UNICEF HK Little Artists Big Dreams Drawing Competition 2017 Near 1,000 children and Chow Tai Fook Jewellery raised around HK$1 million to improve maternal and child health services in rural China

 

UNICEF HK Little Artists Big Dreams Drawing Competition 2017 Near 1,000 children and Chow Tai Fook Jewellery raised around HK$1 million to improve maternal and child health services in rural China

Photo_2

© UNICEF HK/2017

© UNICEF HK/2017

© UNICEF HK/2017

Hong Kong, 7 May 2017 Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) held the ‘Little Artists Big Dreams Drawing Competition’ today. Near 1,000 children aged 12 or below drew based on the theme ‘a small gift to mom’ at Nursery Park of West Kowloon Cultural District to express their love to mothers prior to Mother’s Day. Together with the HK$800,000 donation from Principal Sponsor, Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group Limited, around HK$1 million had been raised to support UNICEF’s ‘Cash Transfers for Deprived Children’ project in China.

There are about 4,400 maternal deaths in China every year. Many women die from largely preventable causes, for example, complications from pregnancy or childbirth. Most of these tragedies can be easily prevented if simple and cost-effective health care services such as antenatal and postnatal check-up, hospital birth delivery and immunization could reach more families before, during and after a child’s birth.

UNICEF’s ‘Cash Transfers for Deprived Children’ project provides pregnant women in 15 counties of Yunnan, Gansu and Sichuan with cash subsidies for getting life-saving health services. As of January 2017, the project has supported 16,806 pregnant women and children under 1 year old.

Mr Johnny Ng, Vice-Chairman of UNICEF HK, thanks the little artists and their parents’ support, “Providing mothers with access to better health care gives mothers a happy pregnancy and safe childbirth. It is also an essential step in ensuring a good start for every child.”

This year, little artists’ artworks are snapped to create fundraising t-shirts. The t-shirts will be available for order this week at https://snaptee.co/go/unicefhk/, of which all proceeds will also be donated to the ‘Cash Transfers for Deprived Children’ project after deducting administrative costs.

UNICEF HK Ambassador Miss Gigi Leung helped spread the word through social media, “I always love to draw with baby Sofia. I invite everyone to check out the great t-shirts designed by the little artists and support UNICEF to protect the health of every woman and child.”

Singer-songwriter Miss Jocelyn Chan brought along her art piece to support the event, “This year, the competition has introduced the parent-and-child fundraising t-shirt for the first time, enabling participants to transform their drawings into unique t-shirts. Being my favourite part of the event, it will not only keep drawings in good conditions, but it will also contribute to a charitable cause. I encourage the public to support this event together!”

Miss Sandy Lau, Miss Hong Kong 2009 pageant and a mother, also joined the event. “The event comes with a carnival that offers face painting, parental workshops, charity sales and other booth activities, providing parents and their children with an excellent bonding opportunity. I’m very impressed by the diversity and education value of the workshops, too. Children can develop their creativity by transforming raw materials into unique gifts for their mothers. I highly encourage the public to support this event together!” she said.

photo_3

© UNICEF HK/2017

The event’s Principal Sponsor, Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group Limited, also donated to give deprived children a healthy start in life. Mr Peter Suen, Executive Director of Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group Limited, said, “Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group Limited has been supporting Little Artists Big Dreams Drawing Competition for 9 years and this year, we have generously donated HK$800,000 for the good cause. We have always upheld our “Do Good” brand philosophy and committed ourselves to care for the community, particularly on children’s development. As such, we have been very supportive towards UNICEF’s work, especially on projects in rural China. We hope to give a helping hand to deprived children in rural China and improve their living standard by mobilizing our staff and customers to participate in various community events such as drawing competition and field trip.”

Since 2013, ‘Little Artists Big Dreams Drawing Competition’ has raised funds to support UNICEF’s ‘Cash Transfers for Deprived Children’ project in China. The event divides participants into three age groups, each with first, second and third prize, as well as 20 consolation prizes. There will be an Overall Champion and a Top T-shirt Fundraiser Award.

From 18 May to 2 June 2017, the public can vote for their favourite art pieces by visiting ‘UNICEF Hong Kong’ Facebook page. The art pieces with the most ‘likes’ will receive the Online Most Popular Award. Results will be announced on UNICEF HK website on 9 June 2017.

– END –

Event photos can be downloaded here.

——————————
For more information please contact:

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF

Jamie Wong, Communication Specialist
Tel / Mobile: 2836 2967 / 6149 3378

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會「小畫家大夢想繪畫比賽」2017 近千名小畫家聯同周大福珠寶集團籌近港幣100萬元 支持改善中國貧困地區母嬰健康服務

 

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會「小畫家大夢想繪畫比賽」2017 近千名小畫家聯同周大福珠寶集團籌近港幣100萬元 支持改善中國貧困地區母嬰健康服務

Photo_2

© UNICEF HK/2017

Photo_4

© UNICEF HK/2017

香港,201757—聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)今日舉行「小畫家大夢想繪畫比賽」,近1,000名12歲或以下兒童齊集西九文化區苗圃公園,以「給媽媽的小心意」為題,在母親節前透過畫作向母親送上愛意,並為改善中國貧困地區母嬰健康籌款;聯同首席贊助周大福珠寶集團慷慨捐出的港幣80萬元善款,活動合共為聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)「中國貧困兒童資助項目」籌得近港幣100萬元。 

中國每年有約4,400宗孕產婦死亡個案,當中的死因,例如懷孕或分娩過程出現的併發症,都是可以避免的。如果更多婦女在懷孕前後及過程中得到及時、有效的健康服務,例如產前產後檢查、住院分娩及疫苗接種,我們可阻止大部分悲劇一再發生。

UNICEF的「中國貧困兒童資助項目」透過現金資助方式,鼓勵雲南、甘肅及四川等15個貧困縣的孕婦接受生死攸關的母嬰健康服務,截至2017年1月,已有16,806名婦女及1歲以下嬰幼兒受惠。

UNICEF HK副主席吳世振感謝一眾小畫家和家長的支持。他表示:「為媽媽提供更好的健康服務,能讓她們安心懷孕、安全分娩,也是讓兒童有好開始的重要一步。」

今年,小畫家的畫作更可製作成籌款T裇,參加者可於活動一星期後,登入個人籌款網頁https://snaptee.co/go/unicefhk/訂購T裇,收益扣除成本後亦將撥捐「中國貧困兒童資助項目」。

UNICEF HK大使梁詠琪也透過社交網站支持活動,「我很喜歡與我女兒Sofia一同畫畫,我誠邀大家一同支持籌款T裇義賣,協助UNICEF一同守護母嬰健康。」

唱作歌手陳明憙則攜帶了一幅個人畫作現身活動支持,並分享道:「今年,小畫家大夢想繪畫比賽首次引入親子籌款T裇,讓參加者透過個人畫作創造獨一無二的慈善T裇,這也是我最喜歡的環節,既可把畫作保存下來,又可以做善事,一舉兩得,希望大家多多支持!」

已為人母的2009年香港小姐冠軍劉倩婷亦有出席活動,她更大讚活動為家庭提供親子好去處:「活動設有親子嘉年華,包括手作市場、面部彩繪、影家庭相等攤位,又有慈善義賣攤位,讓一家大小歡度快樂時光。我很欣賞大會安排不同的工作坊,讓小朋友發揮創意及想像力,善用原材料製作獨一無二的擺設,既富教育意義,又可親手製作母親節禮物送給媽媽。希望大家能大力支持!」

photo_3

© UNICEF HK/2017

活動首席贊助周大福珠寶集團慷慨捐款支持貧困兒童開展健康人生。周大福珠寶集團有限公司執行董事孫志強先生表示:「周大福珠寶集團已支持了『小畫家大夢想繪畫比賽』9年,今年更捐出港幣80萬元善款。集團一直持守『Do Good』的企業精神,以『Do Good Feel Good』的積極關愛態度,履行對社會的承諾,對於兒童身心靈發展尤其關注,因此一直支持UNICEF的工作,特別是中國偏遠地區的項目,希望透過一系列活動,如繪畫比賽及親善探訪等,號召周大福員工、顧客,以及更多有心人士,共同為中國內地貧困兒童伸出援手,改善他們的生活水平。」

自2013年起,「小畫家大夢想繪畫比賽」致力為「中國貧困兒童資助項目」籌款。比賽分設3個年齡組別,每組均設冠、亞、季軍及優異獎20名,同時設有全場總冠軍及「最高籌款親子T裇獎」。

由2017年5月18日至6月2日,公眾只需瀏覽「UNICEF Hong Kong」Facebook專頁便可投選心水作品,獲最多「讚好」的畫作將獲得「網絡人氣大獎」。得獎名單將於2017年6月9日起於本會網站(unicef.org.hk)內公佈。

– 完 –

按此下載相片

——————————
傳媒如有垂詢,請聯絡:

聯合國兒童基金香港委員會

高級傳訊主任黃穎祺(Jamie Wong)
電話:2836 2967 / 6149 3378