfeeding. This includes skin-to-skin contact with the mother at birth, not separating mothers and babies, provide timely and sufficient support to breastfeeding mothers and saying no to mixed feeing.

Besides healthier mothers and babies, breastfeeding also brings about many surprising benefits, which include comforting affected mothers and babies in emergency situations. Ms Irene Chan, Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF pointed out, “Breastfeeding is especially important during disasters. Not only does it prevent respiratory and gastrointestinal illnesses of babies caused by unclean water sources, it also eases both the mother and baby’s psychological stress and emotional distress.” UNCIEF is currently working with pro-breastfeeding societies in Japan to help affected mothers to continue breastfeeding and even re-lactate, ensuring their rights to the benefits of breastfeeding.

On the other hand, breastfeeding also contributes to considerable economic benefits. A US research showed that the cost of purchasing formula may be almost twice the cost of the additional food intake required by breastfeeding mothers, amounting to a net cost of US$885 (HK$ 6,903) during the first year of an infant’s life. Other researches also indicated that breastfeeding can substantially lower public healthcare expenses as well as medical claims.

To ensure a better and healthier start for Hong Kong’s future generations and to promote economic development, UNICEF Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative Hong Kong Association, the Hong Kong Breastfeeding Mothers Association, La Leche League Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF joined hands at the press conference to urge the government to develop Hong Kong into a “Breastfeeding Friendly City” and offered the following 6 recommendations:

1. Improve maternity protection
2. Provide breastfeeding friendly community facilities
3. Implement the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding outlined by UNICEF/WHO
4. Establish a Hong Kong breastfeeding policy
5. Set up a Central Breastfeeding Committee
6. Adopt the International Code of Marketing of Breastmilk Substitutes and relevant subsequent World Health Assembly resolutions

日本核危機再掀港母嬰恐慌 建設「母乳育嬰友好城市」長遠解決奶粉問題

 

日本核危機再掀港母嬰恐慌 建設「母乳育嬰友好城市」長遠解決奶粉問題

新聞稿 12:00
61

香港,2011326日──繼國內三聚氰胺奶粉事件,本月日本受海嘯、地震及核電廠三重夾擊,食水、農作物、奶品等均逃不過核污染危機,全城母嬰再度陷入奶粉荒。眾所周知,奶是初生嬰兒的唯一食物,一旦誤損或誤用了不可靠的母乳代用品,將可能對嬰兒的健康及生長帶來極大的影響,直接威脅他們的生存權及發展權,嬰兒食安全及貨源的問題絕對不容忽視。

本港不少母親都十分了解母乳好處,只是社會整體上欠缺完善的配套,本港母嬰在持續授乳的路困難重重,促使本港嬰兒過份依賴配方奶,最終要無奈面對近年爆發的種種嬰兒食物安全危機。聯合國兒童基金會愛嬰醫院香港協會主席葉麗嫦醫生指出,「根本性解決問題,政府、醫護界、商界、家長,以至每個市民,都必須同心合力減低本港嬰兒對配方奶的依賴,以最安全和可靠的母乳孕育香港的下一代。

市民對母乳餵哺了解不足,往往對媽媽哺乳投以「奇異眼光」或「色情眼光」,甚至作出勸籲停止餵哺,對推動本港「母乳育嬰」亦成制肘。香港母乳育嬰協會主席黎黃佩嫦女士就表示:「雖然近年不少大型商場均主動設置育嬰間供媽媽哺乳,但卻只是杯水車薪,其實只要政府多作宣傳,令市民大眾普遍對母乳餵哺有所認識,媽媽根本無需要躲在育嬰間餵哺寶寶。」國際母乳會香港主席余婉玲女士亦強調,良好的醫療政策是建立持續母乳餵哺的重要第一步,包括:讓嬰兒出生後即作肌膚接觸,落實不分隔母嬰措施,及時向母嬰提供充足的哺乳支援,以及拒絕混合餵哺等。

「母乳育嬰」除了有利於母嬰本身的健康,亦有很多意想不到的好處,包括:在災難中安撫受災母嬰的心靈。聯合國兒童基金香港委員會總幹事陳文端女士指出,「『母乳育嬰』在災難中尤其重要,透過餵哺母乳可有效預防嬰兒在災難過後因飲用了不潔水源感染呼吸道或腸道疾病,而餵哺的過程亦有助紓緩母嬰雙方的心理及情緒壓力。」而聯合國兒童基金會將與日本當地支持母乳餵哺的團體合作,幫助災難中的母嬰持續哺乳及甚至再度泌乳,繼續得享「母乳育嬰」的好處。

此外,有美國研究指出,「母乳育嬰」可帶來莫大的經濟效益。使用母乳代用品的嬰兒的食物開支,足較母乳嬰兒所需的額外食品消費高近1倍,嬰兒出生首年開支計算,兩者差距可達885美元(即港幣6,903元)。其他研究亦指「母乳育嬰」可同時大大降低一地的政府醫療開支及醫療索償金額。

為了確保本港的下一代得到最優良的健康基礎,並促進本港的經濟發展,聯合國兒童基金會愛嬰醫院香港協會、香港母乳育嬰協會、國際母乳會輔導及聯合國兒童基金香港委員會在聯合記者會上聯手促請港府著手發展香港為「母乳育嬰友好城市」,並提出以下6項建議:

1. 提升孕產婦保障
2. 創建母乳育嬰友好社區設施
3. 落實聯合國兒童基金及世界衞生組織訂立的「成功母乳育嬰十項指引」
4. 訂立香港的「母乳育嬰」政策
5. 設立母乳餵哺的專責工作委員會
6. 落實執行國際母乳代用品銷售守則及相關的世界衞生議會決議案