Learning through play

 

Learning through play

1-c8b33nwk9S35oDVVtNaxbQ

 ©UNICEF/UN070281/Ose

Play is filled with opportunities for children to learn and is critical for their brain development in early childhood.

The first five years of life have a significant effect on a child’s future. This is because children’s brains grow faster in early childhood than at any other time. When nurtured in safe and stimulating environments — in which playing has a central role — children develop the cognitive, emotional and behavioural skills needed to embrace opportunity and bounce back from adversity.

1-GkRkb5s4yhR2LRh8sTqdcA

© UNICEF/UN070268/Ose

South Sudanese refugees play in Uganda’s Bidibidi settlement, March 2017. Adversity early in life can lead to problems learning and managing emotions. Nutrition, protection and the stimulation that comes from interactive play, talk and care can help put all children on the path to a healthy future.

1-53k9BOdWpcEL9ACj-hNCQQ

© UNICEF/UN05466/Gilbertson VII Photo

Mohammad, 1, and his father Abdul play with a ball at an emergency shelter hosting refugees in Vienna, Austria, December 2015. Young children such as Mohammad who live in an environment with engaged and supportive caregivers have a buffer that helps them cope in times of stress.

1-G37QG2Qbh6klmadO3hJGnw

© UNICEF/UNI114899/Holt

Julia plays with her daughter Dania, 1, who has a motor delay condition, during a free therapy session at a UNICEF-supported centre in Chisinau, Moldova, June 2011. The centre helps foster quality mother-child interaction and promotes social inclusion of children with disabilities.

1-gBnQihR6uOb2xJqHXVLv0Q

© UNICEF/UNI134445/Sokol

M. Sarangoo, 20 months, is captivated as she plays with animal figurines in her family’s home in Mongolia’s northern Khövsgöl province, October 2012. M. Sarangoo’s father is her primary caregiver when her mother is at work. Stable and caring relationships are essential for healthy child development.

1-8uDfQ_WQ9_AUEncl9Hy8pg

© UNICEF/UN035781/LeMoyne

(Right) Orin, 4, and his cousin Skye, 3, pretend to make tea on a stove at his former preschool, in Dangriga, southeast Belize, August 2016. Children’s pretend play is consistently linked to development of their executive functions including their ability regulate their thoughts and emotions.

1-D0jPxFYhJ0IDgBd9OeQWWQ

© UNICEF/UN032037/LeMoyne

Abner, 2, and Melisha, a facilitator from the Roving Caregivers Programme, play at his home in San Felipe village, Belize, August 2016. Melisha conducts visits children like Abner who have no access to early childhood education to engage in age-appropriate stimulating activities through play.

1-FPH_cr1kaLqxm2fA53jZHw

© UNICEF/UN032060/LeMoyne

Conzuelo pushes her great-granddaughter Allizon, 4, on a home-made swing in Cayo District, Belize, August 2016. Because Allizon’s mother works full time, Conzuelo is Allizon’s primary caregiver and spends many hours interacting with her every day.

1-FfsS4y_MYsZMh2WM5fQiTg

© UNICEF/UN034621/LeMoyne

Glenda holds up a book for her daughter, Tyra, 2, in the learning space she created at her home near Punta Gorda, Belize, August 2016. Families such as Glenda’s, who live in hard-to-reach locations, are often unable to access pre-school education, holding back children’s cognitive development.

1-E8jqyKSRQmHstbDzDQVoFg

© UNICEF/UN033876/LeMoyne

(Centre) Alishia, 3, plays with her brother Andrew, 17, and cousin KJ (right) in a park in Belize City, Belize, August 2016.

“When kids miss out, they feel neglected and they grow up angry, like they’re not wanted,” says Alishia’s aunt Tracy, who cares for her when her mother is at work.

遊戲中學習

 

遊戲中學習

1-c8b33nwk9S35oDVVtNaxbQ

 ©UNICEF/UN070281/Ose

遊戲為兒童提供學習機會,對成長早期大腦發展至關重要。

兒童大腦發展速度在成長早期最快,因此生命首5年對他們未來發展有重大影響。安全和豐富多元的環境和遊戲對兒童身心發展很重要,有助培養兒童良好認知、情感和行為技能,幫助他們未來獲得機會和克服逆境。

1-GkRkb5s4yhR2LRh8sTqdcA

© UNICEF/UN070268/Ose

2017年3月,南蘇丹難民兒童在烏干達比迪比迪難民營遊戲。成長早期的逆境可影響兒童的學習和情緒管理能力。透過互動遊戲、交談、關懷,有助促進兒童健康發展。

1-53k9BOdWpcEL9ACj-hNCQQ

© UNICEF/UN05466/Gilbertson VII Photo

2015年12月,一歲的穆罕默德與父親阿卜杜勒在奧地利維也納難民緊急收容所玩球。穆罕默德生活在充滿支持和關懷的環境,有助他應對壓力。

1-G37QG2Qbh6klmadO3hJGnw

© UNICEF/UNI114899/Holt

2011年6月,摩爾多瓦基希訥烏的茱莉亞與患行動遲緩症的一歲女兒達尼亞在聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)支援的康復中心免費接受治療。中心幫助父母與孩子培養親子關係,致力促進社會對殘疾兒童的包容。

1-gBnQihR6uOb2xJqHXVLv0Q

© UNICEF/UNI134445/Sokol

2012年10月,20個月大的薩隆古在蒙古北部庫蘇古爾省的家玩動物雕像。媽媽工作時,薩隆古的爸爸負責照顧她。穩定而充滿關愛的家庭關係對兒童健康成長至關重要。

1-8uDfQ_WQ9_AUEncl9Hy8pg

© UNICEF/UN035781/LeMoyne

2016年8月,4歲的奧林(圖右)與3歲的表妹斯凱來自伯利茲東南部丹格里,他們在幼稚園假裝沏茶。角色扮演與兒童活動能力發展有直接幫助,包括控制自身想法和情緒的能力。

1-D0jPxFYhJ0IDgBd9OeQWWQ

© UNICEF/UN032037/LeMoyne

2016年8月,兩歲的艾伯納與「流動關懷計劃」輔導員梅麗莎在伯利茲聖菲利佩村的家玩耍。梅麗莎經常探望艾伯納和無法獲得兒童早期教育的兒童,讓他們參與適齡遊戲和活動。

1-FPH_cr1kaLqxm2fA53jZHw

© UNICEF/UN032060/LeMoyne

2016年8月,伯利茲卡約的孔蘇埃洛與4歲的曾孫女埃利索恩在家自製的秋千玩耍。埃利索恩的媽媽經常工作,孔蘇埃洛負責照顧埃利索恩。她每天花長時間陪埃利索恩玩耍。

1-FfsS4y_MYsZMh2WM5fQiTg

© UNICEF/UN034621/LeMoyne

2016年8月,伯利茲蓬塔戈爾達的格倫達為兩歲女兒蒂拉拿書本。她在家開設學前教育空間。格倫達在偏遠地區生活,無法接受學前教育,導致兒童認知發展受阻礙。

1-E8jqyKSRQmHstbDzDQVoFg

© UNICEF/UN033876/LeMoyne

2016年8月,3歲的阿里希安與17歲的哥哥安德魯和表哥KJ在伯利茲城公園玩耍。

「如果沒人陪伴孩子,他們就會覺得被忽視,甚至產生憤怒情緒。他們會認為自己是多餘的。」 阿里希安的姨媽特蕾西說。阿里希安媽媽工作時,姨媽承擔照顧阿里希安的責任。