The Fifth Stocktaking Report on World AIDS Day: An AIDS-Free Generation is achievable by focusing on the most disadvantaged

 

The Fifth Stocktaking Report on World AIDS Day: An AIDS-Free Generation is achievable by focusing on the most disadvantaged

NEW YORK / Hong Kong, 1 December 2010 – Achieving an AIDS-free generation is possible if the international community steps up efforts to provide universal access to HIV prevention, treatment, and social protection, according toChildren and AIDS: Fifth Stocktaking Report 2010, which was released today in New York. Attaining this goal, however, depends on reaching the most marginalised members of society.

While children in general have benefited enormously from the substantial progress made in the AIDS responses, there are millions of women and children who have fallen through the cracks due to inequities rooted in gender, economic status, geographical location, education level and social status. Lifting these barriers is crucial to universal access to knowledge, care, protection, and the prevention of mother-to-child transmission (PMTCT) for all women and children.

“To achieve an AIDS-free generation we need to do more to reach the hardest hit communities. Every day, nearly 1000 babies in sub-Sarahan Africa are infected with HIV through mother to child transmission,” said Anthony Lake, UNICEF’s Executive Director. “Our Fifth Stocktaking Report on Children and AIDS highlights innovations like the MotherBaby Pack that can bring life-saving ARV treatment to more mothers and their babies than ever before,” said Lake.

Infants are particularly vulnerable to the effects of HIV, which has lent an urgency to the global campaign for early infant diagnosis. While the availability of early infant diagnosis services has increased dramatically in many countries, global coverage still remains low, at only 6 per cent in 2009. Without treatment, about half of the infants infected with HIV die before their second birthday.

While the number of new HIV infections are falling or stabilising in many parts of the world, knowledge about HIV and how to protect yourself remains too low. Adolescents are still becoming infected with HIV because they have neither the knowledge nor the access to services to protect themselves. In 2001, 5.7 million young people aged 15–24 were estimated to be living with HIV, however, the number dropped to 5 million at the end of 2009 which indicates more lives could be saved if people know how to protect themselves with safer behaviours and practices. Tailored-made education programmes on HIV prevention should be provided to youths who are the most vulnerable.

Attaining an AIDS-free generation means erasing the inequities that fuel the epidemic and protecting those who continue to fall through the cracks. Social protection initiatives, including cash transfers and efforts to promote access to services, play an important role in breaking the cycle of vulnerability.

Click here to read the FULL report
Click here to read the Report Summary

「世界愛滋日」發表《兒童與愛滋病:2010年進展報告》 實現「愛滋零世代」關鍵在於針對關注弱勢社群

 

「世界愛滋日」發表《兒童與愛滋病:2010年進展報告》 實現「愛滋零世代」關鍵在於針對關注弱勢社群

紐約/香港,2010121日──今天於美國紐約發表的《兒童與愛滋病:2010年進展報告》指,國際間若能進一步提供普及性的愛滋病毒預防、治療及社會保障,要實現「愛滋零世代」的目標並非不可能,關鍵在於計劃能否顧及到社會上最被邊緣化的一群。

當普遍兒童受惠於過往對抗愛滋病工作所取得的成就同時,世上仍有無數兒童及婦女因性別、經濟條件、地理環境、教育背景及社會地位而承受各種不平等待遇,最終淪為被忽略的一群。只要打破以上障礙,才能成功為全球提供更普及的愛滋病教育、護理、保障,並為所有婦女/兒童提供預防母嬰傳播之措施。

聯合國兒童基金會執行總監安東尼‧雷克(Anthony Lake)指:「要實現『愛滋零世代』,我們必須走進受影響最嚴重的社區。每一天,近1,000撒哈拉以南非洲嬰兒經由母體感染愛滋病毒。」他續指:「第五份關於兒童與愛滋病的進展報告的重點包括新研發的『母嬰醫療包』等創新措施,他們將為嬰兒及母親帶來前所未有的治療果效。」

當嬰兒面對愛滋病毒的影響時,生命變得非常脆弱,估此有需要加快全面實施全球嬰兒診斷計劃。雖然現時許多國家已在嬰兒早期診斷服務方面取得重大的進步,但全球覆蓋率仍然偏低,2009年的數字更只有6%。這些受感染的嬰兒一旦缺乏適當的治療,至少過半數活不過兩歲。

報告顯示,全球有多個地區之愛滋病毒感染人口均有下降或穩定的趨勢,但對於愛滋病毒的認識   普遍卻仍處甚低水平。現時仍有青少年因缺乏對愛滋病毒認識或因得不到保障服務而成為感染者。在2001年,估計有570萬名15–24歲青年為愛滋病毒感染者,而在2009年年底,該數字大幅下跌至 500萬。這數字顯示如能教育年青年人有關安全的行為及保障生命的措施,便能拯救更多生命。估此,報告中提到為高危青年提供度身訂造的教育計劃,從而預防感染愛滋病毒的機會。

實現「愛滋零世代」實等同清除所有助長愛滋病蔓延的不平等因素,及保障被忽略的一群。不同的社會保障如提供補助金及促進各項服務普遍性能有效扭轉弱勢社群的命運。

全份報告下載 (只提供英文報告)
下載報告撮要 (只提供英文報告)