Joint statement on Somalia’s ratification of the Convention on the Rights of the Child

 

Joint statement on Somalia’s ratification of the Convention on the Rights of the Child

Somalia becomes 196th State Party to the Convention
NEW YORK/HONG KONG, 2 October 2015 – “Somalia’s ratification of the Convention on the Rights of the Child is a significant and very welcome step toward realizing the rights of the country’s 6.5 million children.
“The children of Somalia face enormous challenges. Somalia today has one of the highest under-five mortality rates in the world, alarming malnutrition rates, and very high levels of violence affecting children.
“By becoming the 196th nation to ratify the Convention, Somalia has committed to uphold the dignity and worth of every child and translate the obligations of the CRC into concrete actions, especially for those children in greatest need and at greatest risk.
“The provisions of the Convention provide a legal framework for the Somalian Government’s efforts to uphold children’s rights, as it continues its work to put in place comprehensive domestic legislation aimed at protecting children.
“As the world comes together around the new Sustainable Development Goals, we look forward to supporting the efforts of the Government and the people of Somalia to make children’s rights the cornerstone of their country’s social progress – and in so doing, secure better lives and brighter futures for every Somali child and for Somalia itself.
“This brings us closer than ever to universal ratification of this central human rights treaty.”
Anthony Lake, UNICEF Executive Director
Leila Zerrougui, Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict
Marta Santos Pais, Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Violence against Children
Benyam Dawit Mezmur, Chairperson of the Committee on the Rights of the Child

就索馬里批准《兒童權利公約》發表聯合聲明

 

就索馬里批准《兒童權利公約》發表聯合聲明

索馬里成為批准《兒童權利公約》的第196個國家
紐約/香港,2015年10月2日 – 「索馬里正式批准《兒童權利公約》(下簡稱:《公約》),對實現當地650萬名兒童的權利來說,是很重要、也很值得歡迎的一步。」
「索馬里的兒童正面臨嚴峻的挑戰。索馬利5歲以下兒童死亡率,屬全球最高的國家之一,加上當地營養不良的情況嚴重,暴力事件頻生,亦對兒童造成影響。」
「作為第196個批准《公約》國家,索馬里承諾捍衞每一名兒童的尊嚴,並通過具體的行動去履行《公約》所列明的責任,這對最有需要和最受威脅的兒童尤其重要。」
「《公約》的條文為索馬里政府提供法律框架,讓該國盡力捍衞兒童權利,並繼續完善當地法律,以保護當地兒童。」
「隨着新的持續發展目標得到落實,我們很期待去支援索馬里政府作努力,亦期望當地人民,以兒童權利,作為社會發展的基石。我們預見到該國兒童將會有有更美好的生活和將來,這樣同樣有助索馬里的發展。」
「我們從未如斯接近我們的目標──全球都通過這條重要的人權《公約》。」
聯合國兒童基金會執行主任安東尼‧雷克
聯合國負責兒童與武裝衝突問題的秘書長特別代表萊拉‧澤魯居伊
聯合國負責暴力侵害兒童問題的秘書長特別代表瑪爾塔‧桑多斯‧派斯
聯合國兒童權利委員會主席本岩姆‧達維特‧梅茲穆爾