WATER-BOURNE DISEASES ARE LETHAL THREAT TO CHILDREN IN SOUTHERN SOMALIA Rapid response needed as cholera cases increase

 

WATER-BOURNE DISEASES ARE LETHAL THREAT TO CHILDREN IN SOUTHERN SOMALIA Rapid response needed as cholera cases increase

Global News 00:14
NAIROBI, Kenya/ HONG KONG, 18 August 2011 – An urgent multi-sectoral response is being mounted to contain the spread of cholera with an increasing number of confirmed cases in Mogadishu and reports of growing numbers of acute watery diarrhoea in the port city of Kismayo.

Some 75 per cent of all cases of highly infectious acute watery diarrhoea are among children under the age of five. Poor sanitation conditions, a shortage of safe water, overcrowding and high malnutrition rates are the perfect combination for infectious diseases, such as cholera and pneumonia, to spread and increase death rates.

Cholera is confirmed in Banadir, Bay, Mudug and Lower Shabelle regions and the number of acute watery diarrhoea cases has increased dramatically in the last few months. Since January this year, some 4,200 cases of acute watery diarrhoea/cholera were reported in Benadir Hospital in Mogadishu alone.

19AUG2011__cholera2 19AUG2011__cholera1

However, at this stage most of the cholera cases in the various regions are contained and under control.

Displacement disrupts outbreak report
“Our major concern is to monitor and detect new disease outbreaks in the many informal settlements set up by internally displaced people in and around Mogadishu,” said Dr. MartheEverard, WHO Representative for Somalia. “For the last few years, a network of health workers reporting to the early warning system has been in place, however they report through a health facility or mobile clinic. Yet the large numbers of displaced people in Mogadishu are making it more difficult to record the various diseases.”

“We urgently need more mobile clinics that will provide basic health care services to the many displaced and who will strengthen the reporting on new outbreaks. This is critical to our response and our ability to save lives,” she added.

Cholera is endemic in Somalia but the last major outbreak was in 2007 with 67,000 cases.In recent years, efforts to chlorinate the water supply of Mogadishu, along with efforts to improve hygiene and sanitation prevented a serious outbreak. But there is now an acute shortage of safe water and adequate sanitation with the influx of 100,000 people this year into Mogadishu, bringing the total number of displaced people in the capital to 470,000 with many living in overcrowded settlements.

“There is no need for a child to die of diarrhoea, yet this is a tragic reality for a Somali child who is acutely malnourished. It is a lethal combination,” said RozanneChorlton, UNICEF Representative for Somalia. “These types of diseases can be prevented and treated quickly. To save children’s lives we are making sure that safe water, sanitation and hygiene along with early access to primary health care are an integral part of our emergency response.”

Medical supplies arrived in affected communities
Emergency diarrhoeal disease kits made up of medical supplies such as syringes, infusions, and oral rehydration salts (ORS), already prepositioned by UNICEF and WHO,have been sent to 13 hospitals.An additional 200 diarrhoeal disease kits, each able to treat 100 severe and 400 moderate cases are being procured and should be in southern Somalia in the next few weeks. These items would enable partners in the health and in the water and sanitation sectorsto respond to up to 100,000 cholera cases including 80,000 moderate and 20,000 severe cases.

In addition, case management of severe dehydration with and without malnutrition is being strengthened and the focus is now on mobilizing a network of community health promoters to move from door to door with health hygiene education messages. Health posts are being stocked with essential medicines and ORS.

Many of southern Somalia’s rural and urban areas rely on shallow wells, which – unless they are protected or treated with chlorine – can be a perfect breeding ground for water-borne diseases.

Partners in the water, sanitation and hygiene sector are scaling up to target 1.5 million people across high risk areas of the South. Supplies of chlorine and essential items for hygiene and household treatment and storage of water are being distributed. Already 217 water sources are being chlorinated, and 58 water point outlets are benefitting 483,200 people and internally displaced people in Mogadishu.

In addition, household hygiene supplies, including water purification tablets, soap and buckets, enough for 48,000 families, are being distributed at existing feeding centres for malnourished children. Campaigns to educate families about the treatment of drinking water, safe disposal of waste and encourage hand washing with soap will also be scaled up in high risk communities.

Donation appeal
As part of the updated 2011 UN Consolidated Appeal for Somalia, an estimated HK$624 million (US$80 million) is needed for the health sector and over HK$608 million (US$78 million) is required for the water, sanitation and hygiene sector. So far only 30 percent and 37 percent respectively has been raised for each sector.

霍亂肆虐 南索馬里兒童急需救援

 

霍亂肆虐 南索馬里兒童急需救援

國際消息 00:14

奈洛比,肯尼亞/香港,2011年8月18日——隨著索馬里首都摩加迪沙的霍亂確診個案不斷上升,以及港口城市基斯馬尤的急性水狀腹瀉個案日益增加,各部門已經作出緊急的應對措施,控制霍亂疫情。

近75%傳染度高的水狀腹瀉個案,患者都是5歲以下兒童。惡劣的衞生環境、過分擠擁的居所、營養不良個案持續高企以及缺乏安全的食水,均是導致霍亂和肺炎等傳染病加快蔓延,及大大增加有關疫症死亡率的重要成因。

過去數月,霍亂已蔓延至索馬里的巴納迪爾、貝伊和下謝貝利地區,而急性水狀腹瀉個案亦急劇上升。由今年一月開始,單在摩加迪沙的巴納迪爾醫院已發現約4,200宗急性水狀腹瀉或霍亂個案。幸好至目前為止,各地大部份的霍亂疫情已受控制。

19AUG2011__cholera2 19AUG2011__cholera1
災民四處流動 窒礙疫情通報
「現在我們主要關注摩加迪沙及周邊地區。無家可歸的人民在這些地方建立了大量臨時住所,我們必須要監察及控制疫情,以防止新一輪疫情爆發。」世界衞生組織駐索馬里代表Marthe Everard醫生表示:「雖然,過去幾年,一群健康服務的工作人員已確立了疾病早期預警機制,但疫情主要透過健康院或流動診所通報,而摩加迪沙的災民卻四處流動,導致當局難以記錄及通報疫情。」

她續指:「我們急需更多流動診所,以提供基本的健康護理服務予流離失所的人民,並幫助我們了解疫情爆發的最新情況。此項工作是關重要,可大大影響我們對災情的反應及生命拯救工作。」

近年,在摩加迪沙已加強衞生工作,並在水源加氯消毒,此舉已大大遏止了霍亂的爆發,而追溯上一次的霍亂大爆發已是2007年的事,當是總共錄得67,000宗霍亂個案。然而,現時摩加迪沙面對着10萬人從四方八面湧至,當地難民人數在短時間內急增至高達47萬,擠擁並簡陋的居住環境,加上安全食水短缺及衞生環境惡劣,摩加迪沙面再次響起霍亂的警號。

「本來腹瀉並非致命疾病,但對急性營養不良的索馬里兒童而言,卻足以奪去他們的性命。」UNICEF駐索馬里代表Rozanne Chorlton女士指出:「但是,只要盡早採取預防措施,並提供及時治療,就能挽救這些無辜的小生命。因此,在緊急行動中,我們要確保有足夠的安全食水,保持環境及個人衞生,並向兒童提供足夠的基本保健措拖。」

大量醫療用品送抵災區
聯合國兒童基金會及世界衞生組織已將緊急腹瀉醫療箱運送到13所醫院,又向災區提供注射器、藥液及口服補液鹽等醫療用品。未來數周,將有200個醫療箱送抵南索馬里,足以治療100個嚴重腹瀉個案及400個中度腹瀉個案。透過上述的醫療用品,以及健康、供水及衞生部門的緊密合作,可處理達10萬宗霍亂個案,包括8萬宗中度霍亂個案及2萬宗嚴重霍亂個案。

同時,針對加強處理嚴重脫水的問題,各界已發動社區保健推廣網絡,並逐家逐戶宣傳健康衞生資訊。下一步會向各個保健站提供必需的藥物及口服防脫水鹽。

南索馬里鄉村和城市居民,大多數仍依靠挖井取水。但未經氯化處理的井水,可大幅傳染病毒。為防患於未然,供水、環境衞生及個人衞生組織正合作擴展行動,為南部高危地區150萬名災民提供氯化物、衞生必需品、家庭醫療用品及儲水用具。在索馬里首都摩加迪沙,已有217個經淨化的水源及58個供水點,足以令483,200萬難民有安全食水可用。

另外,合作夥伴亦於專為營養不良兒童而設的餵飼中心,派發足以供應48,000個家庭的衞生必需品,包括淨水丸、肥皂及水桶。各界亦進一步加強教育工作,教導高危社區內的家庭處理食水及垃圾,並鼓勵以肥皂洗手,保持環境衞生,減輕疾病蔓延。

呼籲更多善款
在聯合國索馬里善款呼籲中,約港幣6.24億(8千萬美元)的善款會用作開展健康工作,而供水、環境衞生及個人衞生工作則需要港幣6.08億(7千8百萬美元)。然而,現時所籌得善款只分別達到目標的30%及37%,呼籲各界繼續踴躍捐輸,阻止疫情蔓延。