Stand with us: join the #ClimateChain

 

Stand with us: join the #ClimateChain

CC_grid

By Philippa Lysaght

 

New York/ HONG KONG, 18 March 2016 – On World Water Day, people around the world are creating a virtual #ClimateChain and uniting to take action on climate change and protect children and their futures. From the small island nation of Kiribati where rising sea levels threaten to wash away communities, to the dusty plains of the Pauk Township in northern Myanmar – children are standing with their arms outstretched in front of the places they want to protect, and linking up with others around the world. Just search the hashtag #ClimateChain on Instagram, the people will appear to be linked hand to hand across photos.

On the 22 April the chain will be represented when world leaders meet to sign the Paris Climate Agreement in New York– solidifying commitments made during COP21 last year.

UNICEF/Blitz
Nine year old Nay Hlaing stands with arms outspread in Myanmar, where UNICEF supports climate-resilient water supply systems.

How you can participate:

  • Go to a place outdoors you want to protect. What would you hate to lose to climate change? If you are posting on World Water Day, perhaps this place is a river, dry area or the ocean.
  • Get someone to snap a photo of you with your arms outstretched in the #ClimateChain pose.
  • Share your photo on Instagram and tell us about the space you are protecting and why you want to join the chain. Or you could use this caption: I stand in the @UNICEF #ClimateChain in support of children affected by climate change. Stand with me.
  • Don’t forget to add hashtag #ClimateChain or your photo won’t appear on the global chain!

World Water Day is an important moment for climate change, as the effects of climate change are first felt through water: through droughts, floods and storms. These disasters can destroy water supplies, or leave them contaminated, putting the lives of millions of children at risk.

If we can improve equitable access to sustainable water sources, we can help mitigate the impact of climate related weather extremes on children, so that in times of crisis and times of stability, they have access to the clean water they need to survive and grow.

The worst impacts of climate change are not inevitable. World Water Day is an opportunity to demonstrate that change is possible, and to strengthen the demand for global action to create a more sustainable future and to give every child a fair chance. So join the #ClimateChain and speak out!

加入我們一起組成 #ClimateChain

 

加入我們一起組成 #ClimateChain

CC_grid

聯合國兒童基金會通訊部公共宣傳處食水、環境及個人衞生媒體專員菲利帕‧萊薩特(Philippa Lysaght)

 

紐約/香港,2016年3月18日—在世界水資源日,各地人民正連成一個 #ClimateChain,為對抗氣候變化及保護兒童和未來而團結一致。從基里巴斯(Kiribati)因海平面上升要面臨陸沉的小島,到緬甸北部受風塵暴困擾的包鎮(Pauk Township),各地兒童都張開雙臂,與其他兒童組成 #ClimateChain,保護自己的家園。現在只需在Instagram上搜尋「#ClimateChain」關鍵詞,便可看見各地人張開雙臂,連成一綫。

今年4月22日,去年於巴黎氣候峰會達成的共識的各國元首將再在紐約聚首,簽訂《巴黎協定》(Paris Climate Agreement),我們將在當天向在場元首展示我們組成的#ClimateChain,使去年巴黎氣候峰會所達成的成果更為鞏固。

UNICEF/Blitz
UNICEF在緬甸協助建立適應於氣候變化的供水系統。9歲的緬甸女童Nay Hlaing正張開雙臂,加入 #ClimateChain。

您的參與:

  • 到一個您想保護的戶外地方。您不想因氣候變化而失去甚麼?若您選擇在世界水資源日發佈相片,您可以在河川、旱地或海洋拍照。
  • 像其他參加 #ClimateChain的人一樣,張開雙臂,找一位朋友為您拍一張照。
  • 在您的Instagram個人帳號發佈相片,並寫上您想保護的地方和參加 #ClimateChain的原因。您亦可以用以下的內容:「我支持 @unicefhk #ClimateChain 行動,幫助受氣候變化的兒童。立即加入我們!」
  • 記得使用 hashtag功能加入 #ClimateChain 關鍵詞,成為 ClimateChain的一員!

世界水資源日對氣候變化十分關鍵,因為我們最先從水感受到氣候變化帶來的影響,或者旱災、洪水及風暴。這些災難破壞供水系統,或污染水源,讓數以百萬計兒童的生命受到威脅。

若我們能確保有可持續的水資源並平均分配,則可緩和極端氣候對兒童造成的影響——即使面對連年災難,他們都可獲得維持生命及成長所需的清潔食水。

氣候變化帶來、最負面的影響並非無可避免。世界水資源日是一個好機會,告知各界我們仍有轉機,我們呼籲國際協力,共同創造一個更可持續的將來,讓每名兒童都有公平機會發展。立即加入 #ClimateChain,表達您的意見!