UNICEF HK expands Child Rights Advocacy Project this year to accept application throughout the year in support of more children in need in HK

 

UNICEF HK expands Child Rights Advocacy Project this year to accept application throughout the year in support of more children in need in HK

13
HONG KONG, 28 April 2013 — Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) announced the expansion of the ‘Unite for Children. Unite for Hong Kong.’ Child Rights Advocacy Project (the Project) today after the successful trial in the past two years. Local NGOs are invited to apply for the funding to put their ideas related to child rights advocacy into action, and join UNICEF HK to champion for the rights of the needy and neglected children in Hong Kong. To continue the outreach efforts to reach the unreachable, from now on, UNICEF HK accepts year-round application for the Project and considers two-year collaboration project with NGOs which share similar vision as UNICEF and propose worthwhile projects for children.

Over the trial period in 2011 and 2012, the Project allocated a total of HK$1.5 million every year for three selected projects submitted by NGOs (up to HK$500,000 for each project annually) to foster child-related work and received an overwhelming response of almost 40 applications. Tens of thousands of marginalised children and their families were benefited from the six supported projects.
Ms Leonie Ki, Vice Chairman and Chairman of Advocacy and Public Relations Committee of UNICEF HK said, “We are encouraged by the remarkable results achieved in these two years, but we never forget those who are still beyond reach and in need of help. That is why we decided to step up the project this year and allow local NGOs to work on a longer term. We welcome year-round application, allowing interested NGOs more flexibility to plan and execute projects that coincide with their work schedule, fiscal year and manpower arrangement.” She continued, “In the past two years, we have reviewed some foresighted and sustainable projects. We believe by extending the term of funding, supporting potential projects up to a maximum of two years, we can achieve even better results, more children in need will be benefited.”
The  Project is now open for application to all Hong Kong NGOs which engage in one of the following areas of work for local children: 1) General implementation work of child rights to survival, development, protection and/or participation; 2) Work for development and survival needs of poverty children; 3) Work for development and survival needs of minority groups of children, i.e. ethnic minority; 4) Work for children suffering from drug abuse; and/or 5) Work for children suffering from physical, mental, and sexual abuse and who are neglected. The maximum amount of funding for each project per year is HK$500,000.

The three selected projects last year were “All-Night Net Walker” by Youth Outreach, “Project P.E.A.C.E.: Pilot Drug and Sex Education for Children” by Community Drug Advisory Council and “Playright UNICEF Inclusive Play 2012” by Playright Children’s Play Association. They have all achieved encouraging results in over the past year.
“Playright UNICEF Inclusive Play 2012” by Playright Children’s Play Association improved the play situation of children with physical impairment by educating and promoting the concept of ‘inclusive playground’. Numerous students’ activities with parents and teachers’ workshops were held so far for children to experience ‘inclusive play’ and the needs of play environment for children with physical impairment were also investigated through survey. A professional guideline on playground development is expected to be released this year and will be then distributed to developers, Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Buildings Department, Urban Renewal Authority, schools and playground facilities suppliers etc for planning and renewal of play facilitates, and set up of inclusive playgrounds.

Youth Outreach’s “All-Night Net Walker” is the first-ever youth intervention project in Hong Kong utilising popular social media platforms such as WhatsApp and Line to reach problematic youth. It also trained “Internet Ambassadors” who used to be former triad members or drugs abusers to reach youths at high risk. The project is expected to reach over 4,000 youths online and provide them with positive messages to reform their lives.

“Project P.E.A.C.E.: Pilot Drug and Sex Education for Children” by Community Drug Advisory Council, aroused ethnic minority children’s and parents’ awareness on drugs and sex to tackle drug abuse and early mature youth issues through providing education programmes for 1,500 children, ambassador training for 120 children and training sessions for 200 parents.

‘Unite for Children. Unite for Hong Kong.’ Child Rights Advocacy Project is designed to realise and promote child rights in Hong Kong in 2011 to celebrate the 25th anniversary of Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF. Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF hopes to raise overall awareness of child rights through this project. We hope to work with the community to directly benefit local children and make Hong Kong more child-friendly. For more details of the project, please visit:www.unicef.org.hk/uniteforhk



– END –

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會「兒童權利倡議計劃」升格 全年開放申請 以助更多有需要的本港兒童

 

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會「兒童權利倡議計劃」升格 全年開放申請 以助更多有需要的本港兒童

新聞稿 12:00
13
香港,2013年4月28日──聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)「『攜手香港,與孩同行』──兒童權利倡議計劃」試驗計劃成效令人滿意,今天宣布將進一步拓展「兒童權利倡議計劃」(計劃),邀請本地非牟利機構申請撥款,推動本地兒童福利項目,與UNICEF HK攜手並肩深入陣地,幫助本港被人忽略的兒童,捍衛他們的兒童權利。為繼續外展工作,接觸更多被忽略的兒童,UNICEF HK決定由即日起「計劃」將全年開放接受申請;與UNICEF HK有擁護同樣信念,兼具遠景的優秀申請項目,更有機會獲批資助兩年。

 

自2011年兩年試行以來,計劃每年撥款港幣150萬元,各資助3家合資格非牟利團體(各項目每年最高資助額為港幣50萬元),推動與兒童相關的工作,反應熱烈,累積獲近40個項目申請。而過去兩年,所資助的6個兒童福利項目,合共已服務了數以萬計活在邊緣、長期被忽略的兒童及其家庭。
UNICEF HK副主席、推廣及公共關係委員會主席紀文鳳女士表示,「雖然兩年試行計劃的成績,令人鼓舞,但本港尚有更多兒童有待我們伸出援手、尚有更多被忽略的兒童問題急需我們解決,故此今年我們『升格』計劃,希望進一步支援有志的非牟利團體開展長期兒童福利工作。我們全年無休,接受申請,以提升計劃的彈性,配合不同機構的工作計劃、財政年度及人手安排,讓更多有需要的兒童得以受惠。」她續指,「過去兩年,我們審視了一些有遠景、具有相當不俗延續性的項目,我們相信如果能夠延長資助期,其果效將可發揮得更理想。所以在新一年計劃下,如有具潛力的優秀項目提交申請,最多將可獲批資助達兩年。」
計劃由即日起正式啟動,全年接受全港非牟利機構提交申請,申請機構必須從事以下其中一項與本港兒童相關的工作:1)實踐兒童的生存、發展、保護及/或參與權利;2)提供貧窮兒童的生存及發展需要;3)提供少數族裔兒童的生存及發展需要;4)受吸毒影響的兒童之相關工作;5)受身、心、性虐待或疏忽照顧影響的兒童之相關工作。獲選的兒童權利相關項目,每年將獲得最高50萬元資助。
去年3個獲資助的項目,分別為智樂兒童遊樂協會的「Playright UNICEF 遊樂共融計劃2012」、協青社的「機動網絡行者」,以及社區藥物教育輔導會的「P.E.A.C.E兒童藥物及性教育先導計劃」。各項目自過去一年開展以來,成績令人鼓舞。

智樂兒童遊樂協會的「Playright UNICEF 遊樂共融計劃2012」,致力改善殘障兒童的待遇,教育大眾「共融遊樂」的理念,以推動本港「共融遊樂場」的發展。計劃至今已開展了多場「遊樂場難忘之旅」學生活動及家長及老師教育工作坊,並就殘疾兒童對公共遊樂空間的需要展開了評估調查,預料本年中將可發布全港首份《遊樂場業界專業指引》。有關《指引》將呈交予各大發展商、政府康文署、屋宇署、市建局、學校、遊樂設施供應商等,以鼓勵各持份者在規劃、翻新遊樂設施時,考慮就本港建立「共融遊樂場」設施提出的具體建議。

另外,由協青社推動的「機動網絡行者」,開創了全港首個以WhatsApp、Line等熱門社交媒體平台,介入青少年危機,並同時培訓曾有濫藥或黑社會經歷的「過來人」為「網絡大使」,與高危青少年全接觸,預期整項計劃可接觸超過4,000名青少年,向他們傳遞正面信息,助他們重過積極正面的生活。

針對濫藥及青少年早熟問題,另一獲資助的社區藥物教育輔導會「P.E.A.C.E兒童藥物及性教育先導計劃」,主力與少數族裔兒童和家長接觸,提高他們對藥物及性方面的意識,除了向1,500名兒童提供課程,120名兒童亦可接受大使訓練,200名家長亦會同時接受訓練。

「『攜手香港,與孩同行』──兒童權利倡議計劃」於2011年為慶祝聯合國兒童基金香港委員會創會25周年而創立,旨在推動及實踐本地兒童的權益,致力與本地非牟利機構合作,攜手為兒童,使香港成為一個更兒童友好的城市。請瀏覽以下網頁了解計劃詳情:www.unicef.org.hk/uniteforhk



– 完 –