UNICEF releases the 2014 Children in China: An Atlas of Social Indicators New data highlights how regional disparities and migration impact on children’s rights

 

UNICEF releases the 2014 Children in China: An Atlas of Social Indicators New data highlights how regional disparities and migration impact on children’s rights

Global News 00:49
BEIJING/ HONG KONG, 13 January 2015 – With its spectacular economic development, China is scoring well nationally on many social indicators for children and has already achieved many of the Millennium Development Goals. Yet striking geographical disparities, along with the impact of migration, continue to pose challenges to the survival, development and protection of millions of rural and vulnerable children according to Children in China: An Atlas of Social Indicators 2014.

The newly released Atlas, first inaugurated in 2010 and jointly compiled by UNICEF, the National Working Committee on Children and Women (NWCCW) under the State Council and the National Bureau of Statistics, provides a statistical overview of the situation of children in China.

TheAtlas2014_grey
Atlas1

© 2011/Tang Xiaoping
“We hope that this Atlas can serve as a reference for the Government and relevant institutions in monitoring and evaluating child development status, in working towards the goals of the National Programme of Action for Children, in promoting child development and protecting the rights of children,” said Su Fengjie, Deputy Director of the NWCCW’s Executive Office. “We also hope that this Atlas, in drawing attention to China’s significant achievements for children, will raise public awareness and support for children.

According to the latest figures, China, with an estimated 274 million children in 2013, has made remarkable achievements in poverty alleviation, ensuring universal access to primary education, promoting gender equality and reducing child mortality. China’s national under-five mortality rate, for example, declined, from 61 per thousand live births in 1991 to 12 per thousand live births in 2013, with an average annual reduction of 7 per cent.

Despite the impressive progress, the statistics presented in the Atlas indicate that disparities between rural and urban areas and among eastern, central and western regions continue to mean some children are missing out on access to health, education and protection services.

“China’s tremendous progress for children and women has been an important contribution globally to reducing poverty, child mortality and meeting international development goals,” said Gillian Mellsop, UNICEF’s Representative to China. “Yet experience has taught us that we must look beyond national averages to see where disparity still exists so by disaggregating data, we can identify who the children are that are being left behind.

In 2013, China’s under-five mortality rate was 1.4 times higher in rural areas than urban areas, while infant mortality rate was 1.2 times higher and neonatal mortality rate 1 time higher, indicating a gap between survival rates. In general, although there are some exceptions, regions with a low GDP per capita have a relatively high child mortality rate, and vice-versa. In Beijing, the under-five mortality rate is less than four per thousand live births in 2013, while in Xinjiang and Tibet, it is around 25 per thousand live births.

Atlas_Mortality

Figure 1 Under-five mortality rate, 1991–2013

Disparities also exist in other aspects of children’s development, as those in poor and western regions are more likely to be undernourished and have less access to pre-primary education and improved sanitary facilities.

“In-country disparities mean that development outcomes for children and women in the poor rural areas of China are similar to those in low-income countries,” said Mellsop. “In cities, migration and rapid urbanization present additional challenges related to urban poverty and vulnerability.”

The Atlas indicates that the number of children affected by migration dramatically increased from 42.72 million in 2000 to 106 million in 2010, which accounted for 38 per cent of the total child population in China. Among them, 35.81 million children migrated with their parents to urban areas, while nearly 70 million were left behind, mostly in rural areas.

In 2010, one out of every four children in China’s urban areas was a migrant child. Many children face hardship and discrimination in their new environment, and are not registered in their new place of residence and their public service needs remain “invisible” to the local authorities.

Atlas2
Figure 2 Children affected by migration as a percentage of all children, 2010

Unable to attend public schools, some of them have to enroll in low-quality private schools. High private school fees, as well as the tendency for some older migrant children to enter the labour market, mean relatively higher dropout rates for migrant children than for urban resident children. They also have inadequate and incomplete health insurance and vaccination coverage.

For those rural left-behind children, who accounted for 40 per cent of all rural children in 2010, surveys suggest most of them maintain irregular and limited contact with their parents and feel lonely, isolated and deprived of support, which has a negative impact on their physical, educational and psychosocial development and well-being.

The Atlas also highlighted that left-behind children are more prone to be exposed to the risks of trafficking and accidental death.

“We welcome the Government of China’s commitment to address inequalities and to make sure the benefits of economic growth and development reach the most vulnerable children,” said Mellsop. “Many reforms have been introduced to achieve these goals. However, the sheer scale and complexity of the challenge means that progress is gradual. UNICEF looks forward to continued collaboration with the Government to reach children everywhere and make sure they have their fundamental rights met.”

Other key findings in the report:

• China had the world’s second largest child population (aged 0-17 years), with an estimated 274 million children in 2013, representing 20 per cent of China’s total population and 14 per cent of the world’s children. However, the number of children in China declined by 21 per cent between 2000 and 2013.
Atlas3
© UNICEF China/2010/Jerry Liu
• In China, the sex ratio at birth has become increasingly skewed in general, growing from 109 males per 100 females in 1982 to 118 males per 100 females in recent years. The abnormally high SRB in China highlights the extent to which girls are denied the right to life and reflects deep-seated sex discrimination that adversely affects girls’ development.
• China has 6.5 per cent of the world’s stunted children globally, second only to India.

• The rate of exclusive breastfeeding in China is 28 per cent nationally, with 16 per cent in urban areas and 30 per cent in rural areas(2008 National Health Services Survey).

• In China, it is estimated that over 10 million children under 18 years of age are injured each year, and more than 50,000 children die from drowning, traffic accidents, accidental suffocation, falls, poisoning and other accidents.

• UNICEF and WHO (2014) estimates show that around 470 million people in China did not use improved sanitation facilities in 2012, accounting for 35 per cent of the total population. In rural areas, 44 per cent of people did not use improved sanitation facilities.

• In a 2010 survey among 22,288 young people aged between 15 and 24 years, two-thirds of young people are open to premarital sex, and 22.4 per cent have had sex before marriage. Over half of the young people surveyed had no form of protection in their first sexual encounter.

聯合國兒童基金會發佈《中國兒童發展指標圖集(2014)》 揭示地區差異、人口流動對中國兒童權利和發展構成挑戰

 

聯合國兒童基金會發佈《中國兒童發展指標圖集(2014)》 揭示地區差異、人口流動對中國兒童權利和發展構成挑戰

國際消息 00:49
北京/香港,2015年1月13日─《中國兒童發展指標圖集(2014)》顯示,隨着經濟高速發展,中國已在多項與兒童相關的發展指標取得顯著成就,並提前實現多項千禧發展目標,但地區之間的明顯發展落差,以及日益加劇的人口流動,都為農村及弱勢兒童的生存、保護和發展帶來更大挑戰。

《中國兒童發展指標圖集》由聯合國兒童基金會、國務院婦女兒童工作委員會辦公室和國家統計局共同編著,並於2010年首次出版。2014年更新的《中國兒童發展指標圖集》彙集了反映兒童生存、保護和發展狀況的主要指標、資料及影響兒童發展的社會經濟背景。
TheAtlas2014_grey
Atlas1

© 2011/Tang Xiaoping
「我們希望通過《圖集》,為國家及相關部門監測及評估兒童發展狀況、推動兒童發展綱要的實施、促進兒童發展和保護兒童權利提供重要的參考。」國務院婦女兒童工作委員會辦公室常務副主任蘇鳳傑說,「同時,也希望通過圖集進一步宣傳中國兒童事業取得偉大成就,推廣社會進一步關心、重視和支持兒童事業的良好風尚。」

最新資料顯示,2013年,中國有約2.74億名兒童,並已提前完成貧困人口減半、普及初等教育、促進兩性平等和婦女賦權,以及降低兒童死亡率等千禧發展目標。其中,5歲以下兒童死亡率由1991年的61%降至2013年的12%,每年平均降幅達7%。

儘管中國已取得顯著的發展成就,《圖集》的資料顯示,在城鄉,以及東、中、西部地區之間仍存在巨大的不平等和差異;一些西部和農村地區的兒童仍然難以獲得優質的衞生、教育及保護。

「中國在兒童和婦女發展方面取得巨大進展,對世界減少貧困、降低兒童死亡率的工作作出了重要貢獻,並促進實現國際發展目標。」聯合國兒童基金會駐華代表麥吉蓮(Gillian Mellsop)說。「但根據以往經驗,我們不能滿足於在發展指標平均值上取得的進步,而應該通過分析數據,了解地區間存在的差異,知道哪些兒童仍需要幫助。」
2013年,農村地區5歲以下兒童死亡率、嬰兒死亡率、新生兒死亡率分別比城市高1.4倍、1.2倍及1倍,顯示城鄉之間的兒童存活率存在差別。總括來說,除個別省區以外,人均GDP較低的省區普遍有較高的兒童死亡率,反之亦然。在北京,5歲以下兒童死亡率只是接近千分之四,但在新疆和西藏,每1,000名活產嬰兒就有25名嬰兒死亡。
地區間的差異還影響兒童在其他方面的發展。生活在貧困地區及西部地區的兒童相對較易營養不良,也較難接觸學前教育和環境衞生設施。
Atlas_Mortality

圖表1 5歲以下兒童死亡率, 1991–2013

「中國各地發展仍存在差異,農村貧困地區兒童和婦女的發展只相當於低收入國家的水準。在城鎮地區,大規模的人口流動與快速的城鎮化也帶來了與貧困及脆弱性相關的挑戰。」麥吉蓮指出。

《圖集》顯示,受人口流動影響的兒童總數由2000年的4,272萬人升至2013年的1.06億,佔中國兒童總數的38%。其中流動兒童有3,581萬名,留守兒童更有6,973萬名。

2010年,每4名城鎮兒童中就有1名是流動兒童。許多兒童在新環境中面對各種困難和歧視,他們在新的居住地並未被登記,對於當地政府而言,他們對公共服務的需求是「隱形」的。

一些流動兒童仍然無法在公立學校上學,只能在教學質素較差的私立學校就讀。由於私立學校收費較高,而部分大齡的流動兒童過早進入勞動市場,令流動兒童的輟學率比城鎮的高。同時,流動兒童無法在居住地享受平等的衞生保健服務,他們的免疫接種率也較低。

2010年,農村留守兒童佔全部農村兒童人口的40%。調查表明,大部分農村留守兒童與父母的聯繫有限,並不定期,令他們感覺孤單和孤立無援,對他們的身體、教育與心理的健康發展也造成不利影響。

Atlas2
圖表2 受人口流動影響的兒童比率, 2010

《圖集》還反映留守兒童面對較大的拐賣或意外死亡風險。

 「我們歡迎中國政府解決城鎮、農村和流動人口之間不平等的問題,以及確保經濟增長和發展惠及脆弱兒童,」麥吉蓮說。「中國政府近年採取了很多相應的改革措施,但挑戰規模巨大且複雜,意味進展仍處於漸進階段。聯合國兒童基金會期待與中國政府繼續緊密合作,保障所有中國兒童的基本權利都能得到實際保障。」
《中國兒童發展指標圖集(2014)》的其他重點包括:

• 2013年,中國0-17歲兒童達2.74億,佔中國總人口的20%、世界兒童總數的14%,中國兒童人口位居世界第二。但中國兒童人口在2000至2013年間下降了21%。
• 中國出生人口性別比例失衡有上升趨勢,1982年的男女比例為109:100,近年男女比例升至118:100。出生人口性別比例差距持續拉闊,反映女孩生存權受到侵害,也受到長期的性別歧視,對女性發展造成不利影響。
• 中國生長遲緩兒童人數在全球排名第二,僅次於印度,佔全球生長遲緩兒童總數的6.5%。
• 2008年,中國0-6個月大的兒童全母乳餵哺率為28%,城市和農村分別為16%和30%(《2008年中國衞生服務調查研究–第四次家庭健康詢問調查分析報告》)。
Atlas3
© UNICEF China/2010/Jerry Liu
• 據估計,中國每年超過1,000萬名18歲以下兒童遭受傷害,超過5萬名兒童死於溺水、交通事故、意外窒息、跌落、中毒和其他事故。
• 根據聯合國兒童基金會和世界衞生組織(2014年)的估計,2012年仍有約4.70億中國人未能使用經改善的環境衞生設施,佔全部人口的35%。在農村地區,44%的人口未能使用經改善的環境衞生設施。

• 2010年向22,288名青少年進行的調查顯示,約2/3青少年接受婚前性行為,22.4%發生過婚前性行為。在首次性行為中,超過一半的受訪者未採取任何保護措施。