Radiation leak in Japan poses threats to water resources UNICEF Young Envoys Club “flashes” to call for a water saving lifestyle

 

Radiation leak in Japan poses threats to water resources UNICEF Young Envoys Club “flashes” to call for a water saving lifestyle

????????????????????????????????????

HONG KONG, 21 March 2011 – “You have a choice. It doesn’t mean others do, too!” Water safety has become ever so concerning since the fear of radiation leak loomed over Japan and its neighboring regions following the devastating double catastrophe of earthquake and tsunami. As tomorrow, 22 March, is the United Nations (UN) designated World Water Day, a group of post-90’s initiated a “Splash” Mob Campaign in the heart of the busy Causeway Bay.

Through their performance of flash mob and still acting, they hope to call for public awareness of water safety and supply for children in Japan and developing countries, advocate a water saving lifestyle and raise public concern about the uneven distribution of water resources.

According to the official website of the UN World Water Day, “Investments in infrastructure have not kept up with the rate of urbanisation, while water and waste services show significant underinvestment. The central problem is therefore the management of urban water and waste. Piped water coverage is declining in many settings, and the poor people get the worst services, yet paying the highest water prices.”

To display the 2 radically different lives in front of Hong Kong public, the Green Division of UNICEF Young Envoys Club perform a Flash Mob act combined with still acting elements at their Splash Mob Campaign held yesterday afternoon on Pedestrian Street in Causeway Bay. One of the planners and a form 5 student, Alvin Au, said, The nuclear crisis in Japan has recently raised Hong Kongers concerns over water safety. But actually many children in developing countries are daily drinking unsafe water and facing the problem of lack of water!

To flash, it symbolises how fast water slips by and we dont even realise how much we are wasting. On average, each person in Hong Kong uses 220 litres of water every day while it only needs 20 litres a day for children in the developing world to survive. We want to help Hong Kong people realise how lucky we are and help them reflect on their habits of water consumption through our act of displaying the 2 kinds of lives at the extreme ends. I hope they will not take safe and clean water for granted and start treasuring each drop of clean drinking water, which will go to waste if we dont take it to heart.

Another planner, Harrison Chung pointed out, Weve to bear in mind that water scarcity is no longer the major concern but uneven distribution of water resources in result of the rapid urbanisation of the world’s population while 93% of the urbanisation occurs in poor or developing countries.” He also encourages us all to bear the responsibilities of a world citizen and lead a water saving life. Here are some water saving tips he suggested:
  1. Putting a plastic bottle filled with pebbles into the flush water tank can reduce water usage every time you flush the toilet. It is especially effective in areas which use fresh water to flush.
  2. Say “no” to glasses of water at restaurants if you don’t need them.
  3. Save the clean water of your shower or tap with a bucket as you adjust the temperature.
  4. Suggest children to go to the beach instead of playing with tap water.

It is estimated that around 2.5 billion people worldwide lack improved sanitation facilities and over 884 million people still use unsafe drinking water sources.UNICEF has been working in 150 developing counties and territories to implement programmes and advocate the importance of Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH), which include improving water supplies and sanitation facilities in partnership with local communities, promoting safe hygiene practices, such as wash hands with soap, in schools and communities and so on. All UNICEF WASH programmes are designed to contribute to the Millennium Development Goal for water and sanitation: to halve, by 2015, the proportion of people without sustainable access to safe water and basic sanitation, safeguarding children’s rights to survival and development.

日本核漏危機恐進一步威脅地球水資源 聯合國兒童基金會青年使者會 街頭快閃行動 呼籲公眾惜水慳水

 

日本核漏危機恐進一步威脅地球水資源 聯合國兒童基金會青年使者會 街頭快閃行動 呼籲公眾惜水慳水

新聞稿 10:00
????????????????????????????????????

香港,2011321──「你有得揀,唔代表人哋都有得揀!」日本受地震及海嘯雙重夾擊,引發核漏危機,食水亦遭到輻射污染的威脅,進一步令人關注食水安全的問題。

明日(322日)是聯合國訂立的「世界水日」,一班聯合國兒童基金香港委員會的90後青年自發組成「快濺黨」昨日下午,在銅鑼灣中心地帶進行快閃行動,呼籲港人顧念到日本及第三世界國家的兒童目前正面對著食水不安全或不足夠的問題,在日常生活中要惜水慳水,同時關注全球水資源分配不均的問題。

據聯合國世界水日官方網站的資料,全球城市化日益加劇,但花在水和排污設施等基本建設的投資卻遠遠追不上城市化的速度,導致在很多地方,水管愈建愈少,窮人得不到良好的服務,卻要負擔最昂貴的水費。現代城市人沒有好好管理水資源,等於間接危害發展中國家及偏遠地區的居民。

聯合國兒童基金會青年使者會轄下的Green Division遂於昨日下午,在香港的城市中心銅鑼灣行人專用街道,進行「快濺黨」快閃行動,透過西方國家盛行的快閃行動,再注入街頭定 格元素,將兩種極端的生活方式帶到港人的眼前。「快濺黨」策動人區繼文(中五生)表示,「日本的核事件,令港人關注到食水安全的問題,其實在不少第三世界 國家的兒童亦同樣每日都飲用緊一些不安全的食水,以及面對著食水不足的問題!」

區繼文續指,「快『閃』行動正好帶出滴水一『閃』即逝的意思,香港人每人每日所用的水多達220公升,但其實在發展中國家要讓一個兒童生存,每天只須20公升水,我們希望透過我們的行動可讓生活在香港的幸福城市人知道這兩種極端的生活方式,開始反省自己日常的用水習慣,明白有安全及乾淨的食水並非必然的,一起珍惜那些一『閃』即逝的珍貴食水。」

另一位「快濺黨」策動人鍾頴峰就指出,「大家要緊記,我們要關注的水問題,不再只是缺水,而是全球急劇城市化,引致水資源分配極不均衡,當中93% 的城市化過程均是發生於貧窮或發展中國家。」他又呼籲,由今天起大家應一同負起世界公民的責任,實踐慳水生活,並分享了以下的創意慳水點子:

1. 將一個放滿小石子的大膠樽,放進沖厠水箱內,以減少每次沖水的水量,在淡水沖厠的區域成效更佳。
2. 外出用膳時,如果不需要清水,請向餐廳職員盡早說「不」。
3. 當你在調較花灑或水龍頭水溫時,也別讓清水白白流走,可用大碗或水桶盛載起來,用作其他用途。
4. 教導孩子不要玩水,如要嬉水,請到沙灘去。

聯合國兒童基金會估計,全球約有25億人口缺乏經改良的衞生設計,同時有8.84億人口飲用的的水源並不安全。本會多年來一直在超過150個發展中國家及地區落實並推行有關供水、環境衞生及個人衞生(WASH)的工作,包括:與各地社區合作規劃、實施及維護供水和衞生系統;在社區及學校宣傳及教育人民要以肥皂洗手等,以實現聯合國兒童基金會的第7項「千禧發展目標」──即在2015年之前,將不能獲得可持續安全用水和基本衞生條件的人口比例降至一半,以保衛兒童可享生存和發展的權利。