Tsinghua University and UNICEF launch innovation partnership to help reach some of the world’s most disadvantaged children

 

Tsinghua University and UNICEF launch innovation partnership to help reach some of the world’s most disadvantaged children

chingwaha

©UNICEF/China/2016/Wu Kaixiang – UNICEF Deputy Exectuive Director Yoka Brandt meets with officials at Tsinghua University.

The partnership includes the establishment of the Tsinghua Global Innovation Centre for Children

BEIJING/HONG KONG, 22 March 2016 – Tsinghua University and UNICEF announced a new long-term partnership to leverage the use of innovation, design and technology, in helping to reach some of the poorest and most disadvantaged children across the world.

The partnership, launched at an official signing event at Tsinghua by Chancellor of Tsinghua University Dr Chen Xu and UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Yoka Brandt, will bring together creative problem solvers from China and around the world to develop innovative solutions towards meeting the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) adopted by United Nations Member States in September 2015.

Innovation is a critical part of achieving sustainable development and the Government of China is committed to building on the success of the Millennium Development Goals and achieving the SDGs. The SDGs, and how China will work to achieve them, are aligned to China’s 13th Five-Year Plan.

“Tsinghua is dedicated to educating the next generation of innovators who are committed to bring about transformational technological breakthrough as well as positive social change. Partnering with UNICEF provides an opportunity for Tsinghua to partake in the global cause for children and sustainable development,” Dr Chen Xu said.

The partnership includes the establishment of a Global Innovation Centre for Children, which will create products and services to improve the wellbeing of the most vulnerable children in China and beyond. The partnership aims to use innovation to leverage cross-sectorial collaboration from academia, young people, and the private sector as well as South-South cooperation.

“This partnership is an exciting opportunity to tackle some of the immense challenges faced by children in China and across the world, through creative and innovative solutions,” Brandt said. “The new partnership with Tsinghua University is a vehicle for concrete and practical action to improve the lives of millions of children.”

The high-level and strategic partnership was signed after two years of cooperation that has included a youth-focused “Design for UNICEF” class, which exposed young people to some of the real challenges children face, and potential solutions, as well as a Youth Innovation Forum which brought together young innovators from the Global South last October.

The partnership will:

  • Jointly create human-centred, open source products and services to support the most vulnerable children and women, especially in developing countries, leveraging private and public sector advancements in areas including real-time information, big data, wearable and mobile technologies;
  • Identify exemplary projects, products and services developed in China that can improve welfare, public services and governance, and evaluate their potential to be adapted, localized and scaled-up in other contexts, and contribute to international development and South-South cooperation;
  • Enhance the leadership, global citizenship and innovation capacity of young people, and inspire them to create public goods and generate positive social and global value;
  • Improve the understanding of children’s welfare and sustainable development, and encourage public dialogues and participation in initiatives aimed at improving children’s lives.

清華大學與聯合國兒童基金會啟動創新合作 服務全球弱勢兒童

 

清華大學與聯合國兒童基金會啟動創新合作 服務全球弱勢兒童

chingwaha

©UNICEF/China/2016/Wu Kaixiang – 聯合國兒童基金會副執行主任尤卡 · 布蘭德會見清華大學的官員。

 

雙方的合作將包括籌建清華大學全球創新中心

北京/香港,2015年3月22日 – 清華大學和聯合國兒童基金會宣佈啟動新的長期合作夥伴關係,旨在借助創新、科技與設計之力,造福世界上最貧困、最弱勢的兒童。

在清華大學校園內所舉行的簽字儀式上,清華大學黨委書記陳旭與聯合國兒童基金會副執行主任尤卡 · 布蘭德( Yoka Brandt )已共同簽署合作協定。 此合作關係將聚集來自中國和其他國家、有創意的人才,攜手研究具創新性的解決方案,為實現由聯合國各成員國在2015年9月通過的可持續發展目標作出貢獻。

創新是實現可持續發展的關鍵之一。 繼落實千年發展目標後,中國正致力落實可持續發展目標。中國為達致目標而所做的工作,以至落實2030年的可持續發展目標,亦與中國第十三個五年規劃的目標一致。

陳旭說: 「 清華大學致力於培養能夠帶來變革性技術突破和積極社會影響的新一代創新人才。 與聯合國兒童基金會的合作為清華大學提供了一個參與全球兒童和可持續發展事業的機會。 」

雙方的合作將包括籌建清華大學全球創新中心。該中心將通過新設的創新產品和服務,改善中國及其他發展中國家最弱勢兒童的福祉。清華大學與聯合國兒童基金會的合作夥伴關係會藉創新推動學術界、企業界和青年學生跨界別合作,及促進發展中國家之間的「南南合作 (South-South cooperation)」。

「雙方的合作關係提供了一個激動人心的機會,即利用創新性的手段來應對中國乃至全球兒童所面臨的一些挑戰,」 布蘭德說。「通過新的合作,聯合國兒童基金會與清華大學將尋求切實可行的方案以改善億萬兒童的生活。」

清華大學與聯合國兒童基金會今次建立的高級別、策略性合作夥伴關係,有賴雙方過去兩年間的成功合作基礎。 這些合作包括旨在鼓勵清華學子、解決兒童所面臨的問題的「為UNICEF設計」課程,以及去年10月舉辦、吸引南半球發展中國家的青年創新人才聚首的 「青年創新論壇」。

基於雙方的合作關係,清華大學與聯合國兒童基金會將開展以下活動:

  • 利用公共部門和私營企業在即時資訊採集、大數據、可佩戴及移動技術等領域所取得的技術成果,共同為最脆弱的兒童和婦女提供幫助,特別是針對發展中國家的兒童和婦女,打造以人為本、開源的產品與服務 ;
  • 在中國挑選出能夠改善公共服務與管理以及弱勢群體福祉的示範項目、產品和服務,評估它們能否在其他地區應用、本土化及推廣,以助推國際發展及南南合作;
  • 培養青年人的領導才能、世界公民意識和創新能力,鼓勵他們開發公共產品,創造社會和全球價值;
  • 提高社會對兒童福祉、可持續發展問題的認知,鼓勵公眾就改善兒童生活展開討論並參與相關項目。