Over 13,000 people run for every child at UNICEF Charity Run to raise HK$12 million

 

Over 13,000 people run for every child at UNICEF Charity Run to raise HK$12 million

UNICEF Charity Run 2018_2

©UNICEF HK/2018

HONG KONG, 25 November 2018The 13th UNICEF Charity Run, organized by the Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK), successfully concluded today. HK$12 million is expected to be raised from more than 13,000 runners in support of UNICEF’s global programme against AIDS, which aims to eliminate mother-to-child transmission of HIV, close the HIV treatment gap, prevent HIV in adolescents and provide counselling and support for mothers and children affected by HIV and AIDS.

UNICEF Charity Run 2018_6

©UNICEF HK/2018

The event, held at Hong Kong Disneyland Resort, attracted a diverse group of participants, such as professional runners, elite althetes, KOLs, business leaders, individual runners, families, and UNICEF HK Ambassador Mr Wong Kam-po.

2018

©UNICEF HK/2018

Mrs Carrie Lam, the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, accompanied by Mr Henry Tang, UNICEF HK Honorary Adviser, and Ms Judy Chen, Chairman of UNICEF HK, officiated at the prize presentation ceremony. Mrs Lam commended UNICEF HK’s efforts in organizing UNICEF Charity Run to support the global campaign against AIDS in the past years. She hoped everyone would continue to support UNICEF’s work in building a more child-friendly environment.

Ms Judy Chen expressed her gratitude to all the sponsors and supporters. “I am pleased to see a large number of people joining us for the well-being of our children each year. Our success wouldn’t have been possible without the generosity of our sponsors and supporters. Thank you for all of your efforts, we can continue to support UNICEF’s global work for children. I look forward to strengthening the partnerships so that we can sustain our child protection work.”

Meanwhile, Mr Wong remarked that joining the 3 km Family Run with his 3-year-old son has a special meaning to him. “It is important for children to participate in outdoor activities, and the Family Run is beneficial to child development. It promotes bonding between parents and children by having them running together,” Mr Wong said.

This year, 10km runners finishing the race within the prescribed time were awarded with finisher medals. Also, runners were allowed to customize their bibs, adding an extra layer of meaning to the event. Besides, environmentally friendly measures were implemented to reduce solid waste. For example, foldable and reusable plastic cups were distributed to each runner and self-service water stations were set up at the finishing points, reducing the use of disposable plastic bottles.

A total of 32 corporate teams participated the Half Marathon Corporate Relay and more than 40 business leaders competed in the 3km Leadership Challenge. Besides the business sector, many celebrities and athletes also joined the race, including Aka from Super Girls, a famous Cantopop girl group competed in the 10km Run (Challenge); Mr. Lam Hin-chung, the 2018 Asian Games Fencing Bronze Medalist; Ms. Lam Hin-wai, Lam Hin-chung’s sister and a fencer who participated in the 5km race, and finished in 22:45 and 29:04 respectively; Mr. Ngai Kang, the 2018 Hong Kong Marathon Highest Local Finisher, finished Half Marathon in 1:14:22; Mr. Walter Cheung, a veteran marathon runner and public relations guru; Ms. Mable Lui, the 10km Challenge Women Champion of 2017 Hong Kong Marathon who ran in the Half Marathon.

20184

©UNICEF HK/2018

20182

©UNICEF HK/2018

The exciting run was remarkable as runners went all out to run for every child. In the end, Thomas Kiprotich clinched the Men’s Half Marathon Overall Championship in 1:10:09, while Lui Wai Man won the Women’s Half Marathon Overall Championship in 1:25:15. Men’s and Women’s 10km Overall Championships were Wong Kai Lok (0:32:41) and Tong Lok Yu (0:37:39) respectively, Tong Lok Yu also broke the Hong Kong Junior Record (Girls) of the 10km run. Also, Jaybird (1:16:04) was awarded the Corporate Relay Championship, while Michael Chan (0:11:10), CEO of DMC Investments Ltd. won the 3km Leadership Challenge.

Since the launch of the UNICEF Charity Run in 2006, we have engaged over 130,000 runners from different sectors and raised over HK$130 million to support UNICEF ‘For Every Child, End AIDS’ campaign.

The UNICEF Charity Run 2018 was supported by Principal Sponsor China Cinda (HK) Holdings Company Limited, Diamond Sponsors Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group Limited and S.F. Express (Hong Kong) Limited, Gold Sponsors Asia Miles Limited, New World Development Company Limited, Venue Sponsor Hong Kong Disneyland Resort and a number of supporting partners. In addition, Official Sportswear adidas Hong Kong Limited also provided with event souvenir T-shirts and training workshops for runners.

– END –

Official results of all races will be posted in early December on the UNICEF Charity RUN website: run.unicef.org.hk.

 

For more information please contact:

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF

Kaming Lee, Communication Manager
Tel / Mobile:2836 2907

About UNICEF

UNICEF works in the world’s toughest places to reach the most disadvantaged children and adolescents – and to protect the rights of every child, everywhere. Across 190 countries and territories, we do whatever it takes to help children survive, thrive and fulfil their potential, from early childhood through adolescence.

And we never give up.

About UNICEF Charity Run

The UNICEF Charity Run is the only charity race in Hong Kong sanctioned by the Association of International Marathons and Distance Races (AIMS). The Half Marathon and 10km routes have also been verified by AIMS and the Hong Kong Amateur Athletic Association (HKAAA).

逾13,000名跑手為兒童跑 UNICEF HK慈善跑共籌得1,200萬善款

 

逾13,000名跑手為兒童跑 UNICEF HK慈善跑共籌得1,200萬善款

UNICEF Charity Run 2018_2

©UNICEF HK/2018

香港,2018年11月25日 – 由聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)舉辦的第13屆聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑圓滿結束,各項目共吸引逾13,000名跑手參與,預計籌得1,200萬善款支持全球抗愛滋運動,保護嬰幼兒免經母體感染愛滋病病毒、擴大治療覆蓋率、並為受愛滋病病毒或愛滋病困擾的母親及兒童提供治療、輔導及支援的工作。

UNICEF Charity Run 2018_6

©UNICEF HK/2018

慈善跑假香港迪士尼樂園度假區舉行,活動獲各界KOLs、善心跑手、家庭、商界領袖、企業團隊、UNICEF HK大使金寶先生到場支持

2018

©UNICEF HK/2018

香港特別行政區行政長官林鄭月娥女士、UNICEF HK榮譽顧問唐英年先生及UNICEF HK主席陳晴女士一同擔任慈善跑頒獎典禮的主禮嘉賓。林鄭月娥女士表揚UNICEF HK多年來舉辦慈善跑,為全球抗愛滋運動不遺餘力。她亦希望香港市民繼續支持UNICEF的工作,建造有利兒童發展的環境。

陳晴女士感謝社會各界為兒童付出。她指出:「我很感動看到每年有如此多人願意為兒童謀福祉。UNICEF HK慈善跑得以順利舉行,贊助機構和各界的鼎力支持功不可沒。有賴大家的付出,UNICEF的全球工作才能持之有效,取得成果。我希望加強與合作伙伴的關係,繼續並肩守護兒童。」

黃金寶先生亦與家人參加3公里親子賽。他認為與三歲兒子一同參與慈善跑別具意義:「戶外活動對小朋友十分重要,跟父母一同參加慈善跑不但對小朋友身心有益,亦正是一個增強親子關係的最好時機。」

今年,慈善跑新增十公里完賽獎牌,跑手只要在指定時間內完成賽事,便可獲得精美獎牌一枚,令賽事更為精彩緊湊。另外,大會開放名額予公眾自訂號碼布,令賽事別具意義。另外,為響應環保及減少固體廢物,每位跑手於完賽後均獲發可摺疊及可循環再用膠杯,而賽道終點站亦加設自助水站,以代替即棄膠樽。

當日,共有32間公司參加慈善跑半馬拉松企業接力賽及超過40名工商界傑出人士參加3公里領袖挑戰賽。除了工商界代表,亦有一眾社會名人和運動健將到場參與,包括人氣女子組合Super Girls隊長Aka2018年亞運劍擊銅牌得主林衍聰先生及同為劍擊運動員的妹妹林衍蕙女士一同參加5公里賽,分別以22分45秒及29分04秒完成賽事;還有2018香港馬拉松全馬華人冠軍魏賡先生(1:14:22)、商界公關「一哥」兼馬拉松達人張樹槐先生2017香港馬拉松10公里挑戰組女子組冠軍呂慧敏女士參加半馬拉松賽。

20184

©UNICEF HK/2018

20182

©UNICEF HK/2018

賽事相當精彩,各跑手均全力以赴為兒童跑。半馬拉松男子全場總冠軍由Thomas Kiprotich (1:10:09)奪得,半馬拉松女子全場總冠軍則由呂慧敏(1:25:15)奪得。黃啓樂(0:32:41)和湯樂榆(0:37:39)分別為男、女子10公里全場總冠軍,湯樂榆更打破香港青年10公里賽事(女子)紀錄。此外,Jaybird(1:16:04)獲得半馬拉松企業接力賽全場總冠軍,而DMC Investments Ltd. CEO陳上智(0:11:10)獲得3公里領袖挑戰賽全場總冠軍。

UNICEF HK「聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑」自2006年創辦以來,已吸引超過13萬名善心參加者支持,為UNICEF「為兒童.抗愛滋」全球運動累積籌得超過港幣 1.3億元。

聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑2018全賴以下企業的支持,包括首席贊助:中國信達(香港)控股有限公司;鑽石贊助:周大福珠寶集團有限公司及順豐速運(香港)有限公司;金贊助:亞洲萬里通有限公司及新世界集團有限公司;場地贊助香港迪士尼樂園度假區,以及一眾支持機構。此外,今年的大會指定運動服裝愛廸達香港有限公司贊助活動紀念T恤及為參加跑手提供訓練工作坊。

 

— 完 —

官方賽果將於2018年 12月上旬於官方網站run.unicef.org.hk公布

傳媒如有垂詢,請聯絡:

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會

傳訊經理李嘉明(Kaming Lee)
電話:2836 2907 / 9233 2917

 

關於聯合國兒童基金會

聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)在全球最具挑戰的地方接觸最脆弱的兒童及青少年,同時守護不論身處何地、全球每一名兒童的權利。我們在190個國家及地區以一切可行方式協助兒童生存、發展及盡展潛能,工作貫穿兒童的成長期。

我們永不停步。

關於聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑

聯合國兒童基金會慈善跑是全港唯一獲得國際馬拉松及道路賽協會認可的慈善長跑賽事。當中,半馬拉松及10公里賽道均獲AIMS及香港業餘田徑總會(HKAAA)認可。