‘Unite for Children. Unite for Hong Kong.’ Child Rights Advocacy Project 2012 Supporting the first-ever effective social media youth intervention project Ratio of young females willing to talk about sex or love problems reaches 90%

 

‘Unite for Children. Unite for Hong Kong.’ Child Rights Advocacy Project 2012 Supporting the first-ever effective social media youth intervention project Ratio of young females willing to talk about sex or love problems reaches 90%

26

HONG KONG, 12 August 2012—On the International Youth Day, Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF (UNICEF HK) announced the results of ‘Unite for Children. Unite for Hong Kong.’ Child Rights Advocacy Project 2012, partnering with charitable or non-governmental organisations that share the same vision to protect the rights of children, especially for those who have long been neglected and marginalised. The three selected organisations including Community Drug Advisory Council, Playright Children’s Play Association and Youth Outreach will each receive HK$500,000 from UNICEF HK to implement the child rights related projects. Among them, the “All-Night Net Walker” project by Youth Outreach is the first-ever youth intervention project utilising social media such as WhatsApp and Line to reach youths at risk in Hong Kong. Data shows the new approach is more effective compared with traditional intervention approaches that young females are more responsive, for example, 90% of youths who talk about their sexual or love affairs problems are female; 75% of youths who revealed that they have encountered drug abuse problem are female as well.

‘Unite for Children. Unite for Hong Kong.’ Child Rights Advocacy Project was launched in 2011 and this year is the second year of the trial run. UNICEF HK invites local NGOs which share the same vision to work together to protect the rights of Hong Kong children, particularly to ethnic minority children, children under the threat of drug abuse and physical abuse, and all those hard to reach or marginalised. It was an honour to have Mr Kenneth Chen, former Under Secretary for Education of HKSARG, Ms Christine Fang, Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service and Professor Nelson Chow, Department of Social Work and Social Administration of the University of Hong Kong to be the independent judges to screen the proposals.

Ms Judy Chen, Chairman of UNICEF HK acknowledged the three judges for their professional guidance and advice in selecting projects to be sponsored. Among the 14 proposals submitted by different organisations, UNICEF HK has finally selected Community Drug Advisory Council, Playright Children’s Play Association and Youth Outreach to support and partner with for the betterment of children. “Today is ’International Youth Day’. Hallmarked by the theme of “Building a Better World: Partnering with Youth”, a global call is urged by the United Nations General Assembly to act to develop and engage in partnerships with and for youth. The three selected organisations not only provide outstanding services for youths, but also are role models of building up close partnerships with youths in the community,” said Ms Chen.

“Project P.E.A.C.E.: Pilot Drug and Sex Education for Children” proposed by Community Drug Advisory Council, aims to arouse ethnic minority children and parents’ awareness on drugs and sex to tackle drug abuse and early mature youth, targeting to reach over 2,000 people. “Playright UNICEF Inclusive Play 2012” proposed by Playright Children’s Play Association aims at realising the right to play for disabled children through educating public and working with policymakers, targeting around 8,500 people. “All-Night Net Walker” by Youth Outreach, aims at protecting children suffering from abuse or being neglected, targeting 4,300 people. Same as last year, UNICEF HK will allocate HK$500,000 to each organisation to support and further develop the child rights projects in the coming year.

As Internet, mobile phones and other technologies are becoming a familiar presence, Ms Leonie Ki, Vice Chairman and Chairman of Advocacy and Public Relations Committee, UNICEF HK stated the concern about child safety online. “The population of people surfing the internet worldwide has escalated from less than 20% in 2006 to 35% in 2011. Children and youths may easily be exposed to dangers when going online.” She then mentioned five major online risks among children worldwide, including low awareness of privacy, uploading confidential information onto the internet and sexual exploitation online etc. She continued, “in 2010, 16,700 posts of children’s sexual abuse were exposed online. It is estimated millions of these photos have been uploaded online, which can cause negative consequences on thousands of children…We have to be alert enough to online child safety. We have to provide immediate intervention and assistance to children in danger to avoid crimes and tragedies.”

With UNICEF HK’s support, Youth Outreach has upgraded its “All-Night Net Walker” programme, reaching youths at high risk via social media when more children and youths use smartphones and other mobile devices to surf the internet. The programme also includes “Internet Ambassadors”, who used to be triad members or drugs abusers to reach youths at high risk, enhancing the effectiveness of face-to-face intervention and outreach services.

Mr Ted Tam, Assistant Executive Director of Youth Outreach said, “We have launched the “All-Night Net Walker” since 2009 but many intervention approaches have not been up to date. With UNICEF HK’s support, we are able to further develop the project so that it can better reach youths by connecting them via the mobile devices and smartphones that youths are actually using. Youths are more willing to reveal themselves via social media and through building close relationship with youths, especially female youths at high risk, social workers can provide immediate intervention and referral, saving them from sexual assaults, internet addiction, drug abuse or becoming triad members.”

Through the 2009/2010 and 2011/2012 “All-Night Net Walker” programme, Youth Outreach has reached nearly 3,500 youths via communication software, blogs, email, chat rooms and forums etc. Male and female youths account for 51% and 49% respectively. Yet young females are less willing to share their private issues. Only half of those willing to share their sexual/love affairs problems were young females, while only 46% of those willing to reveal their problems of drug abuse were young females.

Compared with the above youth intervention approach, young females are far more responsive via social media, especially WhatsApp. From April to July 2012, Youth Outreach reached 680 youths via WhatsApp, of which 370 (54%) were female. Among those who were willing to share their sexual/love affairs, 65 were females, accounting for 71% of total cases and almost 20% of the reached females. For those who were willing to talk about drug abuse, 21 were female, accounting for 64% of total cases and 6% of the reached females.

During June and July 2012 and with the support of UNICEF HK, Youth Outreach’s “All-Night Net Walker” reached 438 youths via WhatsApp (64%), chat rooms (35%), online forums (0.7%) and other smartphone apps (0.7%). It is found that young females account for almost 65%. The ratio of young females who were willing to share their sexual/love affairs reaches 89%, that is 48 young females and accounting for almost 20% in total. Among those willing to share their problems of drug abuse, 74% were young females, meaning 14 in actual number which accounts for 0.5% of the total reached female.

Ms Lee Wai-ki, Social Work Supervisor of The Hang Out, Youth Outreach said, “We will meet the youths before we chat via WhatsApp. Because of the close relationship, young females are more willing to keep in touch with us. WhatsApp is a one-to-one platform with high privacy, providing young females a more comfortable way to express feelings.” She continued, “Recently, a young female sought help from us because of her friend’s pregnancy, while a minor girl told us she was working at a nightclub.”

‘Unite for Children. Unite for Hong Kong.’ is a Child Rights Advocacy Project designed to realise and promote child rights in Hong Kong. Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF hopes to raise overall awareness of child rights through this project. We hope to work with the community to directly benefit local children and make Hong Kong more child-friendly.

 

– END –

「攜手香港,與孩同行──兒童權利倡議計劃2012」 資助全港首個融入WhatsApp等新興社交媒體的青少年介入服務項目 成效立竿見影 願意談及「性/感情」問題女生比例高達9成

 

「攜手香港,與孩同行──兒童權利倡議計劃2012」 資助全港首個融入WhatsApp等新興社交媒體的青少年介入服務項目 成效立竿見影 願意談及「性/感情」問題女生比例高達9成

新聞稿 12:00
26

香港,2012年8月12日──聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(UNICEF HK)第二年推行「攜手香港,與孩同行」兒童權利倡議計劃,邀請有共同理念的慈善或非牟利團體,攜手保障本港的兒童權利,尤其關注最邊緣、最難接觸的青年。今天為「8.12國際青年日」,UNICEF HK公佈社區藥物教育輔導會、智樂兒童遊樂協會,及協青社3家機構,將獲本會資助各港幣50萬元,以推行改善本港兒童福利的項目。其中獲資助的協青社「機動網絡行者」項目,更是全港首個以WhatsApp、Line等新興社交媒體,提供青少年危機介入服務的項目。數據顯示,項目相對利用較傳統網絡方法,更能吸引女青年接觸危機介入服務,願意傾訴「性/感情」問題的女生比例高達9成、傾訴「濫藥」問題的亦達7成半,成效令人滿意。

UNICEF HK於2011年初次推行「攜手香港,與孩同行」兒童權利倡議計劃,至今計劃已進入第二年試行階段。本會藉此邀請有共同理念的慈善或非牟利團體攜手合作,保障本港的兒童權利,並旨在特別關注最邊緣、最難接觸的群組,包括:少數族裔的兒童、受濫藥影響的兒童、受虐待的兒童等。今年計劃有幸邀得前教育局副局長陳維安先生、香港社會服務聯會行政總裁方敏生女士,及香港大學社會工作及社會行政學系講座教授周永新先生,擔任獨立評審委員。

UNICEF HK主席陳晴表示,感謝3位專業評審委員的帶領及寶貴意見,最終在14份計劃書中選出了社區藥物教育輔導會、智樂兒童遊樂協會,以及協青社作為新一年的資助及合作機構,與我們攜手推動與兒童相關的工作。她致辭時續指,「今天是『國際青年日』,今年的主題是『建設一個更美好的世界:與青年人結為夥伴』,呼籲全球採取行動,為年輕一代而發展,並要與青年人建立伙伴關係。而3家入選的機構及項目,不單服務的對象有青年人,更加是社區中與青年人建立良好伙伴關係的典範。」
社區藥物教育輔導會針對濫藥成風及青少年早熟問題,推行「P.E.A.C.E兒童藥物及性教育先導計劃」,提高少數族裔兒童和家長對藥物及性相關方面的意識,預計有超過2,000人受惠。此外,智樂兒童遊樂協會針對殘障兒童待遇,推行「Playright UNICEF遊樂共融計劃2012」以教育大眾及推動相關政策,預計受惠人數約8,500人。第3間獲選的機構協青社則推行「機動網絡行者」,目標是保障受虐待及被忽略的兒童,預料幫助到4,300人。各獲選機構一如往年,將得到UNICEF HK資助港幣50萬元,在未來一年開展改善本港兒童福利的項目。

而針對互聯網日趨普及,危機四伏,會上UNICEF HK副主席、推廣及公共關係委員會主席紀文鳳女士亦指出了全球兒童的網上安全問題。「全球使用互聯網人口由06年只有不足兩成,躍升2011年的35%,兒童及青少年多熱愛上網,一不小心,兒童及青少年都會很容易誤墮網上陷阱。」她並提出了5大全球兒童網上危機,包括:兒童及青少年對於洩露私隱的敏感度低,常把高度私密的資訊上傳至互聯網;網上色情誘拐嚴重等。她續指:「在2010年,互聯網監察機構發現,全球有多達16,700條涉及兒童性虐待內容的圖片在各地網站流傳,估計網上仍有數百萬張同類照片,危害數以十萬計的兒童……我們必須提高警覺,關注本港兒童上網情況,當他們遇上危機時我們要第一時間介入,並提供協助,防止罪案或慘劇發生。」

獲UNICEF HK資助的協青社項目「機動網絡行者」,正正針對本港兒童及青少年使用智能手機和其他流動裝置上網情況愈益普及,內潛危機日多而設計的。在UNICEF HK資助下,協青社成功將原有的「機動網絡行者」升級,開創全港首個以時興社交媒體進行青少年介入服務的項目。此外,項目亦聘用曾有濫藥、加入黑社會經驗等的「過來人」,培訓他們成為「網絡大使」,融入高危青少年,進一步提升面對面介入服務及深宵外展服務的成效。

協青社助理總幹事(外展服務)譚仲凱先生坦言,「協青社早在2009年已開展『機動網絡行者』項目,然而現今社會瞬息萬變,原有的項目模式不少已經過時,有賴聯合國兒童基金香港委員會的撥款資助及大力支持,令我們可以發展並開發更多針對時下年輕人使用流動裝置及智能手機上網的介入服務,更容易與青年人建立關係,特別是高危女生,開展話題,青年人亦更願意表達自己內心看法及疑難,令社工及工作人員更有效地掌握青年對象的危機狀態,提供及時的危機介入及轉介服務,協助他們脫離色情陷阱、沉溺上網、濫藥及黑社會等危機。」
根據協青社於2009至2010及2011至2012年進行的「機動網絡行者」,透過傳訊軟件、個人網誌、電郵、討論區等傳統網絡平台,成功接觸的青少年合共有3,424人,當中男、女青年分別佔51%及49%。而女青年明顯較男青年不願意談及或分享涉及敏感性和私人的問題。願意談及「性/感情」問題的青年當中,女青年佔半數,至於談及「濫藥」問題的青年當中,女青年只佔46%。

相反,利用社交媒體,特別是WhatsApp接觸青年的成效則立竿見影,女青年的活躍程度遠勝傳統的網絡平台。協青社在本年4月至7月,先後透過WhatsApp接觸了680名青年,當中女青年比率佔54%,達到370名。就而青年人談及的問題分類中可見,願意談及「性/感情」問題的女青年比率高佔71%,即有65名,佔總接觸的女生數目近兩成;而願意談及「濫藥」問題的亦達到64%,即有21名,佔總接觸的女生數目近約6%。

至於在UNICEF HK資助下的「機動網絡行者」項目,在本年6至7月期間,透過WhatsApp(64%)、聊天室(35%)、網上討論區(0.7%)及其他手機程式(0.7%),一共接觸到438人,而女青年比例高近6成半。在青年人談及的問題分類中更見,願意談及「性/感情」問題的女青年比率高佔89%,即有48名,佔總接觸的女生數目近兩成;而願意談及「濫藥」問題的亦達到74%,即有14人,佔總接觸的女生數目半成。

協青社蒲吧社工督導、註冊社工李慧琪小姐闡釋:「WhatsApp所接觸的青年人,都是我們先見過面,經面談後才跟青年以WhatsApp溝通,彼此互信,機構會較容易接觸到高危的女青年。而且WhatsApp可以造就一個單對單的社交平台,私隱度高,談話對象清晰,亦都令女青年更放心訴說心聲。」她續透露,「近月,透過WhatsApp,有女青年向我們表示友人未婚懷孕,欲尋求協助,亦有部分未成年女青年向我們透露自己在夜總會工作。」

「攜手香港,與孩同行」兒童權利倡議計劃旨在推動及實踐本地兒童的權益,致力推動本港社會對兒童權利的認識。我們希望與本港各界合作,攜手為兒童,使香港成為一個更兒童友好的城市。

– 完 –