UNICEF appeals for HK$10 billion for its humanitarian operations to assist children. Hong Kong people are encouraged to support and pass on the New Year blessings

 

UNICEF appeals for HK$10 billion for its humanitarian operations to assist children. Hong Kong people are encouraged to support and pass on the New Year blessings

35

GENEVA/ HONG KONG, 31 January 2012 – UNICEF appealed for HK$10 billion (US$1.28 billion) to fund its humanitarian operations in 2012, assisting children in more than 25 countries globally in the recently-launched 2012 Humanitarian Action for Children report. While the crisis in Somalia and other countries in the Horn of Africa accounts for nearly one-third of the total required fund, the report also highlights many long standing or so-called “silent emergencies”, which emergency preparedness and building resilience are critical in reducing death and injury. During the time that the city is filled with the Year of the Dragon celebrations, the Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF wishes every Hong Kong person a healthy year, and encourages the public to give a generous support so that blessings can be passed to children in need.

UNICEF’s 2012 Humanitarian Action for Children report describes the daily situation of some of the world’s most vulnerable children and women caught up in emergencies across the world and the funding required to meet their immediate and long-term needs, their right to healthy survival and development. Some of the humanitarian needs are noted in the below situations:

Children and their families displaced by violence stemming from the November 2010 elections in Cote d’Ivoire and the independence of South Sudan from the Republic of the Sudan; the five million people affected by a second year of flooding in Pakistan and the operation to rebuild Haiti two years after an earthquake shattered the poorest country in the western hemisphere; the wave of political turmoil and change in the Middle East and North Africa as creating humanitarian needs in the region especially in countries such as Yemen which is already affected by a long standing emergency crisis.


Affected by the worst food crisis of the century, it is estimated that more than 13 million people are in need of humanitarian assistance throughout the Horn of Africa. In Somalia where famine has taken a harsh toll on children, about 36 per cent of children under five are suffering from acute malnutrition. In 2012, UNICEF will continue to support and coordinate the humanitarian work in the region with nearly one-third of the requested funds.
While much of the attention focuses on the Horn of Africa, UNICEF also realises and reacts to the humanitarian needs in the many long-standing emergencies, or so-called the “silent” emergencies around the globe. “In the Sahel, we are facing a nutrition crisis of a larger magnitude than usual. In addition, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Chad and the Central African Republic, to name just a few, are all emergencies requiring funding if their most vulnerable people, children and women, are to survive,” said Rima Salah, UNICEF Deputy Executive Director (a.i.).
The UNICEF reports says: “Throughout the world, millions of children are living amidst crises that persist for years. While some of these emergencies attract significant media and political attention, others never reach international awareness, and many become ‘silent emergencies’ in which deep humanitarian need, existing far from the public eye, is too easily and quickly overlooked.”
The conflict in the East and Northeast of the Democratic Republic of Congo continues to have a profound impact on millions of people over many years, according to the report. As of June 2011, more than 1.5 million people, half of them children, were displaced by ethnic violence. Millions of children in conflict-affected areas were out of school, and attacks involving mass sexual violence were common in some provinces, and measles and cholera epidemics threatened the lives of many millions of children.
 
The report stresses the importance of emergency preparedness and building resilience as critical in reducing death and injury in emergency situations. “We have achieved many positive results in emergency settings in 2011 but the urgent and long term needs of millions of children and their families will continue in 2012. UNICEF requires adequate funding in order to fulfill its commitments towards children.” Salah said.

“Children represent the future but are the most vulnerable. We should give our utmost attention and care to nurture their development,” Ms Irene Chan, Chief Executive of Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF, encourages Hong Kong people to share their joy with children in the developing countries: “When we are sending blessings to children with red packets, we may think about sending real help to children in need as well. Children are also welcomed to share their lucky money with their peers in emergency situations and exemplify the spirit of ‘Kids Helping Kids’”.

亟需全球善款港幣百億元 支援UNICEF人道主義行動 呼籲港人將龍年福氣惠澤更多兒童

 

亟需全球善款港幣百億元 支援UNICEF人道主義行動 呼籲港人將龍年福氣惠澤更多兒童

新聞稿 12:00
35
日內瓦/香港,2012年1月31日——聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)最新發表了《針對兒童的人道主義行動報告2012》,呼籲世界各地籌集約港幣100億元善款(相等於12.8億美元),以支持UNICEF今年在全球逾25個國家採取的人道救援行動,拯救及援助有需要的兒童。有關行動預料將動用近1/3撥款幫助正處於嚴重糧食危機的「非洲之角」國家,並且針對多個長期受困於危機狀況或正面對「沉默危機」的國家,制訂緊急應變及防範計劃,設法減少危機所造成的傷亡。踏入壬辰龍年,聯合國兒童基金香港委員會祝願全港市民身體健康,並鼓勵大家將接收到的福氣惠澤更多亟待援手的兒童。

 

《針對兒童的人道主義行動報告2012》闡述了在全球各地不同的緊急情況下,脆弱的婦女及兒童每日所面臨的衝擊,同時提出了拯救他們脫離危機的善款需求,以滿足他們的即時及長遠需要,及得享健康生存及發展的權利。各地的兒童及其家庭人道需求概況如下:

 

2010年科特迪瓦總統大選及去年南蘇丹獨立觸發的暴力衝突,導致不少兒童及家庭至今依然流離失所;巴基斯坦兩年內第二度遭逢洪災侵襲,500萬名民眾受災;海地大地震兩周年,重建這個西半球最貧困國家的重任仍然未能休止。在中東及北非地區的政局動盪,亦令當地的人道救援需求急切上升,其中在也門,由於長期處於緊急狀態,再加上政局不穩,致令當地的危機進一步升級。
至於去年爆發世紀糧食危機的「非洲之角」,至今仍有1,300萬人等待人道救援,當中一度陷入饑荒的南索馬里,估計仍有36%五歲以下兒童患有急性營養不良。在2012年,UNICEF將動用近1/3撥款延續在「非洲之角」的人道救援工作,拯救更多生命垂危的婦女及兒童。


在關注「非洲之角」糧食危機的同時,UNICEF亦都致力紓解眾多正面對「沉默危機」或長期處於危機狀況下的地區的困境。UNICEF副執行主任Rima Salah女士表示:「非洲的薩赫勒地區正面臨大規模的營養不良危機;又如剛果、查德、中非共和國等,順手拈來,已可舉出多個國家正急需資金延續緊急救援工作,拯救兒童及婦女等待救的弱勢社群生命。」

有關報告亦揭露了一些長期、但備受忽略的危機的最新狀況:「一些持續多年的危機,正影響全球數以百萬計兒童,當中有部分成功引起媒體和政府的迴響,但一部分的危機卻永遠得不到國際社會的關注,這些鮮為人知的『沉默危機』所引發的人道需求,往往易被大眾忽略。」

以剛果東部及東北部地區發生的種族衝突為例,報告指,由2011年6月至今,當地的暴力事件已導致逾150萬名民眾流離失所,當中半數為兒童。而在受災地區,多達數以百萬計兒童失學,部分省份更經常出現兒童集體遭受性暴力對待的情況,麻疹及霍亂等傳染病亦威脅着無數兒童的生命。

為了減少各種危機所造成的傷亡數目,必須及早制訂緊急應變及防範計劃,同時增強各地的抗災抗逆能力。Rima Salah女士表示:「雖然我們的緊急救援工作在2011年取得成果,但數以百萬計兒童和其家庭的急切及長遠需求,在今年仍然存在,UNICEF必需有足夠的善款支持,去繼續實踐對兒童許下的承諾。」

「兒童不但代表將來,也代表著世界上最脆弱的一群,值得我們更多關注,慷慨支持,協助他們茁壯成長及發展。」適逢本港正值新春,聯合國兒童基金香港委員會總幹事陳文端女士呼籲港人與有需要的兒童分享節日祝福:「新春佳節,在給兒童紅封包的同時,希望大家亦顧念到世界各地有需要的兒童,給他們送上一份實質的支持;我們也鼓勵『兒童幫助兒童』,小朋友接受到長輩的祝福,也可將祝福分享給其他脆弱的兒童。」
按此下載新聞稿照片