UNICEF sets up Child-friendly Spaces near Yiliang county in Yunnan after the earthquake, and calls for Hong Kong citizens to support relief work

 

UNICEF sets up Child-friendly Spaces near Yiliang county in Yunnan after the earthquake, and calls for Hong Kong citizens to support relief work

25

HONG KONG, 11 September 2012 — The earthquake at Yiliang county in Yunnan on 7 September killed 81 persons and more than 200,000 persons are now in urgent need of relocation. UNICEF expressed concern about the children affected by the disaster and will be working with National Working Committee on Children and Women under the State Council (NWCCW) to set up Child-friendly Spaces near the county. UNICEF also appeals for donations from Hong Kong citizens to support the relief work.

Yiliang county is very remote and hard to reach, according to UNICEF, which has existing projects on maternal child health and poverty in the county. Existing heath indicators point out high stunting, poor immunisation and low antenatal care coverage of the region.

According to the Government, 81 people died after the 5.7-magnitude quake. Over 6,500 houses collapsed, affecting 1,900 families. Another 345,500 houses have been moderately or seriously damaged, affecting more than 250,000 families. A total of 201,000 persons are now displaced. Initial reports also indicated most of the children are unable to attend school, after 517 schools were damaged. Besides, 50 hospital rooms and healthcare facilities collapsed, and 340 health facilities have been damaged. 10 water supply tanks, 2,200 water cellars, six large division facilities and 13 channels 2,300 metres long were damaged.

The photo above is the Child-friendly Spaces UNICEF and National Working Committee on Children and Women under the State Council after the Wenchuan earthquake.

UNICEF recognizes the most urgent and challenging need to support the psycho-social needs of children whose lives have been severely traumatised by the disaster. Therefore, UNICEF is co-operating with NWCCW to set up Child-friendly Spaces near Yiliang county. In such spaces, children could find comfort in songs and games with other children.

Child-friendly Space is a measure to protect children in emergency situations. Following the Wenchuan earthquake in 2008, UNICEF and NWCCW set up a network of 40 Child-friendly Spaces in Sichuan to deliver urgent services for children and families. Today most of the original Child Friendly Spaces have become permanent community-based centres for supporting vulnerable children.

“During emergencies, children are especially vulnerable. Besides providing emergency supplies, we should pay attention on the psychological needs of children. By setting up Child-friendly Spaces, children can quickly resume their normal lives in a well protected area. They have a place to learn, play and continue their education without being affected by the disaster,” Ms Irene Chan, Chief Executive of Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF said, “We hope Hong Kong public will support the relief work, so that children can recover from the traumatic experiences during and after the earthquake.”

Donation for Yiliang County, Yunnan Province:

Online donation: www.unicef.org.hk/donate
Direct Bank- in:
HSBC: 567-354014-005
Bank of China: 012-875-0-0218683
Wing Lung Bank: 020-601-003-76352
Bank of East Asia: 015-260-81-01210-0
Cheque: Payable to ‘Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF’
(Please send us the cheque with personal details with remark ‘Yunnan’ at the back,
and send to ‘Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF, 3/F, 60 Blue Pool Road, Happy Valley, Hong Kong.’)
PPS: Please use your contact number as the bill number.
Press UNICEF merchant code: 6012, and then select bill type 3 “emergency”.
Hotline: 2833 6139

(In the unusual event that donations to the Yiliang county in Yunnan exceed the needs, we will direct your gift to children in greatest need elsewhere.)

– END –

聯合國兒童基金會為雲南省彝良縣災民設立「兒童友好家園」 呼籲港人踴躍捐輸 支持救災工作

 

聯合國兒童基金會為雲南省彝良縣災民設立「兒童友好家園」 呼籲港人踴躍捐輸 支持救災工作

新聞稿 12:00
25

香港,2012年9月11日──在9月7日,雲南彝良縣發生5.7級地震,至今81人死亡,逾20萬人被迫離開家園。聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)指,彝良縣本是國內貧困地區之一,位置偏遠,關注今次災害對兒童造成的打擊。UNICEF將與政府部門攜手在彝良縣附近一帶設立「兒童友好家園」,確保受災兒童獲得保護;同時開設捐款戶口,呼籲港人一起支持賑災工作。

UNICEF指,彝良縣位置偏遠,本是國內重點扶貧區域之一。統計數據顯示,當地發育不良、身高發展受阻的比率甚高,而疫苗及產前保健覆蓋率亦甚為不足。UNICEF一直在當地進行母嬰健康及扶貧工作。

官方數字公佈,今次5.7級地震造成81人喪生,至今令6,560座房屋倒塌,影響1,900戶家庭;另有逾34萬座房屋遭不同程度損毀,影響超過25萬 戶,20萬災民正急需重新安置。教育方面,有517所學校遭到不同程度的摧毀,初步消息指彝良縣不少學生面臨停課。當地本來匱乏的基礎建設亦進一步受摧毀──50所醫院或醫療設施倒塌,340所遭損毀。10個水窖、2,200個儲水庫、6座供水設施連同13條共長2,300米的水管亦遭損壞。

上圖為四川汶川地震後,UNICEF聯同國務院婦女兒童工作委員會設立的「兒童友好家園」。

UNICEF關注這場地震對當地受災兒童,尤其是地震對他們心理及社交造成的影響。為此,UNICEF及國務院婦女兒童工作委員會趕緊在彝良縣周邊設立「兒童友好家園」,在一個安全的環境中讓兒童與同伴交流,一同遊戲、創作,獲得他們心理及情感上的支持。

兒童友好家園是UNICEF一項保護受災兒童的措施。2008年四川汶川地震後,UNICEF亦聯同國務院婦女兒童工作委員會在四川設立近40所「兒童友好家園」,不少至今仍在運作,保護社區中脆弱的兒童。

「發生災害時,兒童特別脆弱,除了提供救援物資,也要顧及兒童的心理健康。我們設立『兒童友好家園』,正正是要確保兒童即使在災難發生時,依然享有他們的權利,有一個可以學習、玩耍及享受童年的地方。」聯合國兒童基金香港委員會總幹事陳文端表示,「希望各位香港市民亦可以支持這項救援工作,令兒童在受保護的情況下,一步步從災難的陰霾走出來。」

「雲南省彝良縣地震」捐款資料:

網上捐款: www.unicef.org.hk/donate
直接銀行存款: 匯豐銀行:567-354014-005
中國銀行:012-875-0-0218683
永隆銀行:020-601-003-76352
東亞銀行:015-260-81-01210-0
郵寄捐款: 請把抬頭寫上「聯合國兒童基金香港委員會」的支票(支票背面請註明「雲南地震」)
連同個人資料郵寄至地址:香港跑馬地藍塘道60號3樓聯合國兒童基金香港委員會)
繳費靈捐款: 請以 閣下的聯絡電話作賬單號碼,輸入商戶編號「6012」,選擇「3.緊急救援」為繳付賬單內容。
捐款熱線: 請致電2833 6139。

(籌得之善款若多於「雲南省彝良縣地震」賑災所需,剩餘善款將撥作支持聯合國兒童基金會其他緊急救援項目)

– 完 –