UNICEF concerned about children in unreached areas affected by Typhoon Koppu/Lando UNICEF appeals for HK$21.8 million (US$2.8 million) for replenishment of supplies

 

UNICEF concerned about children in unreached areas affected by Typhoon Koppu/Lando UNICEF appeals for HK$21.8 million (US$2.8 million) for replenishment of supplies

In this picture shows stranded motorists in the aftermath of typhoon Koppu that hit Palayan city, Nueva Ecija province, Monday, October 19, 2015. Typhoon Koppu smashed in the Northern Philippines causing widespread damages to properties and crops as well displacing thousands of people. ÊÊ

© UNICEF Philippines/2015/Jeoffrey Maitem

Stranded motorists in the aftermath of typhoon Koppu that hit Palayan city, Nueva Ecija province. The slow moving Typhoon Koppu/Lando has brought torrential rain and strong winds, causing floods, flying debris, power outages, downed communication lines, and damaged roads and bridges.

Manila/HONG KONG, 19 October 2015 — UN children’s agency UNICEF is on high alert after Typhoon Koppu (Local name Lando) made landfall in the Philippines on Sunday morning. The slow moving typhoon has brought torrential rain and strong winds, causing floods, landslides, flying debris, power outages, downed communication lines, and damaged roads and bridges.
A mother carries her daughter as they evacuate from the typhoon hit town of Laur, Nueva Ecija province, Monday, October 19, 2015. Typhoon Koppu smashed in the Northern Philippines causing widespread damages to properties and crops as well displacing thousands of people.Ê Ê
© UNICEF Philippines/2015/Jeoffrey Maitem
A mother carries her daughter as they evacuate from the town of Laur, Nueva Ecija, in the aftermath of Typhoon Koppu. UNICEF is concerned about the wellbeing of children in areas affected by the typhoon, which includes mountainous and hard-to-reach areas.
According to today’s Government reports, 55,554 persons have been evacuated. More than 12,125 families are now staying in 136 evacuation centers; 104,299 people have been displaced.

Around 15 incidents of flooding were reported in Pangasinan, Isabela, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac and Bulacan. Assessments planned in the coming week will confirm numbers and extent of impact as communication with affected communities are restored later in the week. UNICEF notes the government’s preparedness and early action in pre-emptive evacuation and wide spread public information have minimized damage to life and property. The Government has activated response clusters.

In any event of disasters, children are the most vulnerable. UNICEF activated its emergency preparedness measures days before the typhoon struck the archipelago.

“UNICEF’s first priority is to ensure children are safe and protected. Following a typhoon, children face risks from contaminated water sources, lack of food, epidemics such as cholera, hypothermia, diarrhea and pneumonia. Secondly, we must ensure that the rhythm of children’s lives are restored and that they get back to school as soon as possible,” UNICEF Philippines Representative Lotta Sylwander says, “Typhoon Koppu’s slow moving path includes mountainous and hard-to-reach areas, we are concerned about the wellbeing of all affected children. UNICEF is ready to move with response as soon as asked by the Government.”
While reports from affected areas are trickling in, UNICEF’s emergency experts foresee needs in restoration of safe water supply for flooded areas, health and nutrition specifically support for breastfeeding mothers and new born children, and resumption of children’s education. UNICEF has prepositioned supplies for about 12,000 families which include water purification tablets, hygiene kits, medicines, school supplies, therapeutic food, tents and generators.
UNICEF appeals for HK$21.8 million (US$2.8 million) for replenishment of supplies. Typhoon Koppu is the 12th tropical cyclone to enter the Philippines this year. The country typically experiences over 20 typhoons a year. This year is predicted to bring more intense typhoons in the latter part as a result of the El Niño phenomenon. Currently, there is another Typhoon, named Champi, looming on the Philippines.
Donate NOW to support Typhoon Koppu response

聯合國兒童基金會關注受颱風巨爵影響的兒童 UNICEF急需港幣2,184萬元補充救援物資

 

聯合國兒童基金會關注受颱風巨爵影響的兒童 UNICEF急需港幣2,184萬元補充救援物資

In this picture shows stranded motorists in the aftermath of typhoon Koppu that hit Palayan city, Nueva Ecija province, Monday, October 19, 2015. Typhoon Koppu smashed in the Northern Philippines causing widespread damages to properties and crops as well displacing thousands of people. ÊÊ

© UNICEF Philippines/2015/Jeoffrey Maitem

颱風巨爵吹襲新怡詩夏省(Neuva Ecija province)巴拉望市(Palawan city)後,交通陷於癱瘓。颱風移動速度雖然減慢,但帶來的狂風暴雨引發水浸和山泥傾瀉,多處遍佈沙石瓦礫,能源供應及通訊中斷,多處道路及橋樑被破壞。

馬尼拉/香港,2015年10月19日—剛過去的周日早上,颱風巨爵吹襲菲律賓,聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)密切關注風災事態發展。颱風移動速度雖然緩慢,但帶來的狂風暴雨引發山洪暴發、山泥傾瀉,多處遍佈沙石瓦礫,能源供應及通訊中斷,多處道路及橋樑被破壞。
A mother carries her daughter as they evacuate from the typhoon hit town of Laur, Nueva Ecija province, Monday, October 19, 2015. Typhoon Koppu smashed in the Northern Philippines causing widespread damages to properties and crops as well displacing thousands of people.Ê Ê
© UNICEF Philippines/2015/Jeoffrey Maitem
颱風巨爵吹襲過後,一名母親抱着女兒從新怡詩夏省(Neuva Ecija Province)勞爾鎮(Laur)正要疏散。颱風巨爵波及山區及偏遠地區,UNICEF十分關注受災兒童的情況。
根據今日政府資料,55,554人已經被疏散,超過12,125個家庭現暫居於136個臨時庇護中心,104,229人流離失所。

在邦阿西楠省(Pangasinan)、伊莎貝拉省(Isabela)、新怡詩夏省(Nueva Ecija)、丹轆省(Tarlac)及布拉干省(Bulacan)共錄得15宗水浸報告。待下周災區的通訊復修好,政府將展開評估,以確認受災人數及受影響程度。UNICEF了解菲律賓政府在災前作出的準備,包括提早疏散民眾及廣播颱風資訊,大大減低風災對民生及財產造成的破壞。同時,政府已啟動應變小組,着手對應風災。

災難當前,兒童永遠是最脆弱的一群。在颱風吹襲菲律賓群島前數天,UNICEF已啟動緊急應變措施。

UNICEF駐菲律賓代表Lotta Sylwander說:「我們的首要目標是要確保所有兒童安全和受到保護,因為風災過後水源受到污染、食物供應不足、傳染病如霍亂、低溫症、腹瀉和肺炎等,都會對兒童構成威脅。其次,我們必須確保盡快讓兒童重過災前生活,如常重返學校上課。颱風巨爵移動速度雖然減慢,但波及山區及偏遠的地段,因此我們十分關注受災兒童的情況。UNICEF已經準備好與政府攜手合作,迅速應對風災。

受災地區正陸續匯報災情,UNICEF緊急救援專家預計,要為受洪水影響的地區的復修供水設施以提供安全食水,哺乳媽媽及新生兒亦要特別的醫療及營養支援,並讓受災兒童繼續學業。UNICEF已預備了救援物資,如淨水丸、衞生套裝、藥物、教育物資、營養治療食物、帳篷及發電機等,為12,000個家庭提供支援。

UNICEF急需港幣2,184萬元(280萬美元)以補充救援物資。颱風巨爵已是今年第12個登陸菲律賓的熱帶氣旋。菲律賓每年平均受超過20個颱風吹襲。受厄爾尼諾現象影響,預計今年菲律賓將受更多更強烈的颱風吹襲。現時,尚有另一個颱風薔琵(Champi)逐漸迫近菲律賓。

立即捐款支持颱風巨爵風災的救援工作