Preventing an outbreak: Health assistants bring care to Liberia’s remote communities

 

Preventing an outbreak: Health assistants bring care to Liberia’s remote communities

13992ibc1

© UNICEF Liberia/2017/Jallanzo

A woman holds her child at the Bensonville Health Center in Bentol, Montserrado County, Liberia. Community health workers help reach families in remote counties who are otherwise unable to access health services.

When Liberia was hit by the Ebola outbreak in 2014, one of the factors that contributed to the spread of the disease was limited access to healthcare in remote communities. Now Diana and a new class of community health assistants are travelling far and wide to bring healthcare to the people who need it most.

By Anthony Yeakpalah

RIVER GEE COUNTY, Liberia/HONG KONG, 22 February 2018 – For as long as she can remember, Diana wanted to be a nurse. She pursued her dream in primary school in her village, all the way through to high school in Liberia’s capital of Monrovia.

But when conflict broke out in 1990, she and thousands of others in her generation were forced to flee for their lives. After escaping to the eastern part of the country, she eventually ended up in neighbouring Côte d’Ivoire. She missed four years of school in the process.

By the time Diana returned to Liberia in 1997, she was married and had three children. She never went back to school.

“Many days, I missed school and felt disappointed that I could not continue with my dream,” she says. “I was also so sad seeing how many people suffered during the war… and others who died of preventable causes. It hurt my heart and I hoped I could do something to help.”

13992ibc2

© UNICEF Liberia/2017/Jallanzo

A community health assistant measures a child’s mid-upper arm circumference to diagnose malnutrition in Grand Bassa Country, Liberia.

From dream to reality

Diana finally realized her dream when, shortly after returning to Liberia, she began working as a community health volunteer for an international non-governmental organization. The experience led her to where she is today: back in her native River Gee County, working as a community health assistant.

Diana is one of 750 health workers in Liberia’s southeastern counties who were recruited and trained by the Ministry of Health and partners, with support from UNICEF. Hundreds more are still being recruited across the rest of the country.

Through their work, Diana and the other health assistants are extending health services to those who otherwise couldn’t get the care they need. Twenty-nine per cent of Liberians live farther than 5 km from a health facility, and have little or no access to health care services. This means many families and children – 1.5 million people in total – are unable to seek treatment, even for common illnesses.

Diana and her colleagues provide these much-needed services to Liberia’s remote communities. Their services include treating malaria, diarrhoea or acute respiratory tract infections – some of the most common ailments for children under five. When campaigns take place, they help distribute mosquito nets and medicine to prevent river blindness. They also work with pregnant women and help monitor their progress, referring them to health facilities if there are any complications.

Preventing future outbreaks

The initiative supports Liberia’s health sector plan, which was revised after the 2014 Ebola outbreak in West Africa. Liberia was one of the countries most affected by the outbreak, and limited access to health services was one of the factors that contributed to the spread of the disease. The revised plan calls for extension workers to bring services to communities living hours from health facilities, and to provide surveillance services to prevent future outbreaks and epidemics.

Diana sometimes walks for hours or uses motorcycle taxis to reach communities living away from the main cities and towns of Liberia.

But she knows her efforts are paying off. Since she started as a health assistant in her community, she has witnessed the behaviour changes that promote healthier communities. Parents are now more willing to take their children to the clinic or community health assistants whenever they suspect signs of illness. Communities are cleaner. Community members wash their hands more often and use handpumps and wells for clean water, as opposed to drinking from creeks and unclean waterways.

Diana is also invested in the work because she herself lives in a remote community.

“Living 25 km from the nearest health facility, I know how hard it is to get proper care for me, my three children and family,” she says. “I am so happy that today, I am that person helping bring healthcare to my people and communities in far areas.”

預防疫情爆發:把醫療護理帶到利比里亞偏遠社區

 

預防疫情爆發:把醫療護理帶到利比里亞偏遠社區

13992ibc1

© UNICEF Liberia/2017/Jallanzo

一名婦女在利比里亞孟色羅拉多縣本托爾的本森維爾健康中心抱着孩子。社區醫護人員為在偏遠社區生活的家庭提供醫療護理。

2014年利比里亞爆發伊波拉疫情,偏遠社區無法獲得醫療護理,令疾病擴散。現在,戴安娜和新社區醫療助理跋山涉水,將醫療護理帶給最需要幫助的人。

安東尼雅克帕拉報道

吉河縣,利比亞/香港2018222——戴安娜自懂事起就想當一名護士。從在村內上小學開始,一直到在利比里亞首都蒙羅維亞上中學,她都不斷在追尋自己的夢想。

但在1990年爆發衝突後,她與成千上萬的同齡人被迫離鄉別井。逃到東部地區後,她最終來到鄰國科特迪瓦。她失去了4年上學的機會。

1997年戴安娜返回利比里亞時已經結婚,並有3個子女。她沒有再回到學校。

「我一直很懷念學校,對無法達成自己的夢想感到非常失望。」她說:「我很難過,我目睹很多人經歷戰爭的苦難,還有人因可預防的原因而死。我非常傷心,希望能做一些事情幫助他們。」

13992ibc2

© UNICEF Liberia/2017/Jallanzo

在利比里亞大巴薩縣,社區醫療助理正測量兒童的上臂圍,以診斷營養不良。

夢想變為現實

返回利比里亞後不久,戴安娜終於實現自己的夢想,她開始在一個國際非政府組織擔任社區醫療義工。這經歷讓她成為現在的自己:回到家鄉吉河縣,成為了社區醫療助理。

在聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)的支援下,戴安娜成為在利比里亞東南部各縣接受衞生部及合作伙伴招募和培訓的750名醫療工作者之一。在全國其他地方,還有幾百人在招募中。

戴安娜和其他醫療助理將醫療護理帶給原本無法享受醫療服務的人。29%的利比里亞人在距離醫療機構超過5公里的地方生活,他們很少甚至無法享受醫療服務。很多家庭和兒童(總共150萬人口)在生病時無法接受治療,哪怕只是常見疾病。

戴安娜和同事為在利比里亞偏遠社區生活的人提供急切的醫療服務,包括救治瘧疾、腹瀉或急性呼吸道感染——這些都是5歲以下兒童的最常見疾病。在展開醫療宣傳活動時,他們幫助分發蚊帳和藥物,以預防河盲症。他們還幫助孕婦進行孕期檢查,在發現併發症時將她們送到醫療機構接受治療。

預防疫情爆發

這計劃為利比里亞衞生部的醫療計劃提供支援,該計劃在2014年西非爆發伊波拉疫情後進行修訂。利比里亞作為受疫情打擊最嚴重的國家之一,有限的醫療服務加快疾病擴散。修訂後的計劃要求擴大醫護人員規模,為距離醫療機構較遠的社區提供醫療服務,進行更好的監測措施,預防未來疫情的爆發和蔓延。

為前往距離利比里亞主要城鎮較遠的社區,戴安娜有時要行走幾小時或搭乘摩托計程車。

她知道自己付出的一切都是值得的。自擔任社區醫療助理起,她見證人們的行為改變,社區環境也因此變得更健康。現在,只要發現子女有發病的跡象,家長都願意帶子女前往診所或社區醫療助理處就診。社區也變得更清潔。人們洗手次數更頻繁,並使用手壓泵和水井獲得清潔食水,不再飲用小溪和不清潔水道排出的水。

戴安娜也從工作中受益,因為她自己就在偏遠社區生活。「在距離最近醫療機構25公里遠的地方生活,我知道對於我、3名子女和家人來說,獲得醫療護理是非常困難。」她說:「現在我很開心,因為我就是將醫療護理帶到偏遠社區的人。」