‘Unite for Children. Unite for Hong Kong.’ UNICEF joins hands with 3 local NGOs to help marginalised Hong Kong children

 

‘Unite for Children. Unite for Hong Kong.’ UNICEF joins hands with 3 local NGOs to help marginalised Hong Kong children

55
Hong Kong (9 June 2011) – During its 25th anniversary cocktail reception, Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF announced the ‘Child Rights Advocacy Project’ results today. Each of the 3 non-government organisations: Against Child Abuse, End Child Sexual Abuse Foundation and Youth Outreach have received HK$500,000 (a totally sum of HK$ 1.5 million is allocated) from HKCU to work on three1-year-projects that aim at improving the life of local children who have long been neglected and marginalised.

Ms Leonie Ki, Chairman of Advocacy and Public Relations Committee of Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF said, ‘This year, HKCU is celebrating its 25th Anniversary. The Child Rights Advocacy Project invites local NGOs who share the same vision as us to work together to protect the rights of Hong Kong children. Particularly, we would like to care for ethnic minority children, those who are under the threat of physical, mental and sexual abuse. It is our hope that we can work with the 3 NGOs to protect the rights of children who are the most difficult to reach.’
One of the NGOs, Against Child Abuse, strives to protect the rights of children who are from newly immigrant families. The ‘Well-adjusted, Better Inclusion Project’ aims at benefiting 50 families with volunteer home visits, social worker follow up and referral. The project was originally targeted at children who are at infant age, with HKCU’s support, now they are able to extend their scope of work to reach school-age children.

Another selected NGO, End Child Sexual Abuse Foundation, is the only organisation in Hong Kong which provides sexual education to students with special education needs. With the support of HKCU, their new project ‘Sexual-Abuse-Preventive Program for Mentally-handicapped Children’ will provide sex education to 1,200 mild to moderate mentally-handicapped students by using multi-media and interactive teaching approachs.

HKCU will also support Youth Outreach, an organisation that has long been dedicated to helping youngsters who are used to hang out on the street at night. Their night-time outreach project ‘Hang Out Express – Street Rover’ will be launched this summer – A truck will travel across 18 districts in Hong Kong and provide crisis interventions to young people in need. This project focuses on reaching youngsters from ethnic minority groups, who are extremely marginalised in the society.

These 3 projects will last for 1 year. HKCU will work with them to realise the 4 basic rights of children: survival, protection, development and participation.

The Child Rights Advocacy Project is honoured to have three independent judges: Mr Kenneth Chen, Under Secretary for Education, Prof Joseph Sung, Vice-Chancellor and President of the Chinese University of Hong Kong and Ms Christine Fang, Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service. The 3 judges are professional, passionate and fair during the decision making process. Mr Kenneth Chen said, “I am happy that under the leadership and support of HKCU, the 3 projects can be implemented and more marginalised children who are the most difficult to reach can now gain more attention and assistance from the society.”

Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF has received 22 applications this year. Representatives from the three selected NGOs, together with Mr Kenneth Chen, Ms Judy Chen, Chairman of HKCU, and Ms. Leonie Ki, Chairman of Advocacy and Public Relations Committee of HKCU, conducted a simple ceremony at the press conference today to fill the last piece of the puzzle on the board to give a smile to the young girl featured, symbolising the joint efforts of HKCU and partners to bring true happiness to every child in Hong Kong. HKCU will strive for a better future for local children and also children all over the world.

‘Unite for Children. Unite for Hong Kong.’ is a Child Rights Advocacy Project designed to realise and promote child rights in Hong Kong.Celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF hopes to raise overall awareness of child rights through this project. We hope to work with the community to directly benefit local children and make Hong Kong more child-friendly.

「攜手香港,與孩同行」 聯合國兒童基金香港委員會與3間本地非牟利機構合作 向活在邊緣的香港兒童伸出援手

 

「攜手香港,與孩同行」 聯合國兒童基金香港委員會與3間本地非牟利機構合作 向活在邊緣的香港兒童伸出援手

新聞稿 08:00
55

香港,201169——聯合國兒童基金香港委員會(HKCU)在今天舉行的成立25周年慶祝酒會前,召開新聞發佈會公佈「兒童權利倡議計劃2011」的申請結果。本年度獲選的3家本地非牟利機構分別為防止虐待兒童會、護苗基金和協青社,各家機構將獲HKCU資助港幣50萬元(3家機構總資助額共計港幣150萬元),以在未來一年與本會攜手推行3項不同範疇的兒童相關福利項目,針對活在邊緣、最易被人忽略的本港兒童,改善他們的生活,共創更美好的將來。

HKCU推廣及公共關係委員會主席紀文鳳女士在發佈會上致歡迎辭時表示:「今年是本會在港成立25周年,我們特別推出全新項目『攜手香港,與孩同行』兒童權利倡議計劃,邀請與本會有共同理念的慈善或非牟利團體攜手合作,保障本港的兒童權利,我們希望特別關注到一班最邊緣、最難接觸的群組,包括:少數族裔的兒童、受濫藥影響的兒童、受虐待的兒童等。

獲選的防止虐待兒童會一向以保護新來港兒童的權利為己任,透過「跨境及新來港家庭關愛共融計劃」將派出受過專業訓練的義工進行家訪、社工跟進及轉介,為50個家庭提供服務。以往,此計劃只針對學前兒童的需要,在HKCU的大力協助下,新計劃將全面擴闊接觸面至在學兒童,讓更多有需要家庭得以受惠。

另一個獲資助的機構就是護苗基金,該會是本港唯一為特殊需要兒童提供性教育的團體。在HKCU的支持下,「智障學童性教育計劃」將以生動有趣的多媒體教學法,為1,200名輕度至中度智障的兒童提供性教育。

至於協青社則多年來一直致力幫助慣於深宵在街上蹓躂的青少年,透過HKCU的資助,他們得以在本年第2季推行「UNICEF暴走車年度計劃」,在深夜主動出擊,派譴「暴走車」深入全港18區主動接觸這群青年,為他們提供危機介入服務。此計劃更將史無前例,針對幫助社會上最易被邊緣化的南亞裔青年。

3個項目分別為期1年,HKCU將共同與這3所機構實踐兒童的生存、受保護、發展及參與4大權利。

「兒童權利倡議計劃」很榮幸邀請到教育局副局長陳維安先生、香港中文大學校長沈祖堯先生及香港社會服務聯會行政總裁方敏生女士3位擔任計劃的獨立評審委員,在整個評審過程中3位評委都表現得非常公正、專業及熱心。陳維安先生表示說:「我好高興見到在聯合國兒童基金會的帶領及支持下,這3項計劃能夠順利推行,幫助更多在香港較為容易被忽略的兒童,以及喚起更多社會人士的關注。」

HKCU本年共收到22份計劃申請。經過3輪評選脫穎而出的3家獲資助機構的代表,聯同陳維安先生、本會主席陳晴女士以及推廣及公共關係委員會主席紀文鳳女士,在發佈會上共同把一塊印上笑容的砌圖放回一個女孩的臉上,象徵計劃將可助有需要兒童重拾真正的笑容,而HKCU亦繼續為本地以至全世界的兒童謀求最大的福祉。

「攜手香港,與孩同行」兒童權利倡議計劃旨在推動及實踐本地兒童的權益。聯合國兒童基金香港委員會慶祝創會25周年,致力推動本港社會對兒童權利的認識。我們希望與本港各界合作,攜手為兒童,使香港成為一個更兒童友好的城市。