UNICEF welcomes announcement of next Executive Director

 

UNICEF welcomes announcement of next Executive Director

© CSIS / CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

NEW YORK/ HONG KONG, 22 December 2017 – UNICEF welcomed UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres’ announcement today that Henrietta H. Fore will succeed Anthony Lake as UNICEF Executive Director when his term ends on 31 December 2017.

Ms. Fore has nearly four decades of public sector service culminating as the first woman to serve as Administrator of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) and the Director of United States Foreign Assistance in the U.S. Department of State (2007 to 2009). Earlier in her career, at USAID, she was appointed as Assistant Administrator for Asia and Assistant Administrator for Private Enterprise (1989 to 1993).

In addition, she served as Under Secretary of State for Management, the Chief Operating Officer for the U.S. Department of State and as the 37th Director of the United States Mint in the U.S. Department of Treasury.

Ms. Fore is currently Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Holsman International, a manufacturing and investment company. She has also served as Chair and Board Member of many non-profit and for-profit entities, focusing on development and working with children of the world.

“Henrietta Fore will bring a wealth of experience to UNICEF’s work for children,” said Mr. Lake. “I know the organization will support her as it has worked with me. Her success will be UNICEF’s success — and thus a success for children.”

Ms. Fore will become UNICEF’s seventh Executive Director on 1 January 2018.

聯合國兒童基金會歡迎下屆執行主任

 

聯合國兒童基金會歡迎下屆執行主任

© CSIS / CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

紐約/香港,20171222─聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)歡迎聯合國秘書長安東尼歐‧古特瑞斯宣布亨麗埃塔‧福爾將接替安東尼‧雷克出任下屆UNICEF執行主任,雷克任期將於2017年12月31日屆滿。

福爾擁有近40年於公營機構服務的經驗,更是首位擔任美國國際開發署署長和美國國務院對外援助辦公室主任的女性(2007年至2009年)。1989年至1993年,福爾也曾在美國國際開發署擔任負責亞洲事務的助理署長和負責私營企業事務的助理署長。

此外,她也曾擔任美國國務院負責管理工作的副國務卿、美國國務院首席營連官、第37任美國鑄幣局局長。

福爾現任製造與投資公司霍斯曼國際的董事會主席兼行政總裁,更曾擔任很多非牟利和牟利機構的主席和董事會成員,關注全球兒童的發展。

安東尼‧雷克說:「亨麗埃塔‧福爾會為UNICEF的兒童工作提供豐富經驗,我相信UNICEF同樣支持福爾的工作。她的成功也代表UNICEF成功保護兒童。」

福爾將於2018年1月1日接任UNICEF第7屆執行主任。