UNICEF HK Global Handwashing Day “Soap for Good” project was successfully held in the newly opened SoCO New World, 2,000 recycled soap bars were given to families in Shum Shui Po Promoting the importance of handwashing with soap

 

UNICEF HK Global Handwashing Day “Soap for Good” project was successfully held in the newly opened SoCO New World, 2,000 recycled soap bars were given to families in Shum Shui Po Promoting the importance of handwashing with soap

23
HONG KONG, 14 October 2012 – The Chow Tai Fook Charity Foundation and the Society for Community Organization (SoCO) announced today the official opening of the SoCO New World Community Centre. The new community centre supports underprivileged families with wide-ranging services, including training and employment opportunities, to help lift them out of poverty.
This project is funded by a HK$12 million donation from the Chow Tai Fook Charity Foundation to cover establishment costs and the operating expenses for the first five years. Run and managed by SoCO, the SoCO New World Community Centre is located at 1/F, Fuk Kiang Building, 208A Fuk Wah Street, Sham Shui Po. It serves the residents of Lai Chi Kok, Cheung Sha Wan, Sham Shui Po, Shek Kip Mei and Tai Kok Tsui, an area with around 100,000 households living in poverty. The centre’s services include children’s learning and adult employment support services, a pilot scheme for campus-based after-school child care, personal training and value-added services, consultation and counselling, outreach programmes and community initiatives, together with a series of community mutual aid services. Around 30,000 people are expected to benefit each year.
The opening ceremony of the SoCO New World Community Centre was officiated by Mrs Carrie Lam, Chief Secretary for Administration; Dr Henry Cheng, Honorary Chairman, Chow Tai Fook Charity Foundation; Prof Fung Ho Lup, Chairman of the Board, Society for Community Organization; and Mr Ho Hei Wah, Director, Society for Community Organization.

 

In his speech, Dr Cheng said, “As its name suggests, the SoCO New World Community Centre signifies a new-found driving force for the local community, creating a ‘New World’ for the children who will benefit from its services. I believe that the community centre, under the capable management of the Society for Community Organization, will give schoolchildren from underprivileged families a better learning environment. Single parents can entrust their children to the day care service here while receiving training to acquire value-added skills and become more upwardly mobile. Together, they can shape a better future with their own hands.”
Cheng further said he hoped the set up of the Centre could enhance the communication among the government and the business sector and the community which would then benefit the underprivileged families eventually.

In his address, Prof Fung thanked the Chow Tai Fook Charity Foundation for working with SoCO in setting up the community centre within just a few months. “We hope that this centre is only the beginning for driving more policy improvements, more care and support from the business community, and more effort from various community sectors to reduce the wealth gap and eradicate poverty.”

To mark Global Handwashing Day, which happens to fall on 15 October, the Chow Tai Fook Charity Foundation, SoCO and local charitable body Soap Cycling used the occasion to promote the Soap for Good project organised by Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK). Highlighting the project’s ‘Wash with Soap, Live with Hope’ message, the guests of honour demonstrated the seven steps of hand washing and encouraged the people of Hong Kong to wash their hands with soap to prevent the spread of infectious diseases like Sars and H1N1.

The Soap for Good project, initiated by UNICEF HK, collected hotel soaps through the supporting organisation Soap Cycling. The soap bars were then distributed to the public to recreate new, clean ones for children. Over 2,000 bars of recycled soap have been made since the project was launched about 2 weeks ago and most of them will be distributed to deprived families in Hong Kong through SoCO. The rest will be given to children and families in need in developing countries through field visits of UNICEF HK.

In her introduction of the Soap for Good project, Ms Leonie Ki, Vice-Chairman of Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF, said, “Today’s Global Handwashing Day Soap for Good project, led by UNICEF HK and supported by various sectors of society, is the biggest event in Hong Kong in support of Global Handwashing Day. By recycling good quality soap destined for landfills and transforming it into cute and lovely pieces of new soap, we can help those in need, as well as raise the levels of hygiene and knowledge among children and families in third-world countries. I hope through the publicity event today, everyone will remember the important message – ‘Wash with Soap, Live with Hope’!”

 

After the Soap for Good event, Ms Leonie Ki, together with Mr Gilbert Mo, council member of Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF and other guests also distributed cakes of soap to Sham Shui Po residents in the vicinity of the SoCO New World Community Centre, and encouraged them to wash their hands often.

 

 

– END –

聯合國兒童基金會「全球洗手日」童「皂」樂行動於全新啟用的「社區新世界」圓滿舉行 街頭派發逾2,000塊愛心環保肥皂予深水埗家庭 呼籲市民勤用肥皂洗手

 

聯合國兒童基金會「全球洗手日」童「皂」樂行動於全新啟用的「社區新世界」圓滿舉行 街頭派發逾2,000塊愛心環保肥皂予深水埗家庭 呼籲市民勤用肥皂洗手

新聞稿 12:00
23
香港,2012年10月14日--周大褔慈善基金及香港社區組織協會(SoCO)今日宣布,正式啟用全新的「社區新世界」社區中心,以全方位支援基層家庭,提供培訓機會、促進就業,從而協助基層脫貧。

「社區新世界」社區中心由周大福慈善基金捐贈港幣1,200萬元,用作開設中心及資助首5年營運,香港社區組織協會則負責營運及管理。社區中心座落於九龍深水埗福華街208A福江大廈1樓,主要服務地區包括荔枝角、長沙灣、深水埗、石硤尾及大角咀,覆蓋約10萬個貧窮戶。中心提供的服務包括兒童學習及成人就業支援服務、學校託管班試點計劃、個人培訓與增值服務、諮詢和輔導服務、外展及社區倡議工作以及一系列的社區互助服務,預計每年會有30,000人次受惠。

「社區新世界」開幕典禮由政務司司長林鄭月娥女士、周大福慈善基金名譽理事長鄭家純博士、香港社區組織協會董事會主席馮可立教授,及香港社區組織協會主任何喜華先生主持。

 

鄭家純博士在致辭時表示:「社區中心命名為『社區新世界』,寓意這個全新的綜合服務中心,將為區內帶來新的動力,為受助的兒童締造一個『新世界』。我相信在香港社區組織協會悉心營運下,區內的基層學童能夠有一個較好的學習環境、單親媽媽可獲得安心的託兒服務,同時接受培訓,自我增值,提升他們在社會游升的能力,用自己的實力創造美好的明天。」

鄭家純續說,他希望透過這個中心的成立,令官商民三方面在社區工作方面能進一步溝通合作,令更多基層家庭受惠。

馮可立教授在致辭時表示:「多謝周大福慈善基金在數月內與本會落實設立社區中心。我們期望這個中心只是一個開始,推動更多政策的改善,商界的關懷及支援,以及社區各方的力量,共同拉近貧富差距同消除貧窮。」

另外,適逢10月15日是「全球洗手日」,周大褔慈善基金及香港社區組織協會今日於揭幕禮後,隨即在聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)帶領下,聯同本港慈善團體「再皂福」,即場舉行「全球洗手日」童「皂」樂行動,教授洗手七步曲,以宣揚「清潔雙手,生命有救」這個重要訊息。一眾嘉賓更透過行動鼓勵市民勤用肥皂洗手,預防「沙士」或H1N1等各種傳染病。

「全球洗手日」童「皂」樂行動由UNICEF HK策動,經「再皂福」向酒店回收棄置肥皂,再清潔處理後,免費派發予公眾人士製作愛心環保肥皂。行動約半個月前開始,至今已從社區收集得超過2,000件愛心環保肥皂,當中大部分將經由香港社區組織協會轉送至本地貧困家庭,其餘的則會隨聯合國兒童基金會日後探訪發展中國家時,轉送給當地有需要兒童。

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會副主席紀文鳳女士在介紹「全球洗手日」童「皂」樂行動時指出:「今次由UNICEF HK牽頭舉辦的『全球洗手日』童『皂』樂行動,喜獲各方的支持,是歷來全球洗手日香港運動最大規模的一次。今次活動透過廢物利用,將原本應該已在堆填區的優質肥皂轉化成一些造型可愛、別具創意的愛心肥皂,另一方面更可幫助到有需要人士,以至發展中國家的兒童及家庭,提升他們的衞生常識及水平。希望經過今日的活動,大家都會記得『用肥皂洗手,大細菌即走』!」

 

活動後,聯合國兒童基金香港委員會副主席紀文鳳女士、委員毛錫強律師及部分嘉賓親身到深水埗街頭向居民免費派發童「皂」樂環保愛心肥皂,呼籲公眾支持10月15日「全球洗手日」。

 

 

– 完 –