Leading KOLs come together to support UNICEF Charity Run

 

Leading KOLs come together to support UNICEF Charity Run

IMG_1483

© UNICEF HK/2017

Hong Kong, 14 September 2017 – Renowned key opinion leaders (KOLs), representing different sectors in the community, gathered today to call for public participation in the 12th UNICEF Charity Run (Charity Run).

The KOLs are business leader David Fong, Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) Ambassadors Wong Kam-po and Guo Jingjing, women’s snooker world champion Ng On-yee, and public relations guru and veteran marathon runner Walter Cheung. They were joined by Dr. Chui Tak-yi, Acting Secretary for Food and Health, Judy Chen, Chairman of UNICEF HK and Jane Lau, Chief Executive of UNICEF HK.

“Since the launch of the UNICEF Charity Run in 2006, we have engaged over 110,000 runners from different sectors and raised over HK$110 million,” said Ms Judy Chen. “I want to take this opportunity to express my sincere gratitude to our corporate sponsors, supporters and runners. Their generosity has enabled UNICEF to work for children across the world. Let’s run for the future of every child!”

This year, we are calling for 14,000 runners to join our efforts in support of UNICEF’s global campaign against AIDS, which focuses on protecting babies from being infected with HIV at birth and providing treatment, counselling and support for mothers and children affected by HIV and AIDS.

“We rely on support from the public to further our mission so that we can achieve lasting transformation for children,” said Mr David Fong, who is also Chairman of UNICEF HK’s Fundraising Committee. “I am pleased that we have a stellar lineup of leading KOLs to help us recruit more people to join the run.” Fong is also a regular participant of the 3km Leadership Challenge, an event joined by CEOs from different business sectors.

As a mother and a participant in UNICEF Charity Run for many years, Ms Guo Jing-jing strongly supports UNICEF’s ‘For every child, end AIDS’ campaign. “I commend UNICEF’s efforts in protecting babies from being infected with HIV, and in particular their work in China to prevent mother-to-child HIV transmission,” said Guo. “Please support the race and join me in working towards an AIDS-free world.”

Through UNICEF and its partners, the campaign has averted over 1.6 million cases of mother-to-child transmission of HIV since 2000 while AIDS-related deaths of children aged 0 – 4 have fallen by nearly 70 per cent globally.

photo_1

© UNICEF HK/2017

20170914_unciefcharityrun2017pc_042

© UNICEF HK/2017

21730965_1776897492350285_6076154796844049527_n (1)

© UNICEF HK/2017

21728435_1776897462350288_1126237144675831808_n

© UNICEF HK/2017

21730882_1776897652350269_8848459707310332830_n

© UNICEF HK/2017

For Mr Wong Kam-po, the run offers another layer of meaning. “It not only provides a recreational opportunity for children but also helps strengthen child-parent relationship.” The world champion racing cyclist, who has clinched many titles for Hong Kong, is also a father of a two-year-old son.

“I am sure professional runners don’t want to miss this great event, as the UNICEF Charity Run is recognized by the Association of International Marathons and Distance Races (AIMS),” commented Ms Ng On-yee. The Charity Run is the only charity race in Hong Kong recognized by AIMS, and the Half Marathon and 10km routes have been verified by AIMS.

Professor Joseph Sung, Vice-Chancellor of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, cares deeply about youth development and supports the UNICEF Charity Run through a pre-recorded video. “Young people are our future, and from these young people, we know there are hopes for ourselves. Let’s realize hopes for our children,” noted Sung.

Apart from the Star Wars 5km Run, there are also Half Marathon, 10km Run, 5km Run and 3km Run (Youth and Family) for individual runners, families and corporate supporters to choose from.

© UNICEF HK/2017

“Corporations shouldn’t miss this great opportunity to engage their staff for a good cause,” said Mr Walter Cheung. “For the fourth time, I will be taking part in the UNICEF Charity Run, and I aim to personally raise more money than before for UNICEF’s work to assist children in need in the developing world.”

Apart from the KOLs, Hong Kong’s half marathon record holder, Gi Ka-man, also came to show his support and officiated at the fun relay race in today’s kick-off ceremony.

Ms Jane Lau, Chief Executive of UNICEF HK, commented, “The UNICEF Charity Run not only provides a platform for Hong Kong people to support our global effort in building an AIDS-free generation but also a fun opportunity for families and individuals to run for every child. We are pleased that it has grown to become one of the most anticipated running events and indeed the biggest charity run in terms of the amount of funds raised in Hong Kong.”

The UNICEF Charity Run 2017 is made possible by Diamond Sponsors CCB International (Holdings) Limited, Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group Limited and S.F. Express (Hong Kong) Limited, Gold Sponsors Asia Miles Limited and New World Development Company Limited and a number of supporting partners. In addition, Official Sportswear adidas Hong Kong Limited will provide event souvenir T-shirts and training workshops for runners.

Organized by UNICEF HK, the Charity Run will be held on Sunday, 26 November 2017 at Hong Kong Disneyland Resort and Sunny Bay. Enrolment has already begun and will end on 9 October 2017. Details are available at http://run.unicef.org.hk.

-END-

Event photos can be downloaded here.

For media enquiries, please contact:

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF

Jamie Wong, Communication Specialist                                        Tel: 2836 2967                                         Email: [email protected]

各界KOL現身支持聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑2017啟動禮 攜手「為兒童‧跑 」

 

各界KOL現身支持聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑2017啟動禮 攜手「為兒童‧跑 」

IMG_1483

© UNICEF HK/2017

香港,2017914——多名來自不同界別的本地知名KOL包括商界領袖方文雄、聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)大使黃金寶郭晶晶、世界女子桌球冠軍吳安儀、商界公關「一哥」兼馬拉松達人張樹槐聯同署理食物及衞生局局長徐德義醫生、UNICEF HK主席陳晴和UNICEF HK總幹事劉玉燕今天參加了聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑2017啟動禮,同時號召所有香港市民立即報名參加慈善跑,齊齊「為兒童‧跑」。

UNICEF HK主席陳晴表示:「自2006年慈善跑推出以來,我們共吸引逾110, 000名跑手參與,籌得超過港幣1.1億元善款。我想藉此良機感謝所有慷慨支持UNICEF的贊助機構、合作伙伴及各跑手。你們的力量,讓每一名兒童的權利得以實踐,我們亦可集合更多資源幫助全球每一名兒童,特別是最弱勢及最有需要的兒童。我謹此呼籲大家為兒童跑出更理想的未來。」

今年,大會號召14,000名健兒參加,支持UNICEF全球抗愛滋運動,保護嬰幼兒免受愛滋病病毒感染,並為受愛滋病病毒及愛滋病困擾的母親及兒童提供治療、輔導及支援。

UNICEF HK籌募委員會主席方文雄作為商界領袖,多次代表機構參與UNICEF慈善跑3公里領袖挑戰賽:「有賴公眾力量,同時喜獲多位星級KOL支持,我深信可鼓勵更多人參與活動,亦讓我們有更多資源及信心協助本地以至全球有需要兒童。」

作為母親,同時也是UNICEF慈善跑的忠實跑手,郭晶晶大力讚揚UNICEF「為兒童.抗愛滋」項目:「UNICEF致力杜絕愛滋病病毒母嬰傳播工作,特別是他們在中國的防治愛滋病病毒母嬰傳播服務,實在值得嘉許。」她續道,「請各位支持UNICEF慈善跑,攜手實現『零愛滋世代』。」

自2000年起,UNICEF及伙伴已成功保護近160萬名兒童免受愛滋病病毒感染,0至4歲兒童因愛滋病及相關疾病死亡個案數字亦大幅下降70%。

爲香港贏得不少獎項,現育有兩歲兒子黃卓謙的黃金寶認為,做了爸爸之後,慈善跑有了新的意義:「這不僅是理想的兒童戶外活動,更是增強親子關係的黃金機會。」

慈善跑是唯一獲國際馬拉松及道路賽協會(AIMS)認可的本地慈善跑步賽事。半馬拉松及10公里賽道均獲AIMS認可。「相信每個專業跑手都不願意錯過這項國際認可的運動賽事。」吳安儀表示。

除了「星球大戰5公里賽」,個人及家庭跑手、機構支持者還可選擇參與半馬拉松、10公里、3公里(少年及親子)等多項賽事。

© UNICEF HK/2017

© UNICEF HK/2017

21730965_1776897492350285_6076154796844049527_n (1)

© UNICEF HK/2017

21728435_1776897462350288_1126237144675831808_n

© UNICEF HK/2017

21730882_1776897652350269_8848459707310332830_n

© UNICEF HK/2017

除多名體育猛將齊撐慈善跑,關注青少年發展的香港中文大學校長沈祖堯教授早前亦特意拍片支持:「年青人是我們的未來。從他們身上,我看到希望。」他更於片末號召各位支持UNICEF,為兒童實現希望。

「企業應要把握這個有意義的機會凝聚員工力量,齊齊為兒童跑。」張樹槐道。「這次是我第四次參加UNICEF慈善跑,期望籌集更多善款,支持UNICEF幫助更多發展中國家有需要的兒童。」

另外,香港半馬拉松紀錄保持者紀嘉文亦現身支持,並為KOL與兒童的熱身跑環節擔任客席評判,增添熱鬧氣氛。

UNICEF HK總幹事劉玉燕指出:「透過參與UNICEF慈善跑,香港市民不單可支持UNICEF全球抗愛滋運動,更可乘機與子女或親朋好友增進感情,合力為兒童跑,為他們實現希望。我亦樂見慈善跑成為其中一項全城期待、備受國際認可的本地盛事,以籌款額來計算,它更是全港最大型的慈善跑。」

聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑2017全賴以下企業的支持,包括鑽石贊助:建銀國際(控股)有限公司、周大福珠寶集團有限公司及順豐速運(香港)有限公司;金贊助:亞洲萬里通有限公司、新世界集團有限公司,以及一眾合作伙伴。此外,今年的大會指定運動服裝愛廸達香港有限公司將會贊助活動紀念T裇及為參加跑手提供訓練工作坊。

聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑2017由UNICEF HK主辦,將於2017年11月26日(星期日)假香港迪士尼樂園度假區及欣澳舉行。報名現已開始,並於2017年10月9日(星期一)截止。詳情請參閱:http://run.unicef.org.hk。名額有限,先到先得,額滿即止。大會將保留提早截止報名的權利,並不作另行通知。詳情請留意賽事網站公布。

© UNICEF HK/2017

-完-

按此下載相片

傳媒詢,請聯絡:

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會

高級傳訊主任黃穎祺(Jamie Wong)                                        電話:2836 2967                                         電郵:[email protected]