World Breastfeeding Week 2011 Press Conference Mothers Having High Intention to Breastfeed while Medical Staff Training Being Unsatisfactory

 

World Breastfeeding Week 2011 Press Conference Mothers Having High Intention to Breastfeed while Medical Staff Training Being Unsatisfactory

46

Hong Kong, 30 July 2011 – The Department of Health, Hospital Authority and UNICEF Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative Hong Kong Association (BFHIHKA) joined hands to organise the annual press conference. At the press conference, result of the annual survey of BFHIHKA shows that breastfeeding rate is on the rise despite the high demand on obstetric services. This reveals a high intention to breastfeeding among mothers in Hong Kong.

Dr Patricia Ip, Chairman of BFHIHKA reported that for the births in 2010, the breastfeeding rate on discharge from hospitals was 79.2%, 2.5% higher than the previous year. “We are also happy to see that, other than two private hospitals, all of the others have followed public hospitals’ policy of not accepting free infant formula milk.” said Dr Patricia Ip. For skin to skin contact between mother and baby right after birth lasting over an hour, a practice that will facilitate breastfeeding, although the percentage is still low, it is good to see an increase from 13% to 22% among hospitals. However, 44% of the hospitals, mainly private hospitals, did not allow mothers and babies to stay in the same room day and night.

Besides, the rate of health care staff receiving required training on breastfeeding is still low, in particular paediatric nurses and both paediatric and obstetric doctors, the rates are 13%, 4% and 1% respectively. Dr Patricia Ip said, “When the society has vigorous discussions on what volume of obstetric and neonatal services Hong Kong can cope with, let’s not forget the importance of discussing at the same time, whether we are able to provide a health care system which is mother-baby friendly.”

Dr Rachel Cheng, Senior Medical Officer, Family Health Service said, “To equip health professionals with the necessary knowledge and skills in supporting breastfeeding mothers and managing lactating problems, the Department of Health is in the process of developing a multi-media e-learning education kit for doctors with frequent contact with pregnant and breastfeeding women, including obstetricians, paediatricans and family physicians. In addition, the Department has set up a multidisciplinary taskforce to develop and promote the Hong Kong Code of Marketing of Breastmilk Substitutes. The process will involve all key stakeholders in the community.”
Dr Tony Ko, Chief Manager and Chairman, Hospital Authority Steering Committee on Breastfeeding said the Hospital Authority fully supports breastfeeding. To enhance staff training, three training courses on breastfeeding are organised each year. New publications are purchased to ensure staff gaining up-to-date information on breastfeeding. Besides, education materials for mothers have been translated into various languages and uploaded to the intranet. This is to facilitate communication with new mothers of different races and teach them the skills of breastfeeding.

 

Ms Judy Chen, Chairman of Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF shared her experience as a breastfeeding mother. Like many mothers, she had encountered difficulties in breastfeeding. She believes that a supportive family and a considerate employer are important for a mother to overcoming these challenges. Besides, she observed that many commercials of formula milk companies exaggerate the benefits of infant formula. These messages affect new mothers’ decision on infant feeding if they do not have enough knowledge on breastfeeding.

The theme of this year’s World Breastfeeding Week: Talk to me! Breastfeeding – A 3-D Experience, draws our attention to the importance of communication in supporting breastfeeding. To widen the outreach of breastfeeding message, this year, for the first time ever, we have invited young people to participate and talk about their views on the breastfeeding issue.

 

Kiki Fung and Sherry Tang, students from the medical school of the Chinese University of Hong Kong did a comparative study between the promotion of formula milk and breast-milk. To attract public attention, it is common for formula milk companies to make large-scale advertisement with promotion by celebrities and exaggeration of the benefits of formula milk. On the contrary, health care workers focus more on communicating facts and evidence to mothers, which is comparatively dull. Furthermore, the promotion materials are mostly found in health care facilities. The medical students urged the authority to speed up the implementation of WHO’s Code and prohibit all advertisement on infant formula. Promotional materials on breastfeeding should be more reader-friendly and emphasise more on the benefits of breastfeeding. At the end, they showed an interesting short film to raise public awareness on the potential health risk of formula-feeding.

「國際母乳哺育周 2011」周年問卷調查發現 母乳餵哺意欲高 醫護人員培訓待改善

 

「國際母乳哺育周 2011」周年問卷調查發現 母乳餵哺意欲高 醫護人員培訓待改善

新聞稿 12:00
46

香港,2011年7月30日——為慶祝2011年國際母乳哺育周,衞生署、醫院管理局及聯合國兒童基金會愛嬰醫院香港協會(下稱愛嬰醫院香港協會)合辦記者招待會。當中,愛嬰醫院香港協會公布了周年母乳餵哺問卷調查結果,顯示在婦產科需求激增的同時,母乳餵哺比率持續上升,表示港母親母乳餵哺意欲甚高。

愛嬰醫院香港協會主席葉麗嫦醫生指出,在2010年出生的嬰兒,於產科出院時之母乳餵哺比率是79.2%,較2009年出生的嬰兒增加2.5%。葉醫生於會上表示「除了兩所私營醫院,其他的私營醫院已跟隨公立醫院拒絕接收免費嬰兒奶粉,情況令人鼓舞。」調查結果中更顯示,有22%的母親在生產後即時與新生嬰兒能有多於1小時肌膚接觸,雖然數字屬低但已較去年的13%有所上升;然而,仍有44%醫院,主要是私營醫院,沒有讓母親和初生嬰兒日夜同房,影響母乳餵哺機會。

另外,醫護人員應接受的母乳哺育培訓,特別是兒科護士及兒科與產科醫生比率仍然嚴重不足,分別為13%、4%及1%。葉醫生說: 「當社會熱烈討論香港可應付的產科及初生嬰兒服務需求時,別讓我們忘記——能否提供對母嬰友善的醫療體制,尤為重要。」

衞生署家庭健康服務高級醫生鄭佩欣表示:「為加強醫護人員掌握餵哺輔導的知識及技巧,令本地的母親及嬰兒得到專業的支援,衞生署現正籌備製作一套網上學習教材,對象是經常接觸懷孕及授乳媽媽的醫生,包括產科、兒科及家庭醫生等。此外,我們明白《國際母乳代用品銷售守則》能否落實推行,正是維護母乳餵哺,及保障嬰幼兒正確使用母乳代用品的關鍵所在。衞生署成立了跨界別的專責小組,策劃草議和實行一套適用於香港的母乳代用品銷售守則。」
醫院管理局母乳餵哺策劃委員會主席高拔陞醫生表示,醫院管理局積極支持母乳餵哺。為加強對醫護人員的培訓,每年均舉辦3次餵哺母乳訓練課程,又新採購了相關書籍,讓同事更了解餵哺母乳的最新資訊。醫院管理局已制定及上載多種語言的母乳餵哺小册子到內聯網上,方便員工與不同族裔的新任母親溝通和指導她們母乳餵哺的技巧。
聯合國兒童基金香港委員會主席陳晴女士分享了她作為餵哺母乳媽媽的經驗。她跟很多媽媽一樣,都曾遇過母乳哺育的困難。要克服這些困難,她認為家人的支持及認同、以及僱主的配合都是十分重要的。另外,她也發現很多奶粉廣告誇大宣傳吃奶粉有好處,影響一些對母乳哺育認識不足的新任媽媽的哺育決定。

今年「國際母乳哺育周」的主題是「齊傾齊講!支援母乳哺育多面睇」,旨在宣揚良好溝通對支援母乳哺育的重要性。為擴大母乳哺育資訊的接觸面,今年首次邀請了年青人參與,分享他們對母乳哺育議題的看法。

香港中文大學醫學院學生馮靖淇小姐及鄧子蕙小姐曾對嬰兒配方奶粉及母乳哺育的宣傳手法作研究分析。她們表示嬰兒配方奶粉公司常以鋪天蓋地的宣傳,以名人吸引大眾,又誇大失實的嬰兒配方奶粉的好處。反觀醫護人員由於多以事實、證據與媽媽溝通,相比之下,難免顯得沉悶。而且宣傳母乳的地方多局限於醫療機構內。她們建議有關當局應該加快步伐,執行世界衞生組織的守則,禁止所有嬰幼兒配方奶粉廣告,也應令母乳哺育的宣傳資料更大眾化,多強調母乳哺育的好處。最後,他們更播放一套她們以輕鬆手法製作的短片,希望喚起大眾關注嬰兒配方奶粉令嬰兒承受的健康風險。