UNICEF appealed for HK$101M in response to urgent needs of clean water supply from 2.2 million children affected by typhoon Bopha in the Philippines

 

UNICEF appealed for HK$101M in response to urgent needs of clean water supply from 2.2 million children affected by typhoon Bopha in the Philippines

30

HONG KONG, 12 December 2012 — UNICEF is responding to the urgent needs of 2.2 million children affected by the strong typhoon Bopha which slammed into the South Philippines in early December. The typhoon killed 647 people, over 5.4 million people, including 2.2 million children are affected, and 780 people are still missing. UNICEF appealed for HK$ 101 million from Hong Kong and global citizens to support the immediate assistance of education, nutrition, child protection, water, sanitation and hygiene to affected children and families.

Typhoon Bopha, known locally as Pablo, is the strongest typhoon to hit the Southern Philippines in decades, triggering flash floods and landslides, and killed 647 people. The UN joint assessment team reported 100 per cent destruction in many rural and mountainous areas and 5.4 million people in over 1,900 villages are affected. 130,000 people are now staying in evacuation centres. Classes remain suspended in those areas where there was extensive damage to the schools. At least 307 schools were partially or totally destroyed and 156 other schools are now used as evacuation centres.

UNICEF is particularly concerned about the provision of clean water, as all water facilities have either been damaged or contaminated, which could lead to an outbreak of cholera, diarrhoea, malaria and dengue fever that threaten children’s lives. It has dispatched 3,000 water kits and hygiene kits, and 1,000 tarpaulins kits to the affected areas. More hygiene and waters kits are also ready to be delivered to 8,000 families. These kits include water containers, water purification tablets to ensure clean, safe water, and soap, toothbrush and toothpaste, sanitary napkins to keep families healthy.

UNICEF and other UN agencies, non-government organisations are working alongside the Government to develop an action plan for recovery for six months. Nutrition supplies and emergency health kits have been sent to affected areas.

UNICEF has teams in the areas most affected and will continue to assess and respond to the needs of children and families, and is now appealing for HK$101 million (US$13 million) to support the relief work. “We hope Hong Kong public would also join the effort to help children and their families by supporting UNICEF’s emergency relief work,” said Ms Irene Chan, Chief Executive of Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF. “One single water purification tablet from your donation is able to turn four to five liters of dirty water into safe drinking water, helping the affected children and families. Every individual has the power to save children’s lives, please join hands with UNICEF to help the children in need.”

Donation for the affected areas in the Philippines:

Online donation: www.unicef.org.hk/donate
Direct Bank-in:
HSBC: 567-354-014-005
Bank of China: 012-875-1-0810855
Wing Lung Bank: 020-601-003-76352
Bank of East Asia: 015-260-81-012100
Cheque: Payable to ‘Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF’
(Please send us the cheque with personal details with remark ‘Philippines Typhoon’ at the back and send to ‘Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF, 3/F, 60 Blue Pool Road, Happy Valley, Hong Kong.’)
PPS: Please use your contact number as the bill number. Press UNICEF merchant code: 6012, and then select bill type 3 “emergency”.
Hotline: 2833 6139

(In the unusual event that donations to the Philippines exceed the needs, we will direct your gift to children in greatest need elsewhere.)

– END –

颱風寶霞重創菲律賓 220萬名兒童亟需救援 聯合國兒童基金會呼籲港幣1.01億元善款 為受災兒童提供清潔食水

 

颱風寶霞重創菲律賓 220萬名兒童亟需救援 聯合國兒童基金會呼籲港幣1.01億元善款 為受災兒童提供清潔食水

新聞稿 12:00
30

香港,2012年12月12日──強烈颱風寶霞本月初吹襲菲律賓南部,目前已造成647人死亡,780人失蹤,受災人數多達約540萬名,當中220萬名為兒童。聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)迅速展開救援行動,同時呼籲港幣1.01億元善款,以繼續支持教育、營養、兒童保護、食水及環境衞生等賑災工作。有關捐款戶口已經設立,讓港人亦能加入救助行列,一同拯救兒童脫離險境。

寶霞是襲擊菲律賓最強勁的世紀颱風,觸發連場暴雨,造成多處嚴重氾濫、山泥傾瀉,至今已有647人喪命。超過1,900個社區的540萬名居民受到影響,聯合國組織派遣的聯合評估小組更形容,多個受寶霞吹襲的農村及山區均遭到「百分百」破壞,逾13萬人已安排入住收容中心。在學校損毀情況嚴重的地區,學生被迫全面停課。至少307所學校受到部分或全部破損,156所學校需用作臨時支援中心。

UNICEF特別關注災區的食水供應。當地所有供水設施都遭到污染,甚至遭到破壞,隨時令兒童感染霍亂、腹瀉、瘧疾和登革熱等致命傳染病。UNICEF向災區提供3,000個食水及衞生套裝,以及1,000個防水套裝,預防疾病傳播。更多食水與公共及個人衞生物資如淨水丸、儲水裝備等將陸續運抵災區,預料可惠及8,000個家庭。

UNICEF與一眾聯合國機構、合作伙伴與政府,已聯手訂下為期6個月的行動,以應付短期及長期的災區重建需要,包括即時運送營養補給物資及緊急醫療套裝至災區,全力支援受災市民。

而在災情最嚴重的地區,UNICEF有隊伍留守,積極救援、評估並回應受災兒童及其家庭的最新需要,同時呼籲港幣1.01億元善款(1,300萬美元)支持救援工作。聯合國兒童基金香港委員會總幹事陳文端女士表示:「希望香港市民加入我們的救援行列,捐款支持UNICEF回應菲律賓受災兒童各項不可或缺的需要,即使只捐出一粒淨水丸,已足夠將4至5公升水淨化,為受災兒童及家庭提供安全食水。請相信您的力量可以拯救兒童的生命。」

「菲律賓風災」捐款資料:

網上捐款: www.unicef.org.hk/donate
直接銀行存款: 匯豐銀行:567-354-014-005
中國銀行:012-875-1-0810855
永隆銀行:020-601-003-76352
東亞銀行:015-260-81-012100
郵寄捐款: 請把抬頭寫上「聯合國兒童基金香港委員會」的支票(支票背面請註明「菲律賓風災」)
連同個人資料郵寄至地址:香港跑馬地藍塘道60號3樓聯合國兒童基金香港委員會)
繳費靈捐款: 請以 閣下的聯絡電話作賬單號碼,輸入商戶編號「6012」,選擇「3.緊急救援」為繳付賬單內容。
捐款熱線: 請致電2833 6139。

(籌得之善款若多於「菲律賓風災」賑災所需,剩餘善款將撥作支持聯合國兒童基金會其他緊急救援項目)

– 完 –