Manchester United stars meet Hong Kong children to advocate the importance of sport and play as part of the ‘United for UNICEF’ partnership

 

Manchester United stars meet Hong Kong children to advocate the importance of sport and play as part of the ‘United for UNICEF’ partnership

5
HONG KONG, 28 July 2013 — Manchester United players Adnan Januzaj and Jesse Lingard took time out of the club’s Asia Tour to join in the ‘United for UNICEF’ Hong Kong Play Day with 40 local children. The day, organised by Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) and supported by Manchester United, helped raised vital awareness of the importance of sport and play for children’s health and development.
Manchester United has supported UNICEF’s work through the ‘United for UNICEF’ partnership for 14 years and recognises the critical role of sport and play in children’s lives. Many Hong Kong children are under excessive academic pressure and have structured activities that keep them away from true play; the Manchester United players showed the value that sport has on a child’s wellbeing.

Forty children aged between 6 and 12 years old from Society for Community Organization (SoCO), Tai Po Old Market Public School (Plover Cove), Victoria Shanghai Academy, and their parents joined the ‘United for UNICEF’ Hong Kong Play Day. The football stars spent an hour in playing football games with children to stress the importance of free play for children’s development. Together, Manchester United players played and coached four simple, child-oriented games such as dodgeball, dribbling balls around cones, throwing and catching and kicking balls in pairs. The football stars were delighted to witness how children explore true play by engaging in sports.

Manchester United player Adnan Januzaj said, “’United for UNICEF’ is such a unique partnership that helps millions of children. It has been amazing to see the impact of sport and play on children here today in Hong Kong. I couldn’t imagine my life without sport, especially during my childhood and I hope that children in Hong Kong get to enjoy sport and play, just like I did.”

Ms Leonie Ki, Vice Chairman of UNICEF HK said, “Sport and play are children’s fundamental rights according to United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and are essential to the healthy development of a child. UNICEF HK dedicates its efforts in advocating the right to play this year to arouse more public attention on the importance of this right, and hence getting us closer to zero underdevelopment.”

She added, “We are very grateful to Manchester United and the players for joining us on the Hong Kong Play Day to help get more children involved in sport and play. UNICEF HK highly encourages Hong Kong parents to give their children free play time every day. It can be done anytime and anywhere. As you can see today, we do not need any expensive set up or toys but children can still have fun!”

She continued, “Play occurs in every country. No matter how rich or poor, or even in emergencies. Globally, UNICEF also sees sport and play as an effective programmatic tool to help achieve goals in health, education, gender equality, HIV/AIDS, child protection and child development. ”

‘United for UNICEF’ has benefitted children across the world, including many projects in Asia. Manchester United has been working with UNICEF since 1999 through the ‘United for UNICEF’ partnership. The club has raised over HK$35 million (£3 million) helping over 3.4 million children worldwide.

 

– END –

曼聯球星伙拍UNICEF HK 與香港兒童同玩足球遊戲 推動運動和遊戲對兒童發展的重要性

 

曼聯球星伙拍UNICEF HK 與香港兒童同玩足球遊戲 推動運動和遊戲對兒童發展的重要性

新聞稿 12:00
5

香港,2013年7月28日──一眾曼聯球星贊奴沙(Adnan Januzaj)及連加特(Jesse Lingard)乘曼聯亞洲之旅訪港期間,特意抽空與聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)攜手舉辦「United for UNICEF」香港遊樂日,和40名本地兒童同樂,協助UNICEF HK在港宣揚運動及遊戲對兒童身心發展的重要性。

曼聯藉着「United for UNICEF」伙伴計劃支持UNICEF的工作已有14年歷史,深知運動和遊戲在兒童生命的重要性。鑑於不少香港兒童生活在過大學習壓力和過多編排活動之 中,使他們無法享受真正的遊戲樂、紓展身心,球會特意藉着此行,將運動及遊戲之樂帶給本地兒童。

「United for UNICEF」香港遊樂日邀請了40名6至12歲,來自社區組織協會(SoCO)、大埔舊墟公立學校(寶湖道)、滬江維多利亞學校的兒童和他們的家長一同 參與,曼聯球星花近一小時,指導並與兒童同場玩了4款簡單的足球遊戲,帶出遊戲對兒童發展的重要性,包括:「十對十」閃避球、雪糕筒運球、拋球以及二人隊 制傳球遊戲。有份參與的曼聯球星均樂見兒童透過參與運動,發掘真正的遊戲樂。曼聯球星贊奴沙說:「『United for UNICEF』就是這樣一個獨特的伙伴計劃,能夠幫助數以百萬計的兒童。運動和遊戲對香港兒童的影響實在令人驚歎,我真的無法想像我的生活,尤其是我的童 年,缺少了運動,並希望香港兒童能夠和我一樣,能夠享受運動和遊戲的樂趣。」

UNICEF HK副主席紀文鳳女士表示:「根據聯合國《兒童權利公約》,運動及遊戲是兒童基本的權利,UNICEF相信這些活動對兒童全面健康發展非常重要,UNICEF HK並以倡議『兒童權利』為今年的工作主題,希望帶領市民大眾一起正視及關注兒童『遊戲權利』被忽視的問題,邁向兒童『零發展受壓』的目標。」
紀文鳳女士續指:「我們很高興得到曼聯的支持,遠道而來,參與今日的香港遊樂日,協助UNICEF HK積極鼓勵香港家長每天給孩子自由遊戲的時間,讓更多香港兒童有機會參與運動及遊戲。事實上,遊戲是應該『隨時隨地』,在任何時間和地方都可以進行的, 就如我們今天的活動,我們不用大花金錢做布置或者準備玩具,參加的兒童都已經享受到遊戲樂!」

她又強調:「不論貧富,或是處於危難中的,每個國家的兒童都應確保得到遊戲的機會。UNICEF並且視運動及遊戲為一種推動項目的高成效工具,有助實踐健康、教育、性別平等、愛滋病病毒/愛滋病、兒童保護及發展的各項目標。」

「United for UNICEF」已令全球各地無數兒童受惠,當中不少項目更是針對亞洲兒童而設。曼聯自1999年透過「United for UNICEF」伙伴計劃與UNICEF 合作,迄今已為UNICEF籌得港幣3,570萬(300萬英鎊),幫助逾340萬名兒童。

– 完 –