Professional cyclist Miss Sarah Lee Wai-sze was appointed as UNICEF HK Ambassador championing children’s right to play with 400 youths to advocate for all-round development of Hong Kong children

 

Professional cyclist Miss Sarah Lee Wai-sze was appointed as UNICEF HK Ambassador championing children’s right to play with 400 youths to advocate for all-round development of Hong Kong children

18

20130327_SarahLee_1_1

HONG KONG, 27 March 2013 —Renowned cycling champion Miss Sarah Lee Wai-sze was appointed as Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) Ambassador today in the presence of 400 young people. She is the second athlete named as UNICEF HK Ambassador following the same appointment of Mr Wong Kam-po in 2011. Play is essential in child development. Sarah had been able to enjoy play in her childhood which enables her to strive and thrive. Upon being appointed, she will devote herself to advocate for children’s right to play by promoting the essence of play to the public and work with UNICEF HK to achieve the goal of zero under-development for children.

UNICEF has been appointing world renowned kind-hearted influential people and celebrities as UNICEF Ambassador since 1954, championing children’s rights worldwide and improving women’s and children’s lives in developing countries. UNICEF HK appointed Mr Leon Lai as the first UNICEF HK Ambassador in 1994, and made a breakthrough in 2011, 25 years after establishment, to appoint the first athlete Mr Wong Kam-po as UNICEF HK Ambassador .

20130327_SarahLee_5 20130327_SarahLee_2

Today, the appointment ceremony of Miss Sarah Lee Wai-sze as UNICEF HK Ambassador ‘cum’ children’s “Right to Play” Education Session was held successfully in Leighton Hill Community Hall with the support of 400 young participants. In the presence of youth, Sarah officially became a UNICEF HK Ambassador after receiving the appointment certificate from Ms Judy Chen, Chairman of UNICEF HK, Ms Leonie Ki and Mr Johnny Ng, Vice Chairman of UNICEF HK. She promised to advocate for children’s rights, especially the right to play all over the world for the betterment of children.

“I loved running, cycling, playing ‘throw-the-handkerchief’ and ‘musical chairs’. I played whenever I had spare time when I was a child.” She continued, “Play helps me to relax and facilitates me to make many new friends. It also enriches my imagination and enhances my problem-solving skills. It calms me down and nurtures my courage to face challenges and handle stress during cycling competitions.”  20130327_SarahLee_4
20130327_SarahLee_10_2 “Play is not always a bad thing for children!” Ms Judy Chen, the Chairman said, “Like many children and young people, Sarah loved to play in her childhood. And it is play that inspired her, fostered her physical development and enhanced her problem-solving skills, making her an outstanding and tough athlete today.” Ms Leonie Ki, the Vice Chairman added, “Children nowadays are under excessive pressure for educational achievements, and they have too many structured, programmed leisure activities that keep them away from true play. It is harmful for children’s growth and development. The story of Sarah inspires us to reflect on the importance of play and investigate the issue of children’s unhealthy development in Hong Kong.”
20130327_SarahLee_9 According to Article 31 of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, children have the right to relax and play, and to join in a wide range of cultural, artistic and other recreational activities. Play could brighten up children’s life, strengthen their psychological resilience, help them deal with pressure and emotional disorder, and foster their diverse skills. Through exercising the muscle and bones, play also supports children’s physical development. As play supports the novel neural connections and changes the architectural structure of brain regions through its own value and fabulations, it helps develop children’s intellectual skills as well.

 

There are many benefits of play, but not many Hong Kong people understand what true play is. They may mistake computer or electronic games as play. However, when children play electronic games, they are passively receiving excessive number of images and messages instead of interacting with people. Thus, the benefits can never measure up to “play”.

A survey conducted by UNICEF HK’s partner, Playright Children’s Play Association, shows over half number of the parents spend less than six hours to play with their children every week, while their children spend more than 11 hours watching TV, playing computer games and surfing the internet. Moreover, nearly 80 per cent of the parents of children with special needs commented that the number of playground is ‘insufficient’ or ‘very insufficient’, showing children’s right to play is not fully realised in Hong Kong.
During the appointment ceremony, Sarah and guests highlighted the four long-forgotten essences of play – “Child-oriented”, “Growing fun and healthy”, “Anytime & anywhere” and “Playable space”, mobilising everyone to advocate for children’s right to play. Afterwards, 400 participants played with a few 1-meter diameter balls together to experience the essence of play.

 

20130327_SarahLee_6 20130327_SarahLee_7
 20130327_SarahLee_8 The event today also marked the launch of the first-ever UNICEF HK near field communication (NFC) mobile application. Young participants were given a “Support UNICEF” NFC charity sticker to champion children’s right with tech-navvy gadgets. By scanning the chip sticker with any NFC functioned Android smartphones, users will be redirected to Google Play Store to download and install UNICEF HK app. With this application, users can sign up as a supporter of ‘right to play’, make donations, register as a volunteer, access to UNICEF HK’s latest news etc. They can also visit UNICEF’s “I Believe In Zero” website (http://www.ibelieveinzero.org.hk) through the app or direct visit to share their play experiences and advocate for ‘right to play’.

Miss Sarah Lee Wai-sze, MH, a professional Hong Kong cyclist who was born with anemia and had gone through surgeries, is famous for her steadfast dedication to cycling. In 2010, Miss Sarah Lee won the champion by breaking the Asian Record in 500-metre time trial track cycling event of Asian Games, and was awarded the “Hong Kong Potential Sports Stars Award”. In 2012, Sarah won two gold medals and a bronze in Asian Cycling Championships; as well as Hong Kong first-ever bronze, also known as third Olympic medal of Hong Kong in Women’s Keirin at the 2012 Olympic Games. In January 2013, Sarah made her first victory in UCI Track Cycling World Cup that she got overall first place in both Women’s Keirin and Sprint events. Getting a gold medal in the 500-metre time trial in UCI Track World Championships, Sarah became the first female cyclist from Hong Kong to win the “rainbow jersey”. In March, she won two gold medals in the women’s time trial and keirin in the Asian Cycling Championships held in New Delhi, India, and then received her first ”Hong Kong Sports Stars Awards” and the most coveted “Best of the Best Hong Kong Sports Stars Award”.

– End –
Please click here to download the photos in the press release
Please click here for more photos of the event

女將李慧詩獲委任為聯合國兒童基金香港委員會大使 偕400青年籲港人實踐遊戲權利 讓兒童充分發展

 

女將李慧詩獲委任為聯合國兒童基金香港委員會大使 偕400青年籲港人實踐遊戲權利 讓兒童充分發展

新聞稿 12:00
18

20130327_SarahLee_1_1

香港,2013年3月27日──世界級單車金牌運動員李慧詩小姐今日在多達400名青年見證下,獲委任為聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)大使,成為繼單車王子黃金寶後,第二位加入UNICEF HK大使家庭的體壇名將。遊戲是兒童發展的重要一環,李慧詩小姐童年時能享受玩樂,使她得以從玩樂中發展潛能,成為她今天衝破賽場各種挑戰,勇奪佳績的關鍵之一。經委任為UNICEF HK大使,李慧詩小姐將與UNICEF HK攜手,全力推動兒童的「遊戲權利」,寄望更多兒童能夠從遊戲中成長,體會到遊戲的真諦及益處,爭取兒童「零」發展受壓。

聯 合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)的親善大使委任制度始於1954。在過去大半個世紀,UNICEF一直得到一班在本地以至國際間有份量、具影響力、且有善 心的社會知名人士支持,義務擔任各地親善大使,協助世界各地保護兒童權利的工作,及改善發展中國家婦女及兒童的生活。UNICEF HK則在1994年委任了黎明先生為本會首位UNICEF HK大使,在2011年更打破創會25年傳統,首次委任體壇名將黃金寶成為大使。

20130327_SarahLee_5 20130327_SarahLee_2

今 日,UNICEF HK在禮頓山社區會堂舉行「遊戲權利」教育活動,吸引多達400名青年到場參加。出席的青年更見證了李慧詩小姐,從本會主席陳晴女士、副主席紀文鳳女士及 吳世振先生手中接過委任狀後,正式成為UNICEF HK大使。她承諾會積極在世界各地,推廣兒童權利,特別是兒童的「遊戲權利」,讓更多人關注並且着力改善兒童的生活。

UNICEF HK大使李慧詩小姐分享童年時在屋邨長大的玩樂時光,「我小時候最喜歡玩擲手帕、大風吹,運動方面最愛跑步、騎單車,但其實甚麼都喜歡玩,印象中一有時間就玩。」她笑言,「遊戲讓我放鬆心情,認識不同的小朋友,學習與人相處之餘,更讓我變得精靈,想像力亦較豐富,面對問題時能想出更多解決方法,亦形成了我今天比賽穩定的心理素質,即使在比賽場上遇到任何挑戰,都不會退縮,繼續勇往直前。」 20130327_SarahLee_4
20130327_SarahLee_10_2 「勤有功,戲不一定無益!」主席陳晴女士表示,「李慧詩的童年,跟很多小朋友一樣都『愛玩』,但正因為遊戲,令她在成長中得到啟發、獲得正面影響,鍛鍊出敏捷的身手、勇於克服障礙的性格。」副主席紀文鳳女士不諱言,「今時今日,香港的兒童年紀小小,便要面對學習、成敗、同儕間比較等種種壓力,有計劃、有目的閒暇活動愈來愈多,真正遊戲的時間和空間就愈來愈少,令他們無從正常宣洩,成長與童年均有欠完整,李慧詩的故事正好叫大家反思遊戲對兒童的重要性,一起正視兒童發展失衡的問題。」
 20130327_SarahLee_9 根據聯合國《兒童權利公約》第 31 條,兒童有權享有休息和閒暇,從事與他們年齡相宜的遊戲和娛樂活動,以及自由參加文化生活和藝術活動。遊戲可豐富兒童的生活、幫助兒童減壓、調節情緒障礙、提升抗逆能力及發展其他技能。通過遊戲,兒童協調身體不同肌肉或骨骼,有助體能發展。遊戲中對神經網絡接連的刺激,亦可改變腦部組織結構,幫助兒童智力發展。

遊戲可以帶來種種益處,但不少港人誤解「遊戲」的真正意義,誤以為電子遊戲亦是「遊戲」。然而,由於兒童在玩電子遊戲的時候,只能被動地接收強烈的影像及訊息,與人的交流亦有限制,因此未能帶來同等益處。

據UNICEF HK伙伴、智樂兒童遊樂協會的綜合調查發現,超過一半家長每星期花少於6小時與子女遊戲,但兒童看電視、玩電子遊戲及電腦的時間就長逾11小時;另有接近8成子女有特殊需要的家長表示,公共遊樂場的數量不足或非常不足,反映香港兒童未能盡享遊戲權利。

在典禮上,UNICEF HK大使李慧詩小姐及一眾嘉賓更即場分享常被遺忘的「遊戲」真粹,包括:「孩子主導」、「快樂成長」、「隨時隨地」及「自由空間」,呼籲大家一起推廣遊戲權利訊息。隨後,更與在場多達400名青年齊玩巨型氣球遊戲,透過空傳邊長近1米的立方體巨型氣球,親身體會遊戲真粹。

20130327_SarahLee_6  20130327_SarahLee_7
20130327_SarahLee_8 同日,更是UNICEF HK全新近場通訊(NFC)技術互動手機應用程式(App)正式登場的大日子,在場青年均獲贈內藏NFC晶片的「Support UNICEF」貼紙,率先試用新App,以最新科技擁護兒童權利。用家只要以具有NFC功能的智能手機輕輕一掃貼紙,即可將Android智能手機導向至Google Play Store,下載並安裝UNICEF HK App,加入成為「遊戲權利」的支持者、捐款、登記成為義工及獲取UNICEF HK最新資訊等。此外,用家亦可透過此App或直接登入UNICEF HK「零,可以成真」網站(http://www.ibelieveinzero.org.hk) ,一起留言分享,為年輕一代爭取真正的「遊戲權利」。

 

被譽為「牛下女車神」的李慧詩, MH是香港著名單車運動員,雖患貧血及經歷多次手術,卻從未放棄單車運動。2010年,她在亞洲運動會500米計時賽破亞洲紀錄奪金,其後獲頒「香港最具潛質運動員」。2012年她出戰亞洲單車錦標賽,勇奪兩金一銅,同年代表香港出戰夏季奧林匹克運動會,並在單車女子凱琳賽決賽中贏得香港第3面獎牌及首面銅牌。2013年1月於國際單車聯盟世界盃場地賽勇奪凱琳及爭先雙料世界盃總冠軍後,她再於2月於白俄羅斯舉行的世界場地單車錦標賽勇奪500米計時賽冠軍,成為香港首奪「彩虹戰衣」的女單車手。同年3月,她在印度舉行的亞洲單車錦標賽500米計時賽及凱琳賽中奪得2面金牌,其後首次入選「香港傑出運動員」,並同時榮膺「星中之星香港傑出運動員大獎」。

– 完 –