UNICEF launches HK$11 billion appeal in response to most extreme crises

 

UNICEF launches HK$11 billion appeal in response to most extreme crises

GENEVA/HONG KONG, 7 March 2011UNICEF released the Humanitarian Action for Children Report 2011 today, requestingUS$1.4 billion (HK$10.9 billion) in its annual appeal to donors to assist children and women caught in the throes of crises. This year’s appeal highlights 32 countries, such as North Korea, Afghanistan, Pakistan and so on, and emphasises the increasing importance of strengthening the resilience of communities.

The world witnessed overpowering humanitarian crises in 2010: flooding in Pakistan submerged one-fifth of the country; the earthquake in Haiti claimed over 200,000 lives and displaced millions; the parched earth and lack of food across the Sahel continues to threaten hundreds of thousands of children with severe acute malnutrition. These emergencies claim the headlines, but there are many more lesser-reported crises affecting the lives of children and families.

Around the world, drought, famine, violent conflict, and long-term displacement are a reality for millions of people. These humanitarian crises have dire consequences for children, among them recruitment into armed forces, sexual violence, and the loss of basic services such as water, health and education. “Investing in children and building the resilience of countries and communities living on the edge not only shortens their road to recovery, but also helps them to manage anticipated risks before a crisis strikes and to mitigate loss when it does,” said UNICEF’s Deputy Executive Director, Hilde Johnson.

The unprecedented scale of the disasters in Haiti and Pakistan in 2010 triggered an extraordinary global response from all humanitarian organisations and partners. Yet it also underscored the need to strengthen preparedness and risk reduction in the communities that are hit repeatedly by crisis. Granting vulnerable communities the skills to face and withstand risk is an increasingly important component of humanitarian action, and an area to which UNICEF is deeply committed.

UNICEF’s Humanitarian Action for Children Report 2011 presents crises that require exceptional support. The 32 countries targeted have been prioritised based on the scale of the crisis, the severity of its impact on children and women, the chronic or protracted nature of the crisis, and the potential to bring about life-saving and long lasting results. It shows where urgent action is imperative to save lives, to protect children against the worst forms of violence and abuse, and to ensure access to basic services, such as water and sanitation, health, nutrition and education.

“After a year of devastating natural disaster and human tragedy, it has never been more timely to strengthen the resilience of people and communities who are placed in harm’s way again and again,” said Johnson.

Click here to download Humanitarian Action for Children Report 2011

國兒童基金會呼籲善款港幣109億元 對抗全球最嚴重危機

 

國兒童基金會呼籲善款港幣109億元 對抗全球最嚴重危機

新聞稿 12:00

日內瓦/香港,201137日──聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)今日發表《針對兒童的人道主義行動報告2011,公布UNICEF本年度的全球善款籌募目標為14億美元(相等於港幣109億元),善款將用以應對在全球緊急災難中的受災兒童及婦女援助工作。此外,報告亦揭示了北韓、阿富汗、巴基斯坦等32個高危國家正面臨的危機及需要,重點提出加強各地社區自身的抗逆力,對於救援工作愈益重要。

2010全球爆發多宗人道主義危機:巴基斯坦洪災淹沒全國五分之一土地、海地大地震奪去逾20萬性命及令過百萬人無家可歸、旱災及缺糧使無數非洲薩赫勒國家的兒童活在嚴重急性營養不良的威脅之下……除了這些全球媒體均有廣泛報道的災難,各地尚有有許許多多鮮為人知的危機,正威脅著千千萬萬兒童及其家庭的生活。

旱災、饑荒、暴力衝突及長期流離失所竟是數以百萬計人口的日常生活,不少兒童更會因而被徵召加入武裝部隊、遭受性暴力及喪失獲取清潔食水、健康及教育等基本服務的機會等。UNICEFF總括多年來在各地積極參與人道主義救援工作的組驗,UNICEF副執行主任Hilde Johnson提出,「投放資源在兒童身上以及提升邊緣社區及國家的抗逆力不但能縮短他們復原的道路,更有助他們在可預期災難來臨前作好應變措施,及減低災難來襲時的損失。」

去年,海地及巴基斯坦遭受史無前例的天災侵襲,在全球人道主義組織及合作夥伴間引起極大的迴響,連連災禍亦突顯了為重複受災社區加強應急準備,以降低受災程度的重要性。裝備高危社區適當的抗災技巧,已成為聯合國兒童基金會其中一項最核心的人道主義救授工作,亦是全球救災行動中最為重要的其中一環。

而根據UNICEF最新發表的《針對兒童的人道主義行動報告2011,就更進一步跟據各國災難的規模、對兒童及婦女影響的嚴重性、災害持續時間及投放資源的預期效果等,揭露了北韓、阿富汗、巴基斯坦等32個需要重點支援的災難高危國家,以確保當地的兒童生命得到拯救、生活受保護及免遭嚴重暴力及虐待,以及得享食水、衞生、健康及教育等基本服務。副執行主任Johnson續指,「經歷了整年天災及人道慘劇的蹂躪,是時候要增強那些重複受災社區人民的抗逆力。」

請按此下載《針對兒童的人道主義行動報告2011》(只提供英文版本)